Best Woodworking Programs in District of Columbia (2026)
This guide ranks accredited woodworking programs in District of Columbia so you can compare programs by credential, length, and cost. Below you will find the woodworker training landscape, licensing steps, apprenticeship pathways, and how to choose a school. Sponsored - request program info
Compare Woodworking Programs in District of Columbia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology | 67.0 | Contact school for pricing | $57,788 | Not reported | — | 87 mi |
| 2 | SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | 65.4 | $8,772 - $26,944 | $56,927 | 47% | Yes* | 257 mi |
| 3 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 265 mi |
| 4 | Bucks County Community College | 60.0 | $5,683 - $13,963 | $52,637 | 30% | Yes* | 143 mi |
| 5 | Ocean County Vocational-Technical School | 59.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,510 | 68% | — | 168 mi |
| 6 | Greater Altoona Career & Technology Center | 55.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,527 | 72% | — | 133 mi |
| 7 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 330 mi |
| 8 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 528 mi |
| 9 | Berks Career & Technology Center | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 70% | — | 120 mi |
| 10 | Hocking College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,764 | Not reported | Yes* | 281 mi |
Schools closest to the main population center in District of Columbia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in District of Columbia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
| School | Median graduate earnings |
|---|---|
| Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology | $57,788 |
| SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | $56,927 |
| Bucks County Community College | $52,637 |
| Central Piedmont Community College | $48,441 |
| Hocking College | $44,764 |
| Savannah Technical College | $44,293 |
| Percentile | Annual wage |
|---|---|
| 10th | $35,650 |
| 25th | $38,830 |
| 50th (median) | $46,680 |
| 75th | $55,760 |
| 90th | $63,720 |
| Year | Employment |
|---|---|
| 2024 | 86,000 |
| 2034 projected | 84,700 |
| Percent change | -1.6% |
These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.
- Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
- Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a woodworking program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
- Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
- Pass any required District of Columbia exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
- Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.
Apprenticeships and Training Pathways
Many woodworkers in District of Columbia train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.
What You Study
Woodworking Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.
Choosing a Woodworker School in District of Columbia
Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info
## Frequently Asked QuestionsHow long does woodworker training take in District of Columbia?
Most woodworking programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.
Do I need a license or certification in District of Columbia?
Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.
What is the job outlook for woodworkers?
The BLS projects employment of cabinetmakers and bench carpenters to change about -1.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 8,100 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.
How much do woodworking programs cost in District of Columbia?
Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.
Related guides
In District of Columbia
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best HVAC Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Plumbing Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Welding Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does woodworker training take in District of Columbia?
Most woodworking programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.
Do I need a license or certification in District of Columbia?
Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.
What is the job outlook for woodworkers?
The BLS projects employment of cabinetmakers and bench carpenters to change about -1.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 8,100 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.
How much do woodworking programs cost in District of Columbia?
Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |