Best Trade Schools in Milton, Florida (2026 Guide)

Here are the best schools in Milton. This guide compares accredited trade programs near you, shows which skills local employers want, and explains Florida licensing so you can start work faster. Skilled trades in the Panhandle continue to hire, and many roles offer steady pay, benefits, and advancement1.


Compare Trade Schools Near Milton, Florida

Below are accredited options in Milton and nearby Pensacola and the Emerald Coast. Program lengths vary by trade and credential.

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 6 schools, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 6 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Pensacola State College

Pensacola, FL In-state option BOC Score 61.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 55
  • Annual completions: 1029
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,937 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Emerald Coast Technical College

DeFuniak Springs, FL In-state option BOC Score 57.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 14
  • Annual completions: 88
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,437 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Lake Technical College

Eustis, FL In-state option BOC Score 47.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 60.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 22
  • Annual completions: 646
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,817 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Okaloosa Technical College

Fort Walton Beach, FL In-state option BOC Score 46.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 67.0%
  • Programs offered: 14
  • Annual completions: 243
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,636 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

George Stone Technical College

Pensacola, FL In-state option BOC Score 33.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 43.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 19
  • Annual completions: 299
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,815 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Fortis Institute-Pensacola

Pensacola, FL In-state option BOC Score 19.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 50.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 6
  • Annual completions: 154
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,893 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Florida.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
161.5Contact school for pricing$45,937Not reportedYes*In-state
257.6Contact school for pricing$40,437Not reportedIn-state
347.2Contact school for pricing$40,81760%Yes*In-state
446.3Contact school for pricing$40,63667%In-state
533.5Contact school for pricing$43,81543%In-state
619.9Contact school for pricing$33,89351%In-state

Schools closest to the main population center in Florida are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Florida is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Annual Wage by Trade - Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent, FL's most-employed trades
Median annual wage by trade in Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent, FL, BLS OEWS May 2025HVAC technicians $58030; Electricians $50510; Plumbers $49670; Culinary workers $48710; Medical assistants $38760.HVAC technicians$58,030Electricians$50,510Plumbers$49,670Culinary workers$48,710Medical assistants$38,760
Trades ranked by local employment (BLS QCEW); wages are median annual pay (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; metro area where reported, otherwise statewide).
Median annual wage by trade in Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent, FL
TradeMedian annual wage
HVAC technicians$58,030
Electricians$50,510
Plumbers$49,670
Culinary workers$48,710
Medical assistants$38,760
Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Milton, Florida (2026 Guide)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Milton, Florida (2026 Guide) (College Scorecard)Pensacola State College $45937; George Stone Technical College $43815; Lake Technical College $40817; Okaloosa Technical College $40636; Emerald Coast Technical College $40437; Fortis Institute-Pensacola $33893.Pensacola State College$45,937George Stone Technical College$43,815Lake Technical College$40,817Okaloosa Technical College$40,636Emerald Coast Technical Coll...$40,437Fortis Institute-Pensacola$33,893
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Milton, Florida (2026 Guide)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Pensacola State College$45,937
George Stone Technical College$43,815
Lake Technical College$40,817
Okaloosa Technical College$40,636
Emerald Coast Technical College$40,437
Fortis Institute-Pensacola$33,893

Cost, Earnings, and Program Length in Milton

Among the Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent, FL area’s most-employed trades (BLS QCEW 2024), median annual pay ranges from $38,760 to $58,030 per year (BLS OEWS, May 2025); the chart above compares the five with the largest local workforces. Typical culinary worker training runs 1-2 years (culinary school or apprenticeship) (TradeCareerPath program data).

Trade Schools in Nearby Cities

Skilled Trades in Demand

  • Electrician Electricians keep homes, plants, and bases across the Panhandle running. Contractors look for grads who can read prints, bend conduit, and troubleshoot controls. Many start as helpers or apprentices and work up to journeyman, foreman, or estimator. Electricians enjoy steady work and solid benefits in Florida1.

  • HVAC/R Technician Florida heat means year-round service calls. HVAC technicians who can diagnose, braze, evacuate systems, and handle refrigerants safely move up fast. Employers value EPA 608 certification and NCCER level completions. Residential service, light commercial, and facility maintenance roles are common123.

