Best Carpenter Schools in Alabama (2026)

Compare accredited Carpenter schools across Alabama below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Carpenter Schools in Alabama

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 149 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Southern Crescent Technical College

Griffin, GA 146.6 miles away BOC Score 54.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 54.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 116
  • Annual completions: 4085
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,009 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Georgia Northwestern Technical College

Rome, GA 105.9 miles away BOC Score 53.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 37.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 113
  • Annual completions: 4534
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,490 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Chattahoochee Technical College

Marietta, GA 132.8 miles away BOC Score 52.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 100
  • Annual completions: 6004
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,209 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Northwest Shoals Community College

Muscle Shoals, AL 97.9 miles away BOC Score 51.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 35.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 39
  • Annual completions: 1336
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,546 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Meridian Community College

Meridian, MS 136.9 miles away BOC Score 50.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 60
  • Annual completions: 893
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,810 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Atlanta Technical College

Atlanta, GA 139.1 miles away BOC Score 47.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 46.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 108
  • Annual completions: 3046
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,964 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Gadsden State Community College

Gadsden, AL 57.5 miles away BOC Score 47.7
Tuition $4,272 - $10,189
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 35.2%
  • Programs offered: 42
  • Annual completions: 1817
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,678 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Columbus Technical College

Columbus, GA 128.9 miles away BOC Score 47.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 23.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 109
  • Annual completions: 2527
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,818 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Georgia Piedmont Technical College

Clarkston, GA 149.1 miles away BOC Score 44.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 39.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 106
  • Annual completions: 1972
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,601 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Carpenter Schools in Alabama

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Alabama.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
154.3Contact school for pricing$47,00955%Yes*147 mi
253.6Contact school for pricing$44,49038%Yes*106 mi
352.1Contact school for pricing$45,209Not reportedYes*133 mi
451.7Contact school for pricing$45,54636%Yes*98 mi
550.6Contact school for pricing$50,810Not reportedYes*137 mi
647.9Contact school for pricing$40,96446%Yes*139 mi
747.7$4,272 - $10,189$46,67835%Yes*58 mi
847.2Contact school for pricing$43,81824%Yes*129 mi
944.5Contact school for pricing$46,60139%Yes*149 mi
109.3Contact school for pricingNot reported17%69 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Alabama are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Alabama is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Carpenter Schools in Alabama
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Carpenter Schools in Alabama (2026) (College Scorecard)Meridian Community College $50810; Southern Crescent Technical College $47009; Gadsden State Community College $46678; Georgia Piedmont Technical College $46601; Northwest Shoals Community College $45546; Chattahoochee Technical College $45209.Meridian Community College$50,810Southern Crescent Technical ...$47,009Gadsden State Community Coll...$46,678Georgia Piedmont Technical C...$46,601Northwest Shoals Community C...$45,546Chattahoochee Technical Coll...$45,209
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Carpenter Schools in Alabama (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Meridian Community College$50,810
Southern Crescent Technical College$47,009
Gadsden State Community College$46,678
Georgia Piedmont Technical College$46,601
Northwest Shoals Community College$45,546
Chattahoochee Technical College$45,209

Carpenter Pay and Job Outlook

Carpenters annual wage by percentile: $40,410 at the 10th percentile, $60,580 median, $99,910 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What carpenters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for carpenters: 959,000 jobs in 2024 to 1,002,100 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for carpenters
Top-paying states for carpenters - Hawaii leads at $85,280. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for carpenters

Alabama Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$48,220BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment5,560 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.61BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.5%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$45.04/hr ($30.26 base + $14.78 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Carpenter Training in Alabama

The cities below have the highest concentration of carpenter training programs and population centers within Alabama. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Carpenter in Alabama

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in Alabama

In Alabama, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Carpenter Careers in Alabama

Carpenters construct, install, and repair building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials.

In Alabama, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $48,220, about 5,560 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.61 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Carpenter Wages and Workforce in Alabama

In Alabama, Carpenter programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $48,220 per year, and most earn between $34,430 and $63,140 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Alabama employs roughly 5,560 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.61 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Alabama include Northwest Shoals Community College, Gadsden State Community College, and J F Ingram State Technical College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Carpenter Training and Licensing in Alabama

Licensing for Carpenter varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Alabama licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does carpenter training in Alabama involve?

Carpenter training in Alabama is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do carpenters earn in Alabama?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), carpenters in Alabama earned a median annual wage of approximately $48,220. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $34,430 to $63,140 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Alabama license or certification process for carpenters?

Licensing for carpenter work is handled at the state level in Alabama. Consult Alabama's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)