Best Trade Schools in Florida City, Florida (2026 Guide)

Here are the best schools in Florida City. This guide lists accredited programs near you, how licensing works in Florida, and which trades are hiring in the Miami metro. Use it to choose a school, start an apprenticeship, and move into a skilled career with strong job security and steady pay12.


Compare Trade Schools Near Florida City, Florida

These schools are within an easy commute from Florida City. All are institutionally accredited or state approved, and offer hands-on training aligned to Florida licensing and industry certifications2.

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 7 schools, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 7 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Sheridan Technical College

Hollywood, FL In-state option BOC Score 64.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 69.5%
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 1619
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $37,703 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Miami Dade College

Miami, FL In-state option BOC Score 62.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 45.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 95
  • Annual completions: 5024
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,323 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Atlantic Technical College

Coconut Creek, FL In-state option BOC Score 61.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 60.3%
  • Programs offered: 63
  • Annual completions: 913
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,638 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Lindsey Hopkins Technical College

Miami, FL In-state option BOC Score 46.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 51.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 23
  • Annual completions: 229
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,251 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Florida.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
164.6Contact school for pricing$37,70370%Yes*In-state
262.2Contact school for pricing$49,32345%Yes*In-state
361.0Contact school for pricing$40,63860%Yes*In-state
453.9Contact school for pricingNot reported29%In-state
549.6Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedIn-state
646.5Contact school for pricing$40,25152%In-state
732.3Contact school for pricing$37,299Not reportedIn-state

Schools closest to the main population center in Florida are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Florida is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Annual Wage by Trade - Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL's most-employed trades
Median annual wage by trade in Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL, BLS OEWS May 2025Culinary workers $57940; Phlebotomy technicians $45210; Medical assistants $44930; Nursing assistants $38010; Patient care technicians $38010.Culinary workers$57,940Phlebotomy technicians$45,210Medical assistants$44,930Nursing assistants$38,010Patient care technicians$38,010
Trades ranked by local employment (BLS QCEW); wages are median annual pay (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; metro area where reported, otherwise statewide).
Median annual wage by trade in Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL
TradeMedian annual wage
Culinary workers$57,940
Phlebotomy technicians$45,210
Medical assistants$44,930
Nursing assistants$38,010
Patient care technicians$38,010
Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Florida City, Florida (2026 Guide)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Florida City, Florida (2026 Guide) (College Scorecard)Miami Dade College $49323; Atlantic Technical College $40638; Lindsey Hopkins Technical College $40251; Sheridan Technical College $37703; Robert Morgan Educational Center and Technical College $37299.Miami Dade College$49,323Atlantic Technical College$40,638Lindsey Hopkins Technical Co...$40,251Sheridan Technical College$37,703Robert Morgan Educational Ce...$37,299
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Florida City, Florida (2026 Guide)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Miami Dade College$49,323
Atlantic Technical College$40,638
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College$40,251
Sheridan Technical College$37,703
Robert Morgan Educational Center and Technical College$37,299

Cost, Earnings, and Program Length in Florida City

Among the Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL area’s most-employed trades (BLS QCEW 2024), median annual pay ranges from $38,010 to $57,940 per year (BLS OEWS, May 2025); the chart above compares the five with the largest local workforces. Published tuition across the trade-relevant schools serving Florida City ranges from $13,806 to $30,421 per year (IPEDS and College Scorecard); schools that do not publish a rate are marked “Contact school for pricing” in the table below. Typical medical assistant training runs 9-12 months (certificate or diploma) (TradeCareerPath program data).

Trade Schools in Nearby Cities

Skilled Trades in Demand

  • Electrician

    • Electricians install, maintain, and troubleshoot power, lighting, and controls. Work spans residential, commercial, industrial, and solar. Demand remains steady due to construction growth, system upgrades, and the need for maintenance1. Training paths typically include a 1-year electricity program plus apprenticeship, or direct entry into a registered apprenticeship. See career details: Electrician.
  • HVAC Technician

    • HVAC techs service heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration in homes and commercial buildings. Growth remains solid in Florida due to hot weather, energy efficiency upgrades, and strict building codes1. EPA 608 certification is required for refrigerants. Learn more: HVAC.
  • Welder

    • Welders join and repair metal in construction, fabrication, shipyards, and manufacturing. Miami-Dade has steady demand tied to infrastructure and marine work. Employers value process proficiency and current procedure qualifications. Explore the field: Welding.
  • Plumber

    • Plumbers install and repair piping systems and fixtures. Florida’s population growth and hurricane resiliency projects drive continuous work. Licensure at the contractor level is statewide with additional local journeyman tiers13. Path overview: Plumbing.

