George T Baker Aviation Technical College
- 3275 NW 42nd Ave Miami, FL 33142
- (305) 871-3143
- Completion rate: 29.4% (College Scorecard)
- Programs offered: 4
- Annual completions: 391
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Select a program of interest to explore trade schools that match your goals.
Here are the best schools in Miami Springs. This guide focuses on accredited options near the city, the trades in demand, and the licensing steps in Florida. Use it to compare programs and choose a fast, job-ready path. Employers in the Miami metro continue hiring across construction, HVAC, electrical, and healthcare support roles1. All schools below are listed in U.S. Department of Education resources or hold recognized accreditation23.
These campuses are in or near Miami Springs, close to Miami International Airport, Hialeah, and Miami Lakes.
We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.
This page lists 6 schools, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 5 of them carry a score. 1 does not have enough federal outcome data to score, and appears last rather than being hidden.
Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | George T Baker Aviation Technical College | 53.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 29% | — | In-state |
| 2 | Miami Lakes Educational Center and Technical College | 49.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | In-state |
| 3 | Lindsey Hopkins Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $40,251 | 52% | — | In-state |
| 4 | Robert Morgan Educational Center and Technical College | 32.3 | Contact school for pricing | $37,299 | Not reported | — | In-state |
| 5 | Florida Career College-Hialeah | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | In-state |
Schools closest to the main population center in Florida are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Florida is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
| Trade | Median annual wage |
|---|---|
| Culinary workers | $57,940 |
| Phlebotomy technicians | $45,210 |
| Medical assistants | $44,930 |
| Nursing assistants | $38,010 |
| Patient care technicians | $38,010 |
| School | Median graduate earnings |
|---|---|
| Lindsey Hopkins Technical College | $40,251 |
| Robert Morgan Educational Center and Technical College | $37,299 |
Among the Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL area’s most-employed trades (BLS QCEW 2024), median annual pay ranges from $38,010 to $57,940 per year (BLS OEWS, May 2025); the chart above compares the five with the largest local workforces. Typical medical assistant training runs 9-12 months (certificate or diploma) (TradeCareerPath program data).
Electrician
HVAC/R Technician
Welding
Plumbing
Pay varies by employer, experience, and credentials. The BLS reports steady employment and competitive wages for the Miami-Fort Lauderdale metro across these trades, with overtime and shift differentials common for service work1.
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Flooring Installer | 9.5% |
| Plumber | 4.5% |
| Welder | 2.2% |
| Carpenter | 4.5% |
| Construction Worker | 7.3% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Construction Manager | 8.7% |
| Home Inspector | -0.8% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Lineworker | 6.6% |
| Wind Turbine Technician | 49.9% |
| Tower Technician | 8.6% |
| Electrician | 9.5% |
| HVAC Technician | 8.1% |
| Solar Installer | 42.1% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Aircraft Mechanic (A&P) | 4.0% |
| Diesel Technician | 2.4% |
| Gunsmith | 2.0% |
| CNC Machinist | 0.0% |
| Truck Driver (CDL) | 4.0% |
| Heavy Equipment Operator | 3.6% |
| Auto Mechanic | 4.2% |
| Automotive Technician | 4.2% |
| Maintenance Technician | 3.8% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) | 2.6% |
| Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN) | 2.6% |
| Hemodialysis Technician | 5.2% |
| Medical Assistant | 12.5% |
| Mental Health Technician | 20.0% |
| Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) | 2.3% |
| Patient Care Technician | 2.3% |
| Home Health Aide | 17.0% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Diagnostic Medical Sonographer | 13.0% |
| EKG Technician | 3.0% |
| Radiologic Technologist | 4.3% |
| Surgical Technologist | 4.5% |
| Optician | 2.9% |
| Dental Assistant | 6.4% |
| Sterile Processing Technician | 10.0% |
| Pharmacy Technician | 6.4% |
| Phlebotomy Technician | 5.6% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Medical Billing & Coding Specialist | 7.1% |
| Medical Office Administrator | 4.2% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Occupational Therapy Assistant | 19.2% |
| Massage Therapist | 15.4% |
| Personal Trainer | 11.9% |
| Physical Therapy Aide | 2.8% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Veterinary Technician | 9.1% |
| Veterinary Assistant | 8.7% |
| Dog Trainer | 5.1% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Esthetician | 6.7% |
| Beauty Professional | 5.6% |
| Cosmetologist | 5.6% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Culinary Chef | 7.1% |
| Pastry Chef | 7.1% |
| Trade | Job Growth (2024-2034, US) |
|---|---|
| Paralegal | 0.2% |
| Bookkeeper | -5.8% |
| Digital Court Reporter | -0.3% |
Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.
Florida regulates contractor-level licensing statewide. Journeyman licensing is handled locally. Here are the basics for common trades.
Electrician
HVAC (Air Conditioning and Refrigeration)
Plumbing
Welding
Always confirm the latest requirements with Florida DBPR and Miami-Dade County before you apply67.
Hybrid programs at public technical colleges
Short online industry certifications
EPA 608 certification testing
Aviation exam prep
If you need maximum flexibility, ask each school about night cohorts, modular scheduling, make-up lab policies, and externships that fit your hours.
Visit or call two to three schools near Miami Springs. Tour the labs, confirm accreditation, ask about licensure prep, and check class schedules that match your life. Then apply early to lock in your start date.
Outcome figures such as graduation, completion, and job placement rates are reported by schools and by federal data sources, reflect prior student cohorts, and are not a prediction or promise of future results. Individual outcomes may vary.
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), employment and wage data for construction and maintenance trades, Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach metro. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
U.S. Department of Education, College Navigator, institutional and program listings for Florida technical colleges and private career schools. ↩︎
Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC), accredited institution directory. ↩︎
U.S. EPA, Section 608 Technician Certification for Refrigerants. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
NCCER, standardized craft training curricula and credentials for construction trades. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), Construction Industry Licensing Board and Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board, licensing requirements and exams. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Miami-Dade County Trade Qualifying Board, local journeyman and contractor qualifications and exams. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |