Best Trade Schools in Miami Shores, Florida (2026 Guide)

Here are the best schools in Miami Shores. This guide compares accredited programs nearby, how long they take, and what licenses you need in Florida. You’ll also see which trades are hiring in the Miami area and flexible ways to train.


Compare Trade Schools Near Miami Shores, Florida

These schools are in or near Miami Shores and hold recognized accreditation. Program lengths are typical full-time timelines. Check each catalog for current schedules and admissions1.

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 7 schools, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 7 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Sheridan Technical College

Hollywood, FL In-state option BOC Score 64.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 69.5%
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 1619
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $37,703 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Florida Education Institute

Miami, FL In-state option BOC Score 47.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 12
  • Annual completions: 793
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $32,568 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Lindsey Hopkins Technical College

Miami, FL In-state option BOC Score 46.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 51.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 23
  • Annual completions: 229
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,251 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

D A Dorsey Technical College

Miami, FL In-state option BOC Score 26.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 11.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 8
  • Annual completions: 18
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $26,385 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Florida.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
164.6Contact school for pricing$37,70370%Yes*In-state
253.9Contact school for pricingNot reported29%In-state
349.6Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedIn-state
447.9Contact school for pricing$32,568Not reportedYes*In-state
546.5Contact school for pricing$40,25152%In-state
632.3Contact school for pricing$37,299Not reportedIn-state
726.3Contact school for pricing$26,38511%In-state

Schools closest to the main population center in Florida are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Florida is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Annual Wage by Trade - Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL's most-employed trades
Median annual wage by trade in Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL, BLS OEWS May 2025Culinary workers $57940; Phlebotomy technicians $45210; Medical assistants $44930; Nursing assistants $38010; Patient care technicians $38010.Culinary workers$57,940Phlebotomy technicians$45,210Medical assistants$44,930Nursing assistants$38,010Patient care technicians$38,010
Trades ranked by local employment (BLS QCEW); wages are median annual pay (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; metro area where reported, otherwise statewide).
Median annual wage by trade in Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL
TradeMedian annual wage
Culinary workers$57,940
Phlebotomy technicians$45,210
Medical assistants$44,930
Nursing assistants$38,010
Patient care technicians$38,010
Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Miami Shores, Florida (2026 Guide)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Miami Shores, Florida (2026 Guide) (College Scorecard)Lindsey Hopkins Technical College $40251; Sheridan Technical College $37703; Robert Morgan Educational Center and Technical College $37299; Florida Education Institute $32568; D A Dorsey Technical College $26385.Lindsey Hopkins Technical Co...$40,251Sheridan Technical College$37,703Robert Morgan Educational Ce...$37,299Florida Education Institute$32,568D A Dorsey Technical College$26,385
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Miami Shores, Florida (2026 Guide)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College$40,251
Sheridan Technical College$37,703
Robert Morgan Educational Center and Technical College$37,299
Florida Education Institute$32,568
D A Dorsey Technical College$26,385

Cost, Earnings, and Program Length in Miami Shores

Among the Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL area’s most-employed trades (BLS QCEW 2024), median annual pay ranges from $38,010 to $57,940 per year (BLS OEWS, May 2025); the chart above compares the five with the largest local workforces. Typical medical assistant training runs 9-12 months (certificate or diploma) (TradeCareerPath program data).

Trade Schools in Nearby Cities

Skilled Trades in Demand

Electrician

  • The Miami metro continues to add residential and commercial projects, keeping demand steady for entry-level and journeyman electricians2. Training programs feed into local apprenticeships and contractor shops. See career steps and certifications on our electrician page: Electrician.

HVAC/R

  • Hot, humid climate means year-round service calls for installation and repair. HVAC technicians with EPA 608 certification and strong troubleshooting skills are competitive in the Miami area2. Learn more about paths and credentials: HVAC.

Welding

  • Fabrication, marine, construction, and infrastructure projects around the port and rail drive steady welding work. AWS code welding boosts your hireability2. Explore welding career options: Welding.

Plumbing

  • Remodels, new builds, and hospitality keep plumbers busy across Miami-Dade. Licensed contractors can lead crews or run service businesses2. See training and licensing details: Plumbing.

