Best Welding Schools in Colorado (2026)

Compare accredited Welder schools across Colorado below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Welder Schools in Colorado

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 95 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Emily Griffith Technical College

Denver, CO 0.5 miles away BOC Score 74.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 92.2%
  • Programs offered: 43
  • Annual completions: 1376
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,935 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Laramie County Community College

Cheyenne, WY 95.0 miles away BOC Score 67.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 66
  • Annual completions: 891
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,818 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Red Rocks Community College

Lakewood, CO 9.1 miles away BOC Score 64.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 34.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 74
  • Annual completions: 2794
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $62,695 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Front Range Community College

Westminster, CO 11.5 miles away BOC Score 61.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 32.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 69
  • Annual completions: 4371
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,353 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Morgan Community College

Fort Morgan, CO 73.9 miles away BOC Score 59.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 45.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 40
  • Annual completions: 387
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,025 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Pickens Technical College

Aurora, CO 10.7 miles away BOC Score 55.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 67.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 945
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,693 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Aims Community College

Greeley, CO 47.1 miles away BOC Score 52.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 2378
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $51,704 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Pikes Peak State College

Colorado Springs, CO 68.3 miles away BOC Score 50.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 21.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 68
  • Annual completions: 2895
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,538 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Lincoln College of Technology-Denver

Denver, CO 7.6 miles away BOC Score 43.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 70.3%
  • Programs offered: 13
  • Annual completions: 1532
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $51,742 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Community College of Denver

Denver, CO 0.6 miles away BOC Score 37.0
Tuition $4,902 - $19,550
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 18.0%
  • Programs offered: 42
  • Annual completions: 887
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $53,984 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Welder Schools in Colorado

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Colorado.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
174.9Contact school for pricing$45,93592%0 mi
267.1Contact school for pricing$49,818Not reportedYes*95 mi
364.2Contact school for pricing$62,69535%Yes*9 mi
461.3Contact school for pricing$50,35332%Yes*12 mi
559.9Contact school for pricing$48,02545%Yes*74 mi
655.0Contact school for pricing$44,69368%11 mi
752.8Contact school for pricing$51,704Not reportedYes*47 mi
850.3Contact school for pricing$48,53822%Yes*68 mi
943.8Contact school for pricing$51,74270%8 mi
1037.0$4,902 - $19,550$53,98418%Yes*1 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Colorado are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Colorado is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Welder Schools in Colorado
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Welding Schools in Colorado (2026) (College Scorecard)Red Rocks Community College $62695; Community College of Denver $53984; Lincoln College of Technology-Denver $51742; Aims Community College $51704; Front Range Community College $50353; Laramie County Community College $49818.Red Rocks Community College$62,695Community College of Denver$53,984Lincoln College of Technolog...$51,742Aims Community College$51,704Front Range Community College$50,353Laramie County Community Col...$49,818
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Welding Schools in Colorado (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Red Rocks Community College$62,695
Community College of Denver$53,984
Lincoln College of Technology-Denver$51,742
Aims Community College$51,704
Front Range Community College$50,353
Laramie County Community College$49,818

Welder Pay and Job Outlook

Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers annual wage by percentile: $39,240 at the 10th percentile, $53,750 median, $77,530 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers: 457,300 jobs in 2024 to 467,200 in 2034, +2.2% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers
Top-paying states for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers - Alaska leads at $80,840. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers

Colorado Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$58,590BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment4,970 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.65BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate4.3%BLS LAUS (2024)

Top Cities for Welder Training in Colorado

The cities below have the highest concentration of welder training programs and population centers within Colorado. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Welder in Colorado

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in Colorado

In Colorado, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Department of Employment Services - Registered Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Welding Careers in Colorado

Welders join metal parts using heat, pressure, and filler material in construction, manufacturing, shipbuilding, and pipeline work.

In Colorado, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $58,590, about 4,970 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.65 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Welder Wages and Workforce in Colorado

In Colorado, Welder programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $58,590 per year, and most earn between $44,100 and $79,700 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Colorado employs roughly 4,970 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.65 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Colorado include Emily Griffith Technical College, Red Rocks Community College, and Front Range Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Welder Training and Licensing in Colorado

Licensing for Welder varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Colorado licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does welder training in Colorado involve?

Welder training in Colorado is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do welders earn in Colorado?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), welders in Colorado earned a median annual wage of approximately $58,590. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $44,100 to $79,700 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Colorado license or certification process for welders?

Licensing for welder work is handled at the state level in Colorado. Consult Colorado's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)