Best Trade Schools in Atlantis, Florida (2026 Guide)

Here are the best schools in Atlantis. Use this list to compare accredited programs close to home, understand Florida licensing, and see which trades are growing. Demand for skilled workers remains strong across Florida, including Palm Beach County1.


Compare Trade Schools Near Atlantis, Florida

These campuses are in or near Atlantis (Lake Worth, West Palm Beach, Boynton Beach, Palm Beach Gardens). Program lengths are typical ranges; check each school for current schedules.

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 4 schools, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 4 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Palm Beach State College

Lake Worth, FL In-state option BOC Score 62.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 99
  • Annual completions: 2779
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,635 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Atlantic Technical College

Coconut Creek, FL In-state option BOC Score 61.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 60.3%
  • Programs offered: 63
  • Annual completions: 913
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,638 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Academy for Nursing and Health Occupations

West Palm Beach, FL In-state option BOC Score 48.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 48.6%
  • Programs offered: 3
  • Annual completions: 57
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $60,657 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Florida.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
162.9Contact school for pricing$48,635Not reportedYes*In-state
261.0Contact school for pricing$40,63860%Yes*In-state
348.9Contact school for pricing$60,65749%In-state
434.7Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedIn-state

Schools closest to the main population center in Florida are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Florida is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Annual Wage by Trade - Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL's most-employed trades
Median annual wage by trade in Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL, BLS OEWS May 2025Culinary workers $57940; Phlebotomy technicians $45210; Medical assistants $44930; Nursing assistants $38010; Patient care technicians $38010.Culinary workers$57,940Phlebotomy technicians$45,210Medical assistants$44,930Nursing assistants$38,010Patient care technicians$38,010
Trades ranked by local employment (BLS QCEW); wages are median annual pay (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; metro area where reported, otherwise statewide).
Median annual wage by trade in Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL
TradeMedian annual wage
Culinary workers$57,940
Phlebotomy technicians$45,210
Medical assistants$44,930
Nursing assistants$38,010
Patient care technicians$38,010
Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Atlantis, Florida (2026 Guide)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Atlantis, Florida (2026 Guide) (College Scorecard)Academy for Nursing and Health Occupations $60657; Palm Beach State College $48635; Atlantic Technical College $40638.Academy for Nursing and Heal...$60,657Palm Beach State College$48,635Atlantic Technical College$40,638
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Atlantis, Florida (2026 Guide)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Academy for Nursing and Health Occupations$60,657
Palm Beach State College$48,635
Atlantic Technical College$40,638

Cost, Earnings, and Program Length in Atlantis

Among the Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL area’s most-employed trades (BLS QCEW 2024), median annual pay ranges from $38,010 to $57,940 per year (BLS OEWS, May 2025); the chart above compares the five with the largest local workforces. Typical medical assistant training runs 9-12 months (certificate or diploma) (TradeCareerPath program data).

Trade Schools in Nearby Cities

Skilled Trades in Demand

  • Electrician Power, lighting, solar integration, and low-voltage controls keep electricians busy across residential, commercial, and industrial projects. Employers value grads who can read plans, bend conduit, pull wire safely, and troubleshoot. Florida electricians see steady openings due to construction, retirements, and system upgrades1. Learn more: Electrician career guide.

  • HVAC/R Technician Florida heat means year-round service calls. Technicians who can diagnose, braze, recover refrigerants, and communicate clearly with customers have strong job prospects. EPA 608 certification is required for refrigerant handling2. Employers often hire from local HVAC programs and apprenticeships1. Explore requirements: HVAC guide.

  • Welder Fabrication, construction, marine, and repair shops need entry-level welders who can pass a plate or pipe test. MIG, TIG, and Stick with a focus on safety and print reading are common skill sets. Earning process or code qualifications after graduation can boost pay3. Start here: Welding guide.

  • Plumber From rough-in to finish, plus service and backflow testing, plumbing stays essential. Apprenticeships are a proven route to journeyman status and set you up for contractor licensing later. Mechanical systems knowledge (valves, pumps) adds versatility1. Learn more: Plumbing guide.

Salaries in Florida vary by experience and county. BLS data show median wages for electricians, plumbers, HVAC technicians, and welders generally in the mid-0k to low-0k range statewide, with experienced workers and foremen earning more, especially on industrial or commercial jobs1.

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Flooring Installer9.5%
Plumber4.5%
Welder2.2%
Carpenter4.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%
Dog Trainer5.1%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Paralegal0.2%
Bookkeeper-5.8%
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.

Licensing Requirements in Florida

Florida regulates contracting at the state level. Many “journeyman” cards are issued by counties or cities. Plan your path based on whether you want to work as an employee/technician or operate as a contractor.

  • Electrician (Florida)

    • Train through a certificate program or registered apprenticeship (recommended 4 years OJT plus classroom).
    • Journeyman: Often a county credential. Palm Beach County may require documented experience and an exam for journeyman cards before supervising work.
    • Contractor (statewide): Apply to the Florida Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board for Certified Electrical Contractor (EC) or work as Registered (county-based). Requirements include verified experience or education plus experience, passing the trade and business exams, financial responsibility, and insurance4.
  • HVAC/R (Florida)

    • Complete an HVAC program or apprenticeship. Earn EPA Section 608 certification to handle refrigerants2.
    • Contractor (statewide): Class A Air-Conditioning Contractor (unlimited tonnage) or Class B (limited capacity), or Mechanical Contractor for broader scope. Requires experience verification, exams, background/financial checks, and insurance via the Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB)4.
    • Many techs work under a licensed contractor while they build experience.
  • Plumbing (Florida)

    • Start in a plumbing program or apprenticeship to gain OJT hours and classroom theory.
    • Contractor (statewide): Certified Plumbing Contractor through the CILB. Requires documented experience (typically four years or equivalent with education), trade and business exams, and insurance4.
    • Local journeyman cards may be required to supervise or pull permits at the county level.
  • Welding (Florida)

    • No state welding license. Employers may require performance qualifications or code certs (e.g., AWS D1.1) and value NCCER credentials where adopted by the employer or apprenticeship sponsor3.
    • Marine and pressure work often require additional certs and procedure tests.

Keep records of hours, duties, and supervisor contacts as you train. You will need this to verify experience when you apply for state contractor exams.

Online & Flexible Options

  • Hybrid is common. Many local programs deliver theory online and keep labs on campus for safety-critical skills like electrical, HVAC brazing, and welding.
  • Fully online options work best for test prep and support courses. Examples include OSHA-10/30, construction math, blueprint reading, and EPA 608 exam prep. Hands-on lab work is still required before employers will sign off on your abilities2.
  • Apprenticeships offer paid, flexible learning. Evening classes plus daytime OJT help you earn while you train. Look at the electrical and plumbing JATCs listed above or employer-sponsored programs in Palm Beach County.

If you need a faster start, ask schools about short-term certificates that stack into longer programs. Many colleges let you earn an initial credential in 4-6 months and build from there.

Next Steps

Have questions about which program fits your goals? Start with a quick call to two local schools from the list above and ask about start dates, schedule (day/evening), hands-on lab hours, and career support. Then choose the path that matches your timeline and budget.


Outcome figures such as graduation, completion, and job placement rates are reported by schools and by federal data sources, reflect prior student cohorts, and are not a prediction or promise of future results. Individual outcomes may vary.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), Occupational Outlook and Employment/Wage data for construction and installation/maintenance trades in Florida. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - Section 608 Technician Certification for refrigerant handling. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER) - industry-recognized construction credentials and curricula. ↩︎ ↩︎

  4. Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) - Construction Industry Licensing Board and Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board requirements and exams. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)