BLS data shows these trades offer stable employment and opportunities to advance with experience and certifications2.

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Flooring Installer9.5%
Plumber4.5%
Welder2.2%
Carpenter4.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%
Dog Trainer5.1%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Paralegal0.2%
Bookkeeper-5.8%
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.

Licensing Requirements in Florida

Florida licenses contractors at the state level through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR). Many journeyman cards are issued by counties, including Miami-Dade. Here are the typical steps:

Electrician

  • Start as a trainee or apprentice with a registered apprenticeship sponsor.
  • Earn a local journeyman electrician card through Miami-Dade County Construction Trades Qualifying Board (experience + exam)3.
  • To run your own business statewide, apply to DBPR for Certified Electrical Contractor (EC) after verified experience, pass the state exam, and meet financial/insurance requirements4.
  • Maintain continuing education as required by the board4.

HVAC/R

  • Get entry-level training and obtain EPA Section 608 refrigerant handling certification (required to work with refrigerants)5.
  • Work under a licensed contractor to build experience.
  • For business ownership or to contract directly, qualify with DBPR as a Certified Air-Conditioning Contractor (Class A or B) by meeting experience, exam, and financial responsibility requirements4.
  • Some jurisdictions may offer or require local journeyman cards for HVAC mechanics3.

Plumbing

  • Complete training and earn hours under a licensed plumber.
  • Obtain a Miami-Dade journeyman plumber card via experience and exam when you meet county requirements3.
  • For statewide contracting, qualify with DBPR as a Certified Plumbing Contractor (experience, exams, insurance, background)4.

Welding

  • No state license. Employers and job sites commonly require American Welding Society (AWS) performance qualifications to specific codes (for example, D1.1 structural). Your school or employer can arrange AWS tests2.
  • Specialty endorsements may be required for certain marine or pipeline work.

Aviation Maintenance (optional but popular in Miami)

  • Complete an FAA Part 147 approved A&P program and pass FAA written, oral, and practical exams to earn Airframe and Powerplant mechanic certificates6.

Always verify current rules with DBPR and Miami-Dade County before you test or apply43.

Online & Flexible Options

  • Hybrid learning: Several technical colleges deliver theory online with in-person labs for electricity, HVAC, and welding. This helps working adults manage schedules.
  • Evenings and accelerated blocks: Public technical colleges in Miami-Dade often offer evening cohorts and multiple start dates. Ask about clock-hour transfer if you have prior training.
  • Apprenticeships: Combine paid work with classroom instruction. Look for programs aligned to NCCER or state-registered standards in electrical, HVAC, and plumbing. Many employers sponsor tuition for apprentices.
  • Short industry credentials: Add-on cards like EPA 608, OSHA 10/30, and first aid/CPR strengthen your resume and can be completed quickly online or on campus.
  • Aviation: FAA A&P programs require in-person labs, but schools may offer blended theory to reduce time on campus6.

If you need maximum flexibility, compare program schedules and delivery (day, evening, hybrid) when you contact admissions.

Next Steps

  • Compare Florida programs and statewide licensing: Florida Trade School Hub
  • Browse all trades and choose your path: Trades Hub
  • New to training and credentials? Start here: Guides
  • Ready to shortlist schools near Miami Shores? Revisit the table above and contact 2-3 programs to confirm start dates, schedules, and certification prep.

Footnotes


Outcome figures such as graduation, completion, and job placement rates are reported by schools and by federal data sources, reflect prior student cohorts, and are not a prediction or promise of future results. Individual outcomes may vary.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. U.S. Department of Education, College Navigator. institutional profiles for listed schools (accreditation and program listings). ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook and Occupational Employment data for construction and repair trades (latest available). ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Miami-Dade County Construction Trades Qualifying Board. local journeyman and contractor qualification. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  4. Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR): Construction Industry Licensing Board and Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board. license types, exams, and requirements. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  5. U.S. EPA Section 608 Technician Certification. refrigerant handling requirements. ↩︎

  6. Federal Aviation Administration. Part 147 Aviation Maintenance Technician Schools and A&P certification process. ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)