  • Welder Shipyards, fabrication shops, and construction sites along the Gulf need welders who can pass 3G/4G plate or pipe tests. Schools offering SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and flux-core with AWS-aligned labs help you qualify for common performance tests. Overtime can boost earnings during big projects14.

  • Plumber Plumbers handle water, drain, gas, and medical gas systems. Entry roles start with rough-in and service. With experience and a state contractor license, you can run jobs or your own business. Experience with code, layout, and soldering or press systems is a plus1.

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Flooring Installer9.5%
Plumber4.5%
Welder2.2%
Carpenter4.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%
Dog Trainer5.1%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Paralegal0.2%
Bookkeeper-5.8%
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.

Licensing Requirements in Florida

Electrician

  • Florida issues statewide Electrical Contractor licenses (Certified “EC” for statewide practice; Registered “ER” for local practice) through the Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board at DBPR5.
  • Path: Get trade experience (often 4 years documented), pass the business and technical exams, show financial responsibility, submit background and application.
  • Many counties and cities also offer Journeyman or Master Electrician licenses for employment on local jobs. Check Santa Rosa and Escambia local authorities for journeyman requirements.

HVAC/R

  • To run an HVAC business or pull permits, you need a state Air Conditioning Contractor license (Class A or B) or to work under a licensed contractor. Licenses are issued by DBPR’s Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB)6.
  • Path: 4 years of experience or a combination of education and experience, pass trade and business exams, apply to CILB.
  • All techs who handle refrigerants must hold EPA Section 608 certification2.

Plumbing

  • Plumbing Contractor licensing is through the CILB at DBPR. Choose Certified (statewide) or Registered (local)6.
  • Path: Verified experience or apprenticeship time, pass exams, meet financial and insurance requirements, apply.
  • Local journeyman cards may be needed for employment on permitted work in some jurisdictions.

Welding

  • Florida does not require a state welder license. Employers and municipalities often require passing AWS performance qualifications to the applicable code (such as AWS D1.1 for structural steel)4.
  • Completing NCCER Welding levels or AWS-certified tests can improve job prospects43.

Commercial Driving (CDL-A)

  • Train with an FMCSA-registered provider, pass your CLP, complete ELDT, and pass the skills test through Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV)7.
  • Extra endorsements like Tanker or HazMat require additional testing (and TSA clearance for HazMat).

Always verify current rules with Florida DBPR and your local building department before you test or apply.

Online & Flexible Options

  • Hybrid programs: Some schools deliver trade theory online with on-campus labs for welding arcs, electrical panels, or HVAC trainers. This can reduce seat time while preserving hands-on practice.
  • Evening and accelerated schedules: Locklin, George Stone, and area technical colleges often offer evening sections for working adults. CDL training can be full-time day or weekend.
  • General education online: Pensacola State College offers online gen-ed and some technical courses that apply to A.S. degrees, saving trips to campus.
  • Industry certifications: Prep for EPA 608, NCCER, AWS, and OSHA 10/30 using practice tests and short modules. Ask admissions which credentials are included.

Next Steps

Plan campus visits, ask about certification pass rates, placement, and lab hours, and confirm your licensing path with the state board. That due diligence helps you start work faster and avoid surprises.


Outcome figures such as graduation, completion, and job placement rates are reported by schools and by federal data sources, reflect prior student cohorts, and are not a prediction or promise of future results. Individual outcomes may vary.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook and OEWS data, employment and wages for construction and maintenance trades. https://www.bls.gov/ooh/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. U.S. EPA, Section 608 Technician Certification for HVACR. https://www.epa.gov/section608 ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. NCCER, National construction credentials and curricula. https://www.nccer.org/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  4. American Welding Society (AWS), Certifications and Codes (e.g., AWS D1.1). https://www.aws.org/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  5. Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board. https://www.myfloridalicense.com/ ↩︎

  6. Florida DBPR, Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB). Air Conditioning and Plumbing Contractor licensing. https://www.myfloridalicense.com/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  7. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), Entry-Level Driver Training and Training Provider Registry. https://tpr.fmcsa.dot.gov/ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)