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Flooring Installer9.5%
Plumber4.5%
Welder2.2%
Carpenter4.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%
Dog Trainer5.1%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Paralegal0.2%
Bookkeeper-5.8%
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.

Licensing Requirements in Florida

Florida licenses contractors at the state level through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Journeyman-level licensing is handled locally by many counties and cities, including Miami-Dade3.

  • Electrician

    • State board: Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board at DBPR3.
    • Contractor licenses: Certified Electrical Contractor or Registered Electrical Contractor.
    • Typical steps:
      • 4 years of trade experience or a mix of education and experience.
      • Pass the state trade and business exams.
      • Financial responsibility, background check, and insurance.
      • For journeyman: apply through local authority such as Miami-Dade County Construction Trades Qualifying Board.
  • HVAC - Air Conditioning Contractor

    • State board: Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) at DBPR3.
    • License classes: Class A - unlimited; Class B - limited to 25 tons cooling and 500,000 BTU heating.
    • Typical steps:
      • 4 years of experience or an education-experience combination.
      • Pass trade and business exams.
      • Financials and insurance.
      • EPA 608 certification required for refrigerant handling4.
  • Plumber

    • State board: CILB at DBPR3.
    • Contractor types: Certified Plumbing Contractor or Registered Plumbing Contractor.
    • Typical steps:
      • Verified experience or apprenticeship completion.
      • State exam and business exam.
      • Financials, background check, and insurance.
      • Journeyman and master levels may be issued locally.
  • Welder

    • No Florida state license for general welding.
    • Employers require performance qualifications and procedure tests. Common credentials include AWS structural codes and NCCER module-based certifications5.
    • OSHA-10 or OSHA-30 training is recommended for construction sites.

Tip: Many students complete a 10 to 18 month technical college program, then enter a registered apprenticeship or entry-level employment while they build hours toward contractor eligibility.

Online & Flexible Options

  • Hybrid training

    • Core safety, codes, math, and blueprint reading often run online. Hands-on labs, shop practice, and clinicals are in person. Most schools listed above offer evening or hybrid schedules for working adults.
  • Apprenticeships

    • Apprenticeships pair paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction. In Miami-Dade, classroom instruction is commonly delivered through Miami Dade College or local technical colleges in partnership with approved sponsors2. You earn while you learn and graduate with industry credentials.
  • Short certifications

    • Add-on credentials like OSHA 10, EPA 608, CPR/First Aid, and NCCER modules can be stacked to improve employability and meet contractor requirements45.

Next Steps

  • Compare programs and intakes at the Florida state hub: /trade-school/florida/
  • Explore all skilled careers: /trades/
  • Start at the main trade school hub to see other cities: /trade-school/

If you know your trade, go straight to career pages:

  • Electrician: /trades/electrician
  • HVAC: /trades/hvac
  • Welding: /trades/welding
  • Plumbing: /trades/plumbing

Have a plan: visit campuses, ask about accreditation, program hours, exam prep, placement, and schedules. Confirm your licensing path with DBPR or your local licensing office before you enroll3.


Outcome figures such as graduation, completion, and job placement rates are reported by schools and by federal data sources, reflect prior student cohorts, and are not a prediction or promise of future results. Individual outcomes may vary.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook, Electricians, HVACR Technicians, Plumbers, and Welders, 2024-2025. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. U.S. Department of Education, College Navigator profiles for Miami Dade College, Robert Morgan Educational Center & Technical College, Lindsey Hopkins Technical College, Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical College, George T. Baker Aviation Technical College, Sheridan Technical College, and Atlantic Technical College. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Construction Industry Licensing Board and Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board, Candidate Information and Licensing Requirements. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  4. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Section 608 Technician Certification for handling refrigerants. ↩︎ ↩︎

  5. NCCER, Industry-recognized construction credentials and curriculum frameworks. ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)