Best Trade Schools in Oldsmar, Florida (2026 Guide)

Here are the best schools in Oldsmar. This guide compares accredited programs near you, shows which trades are in demand, and explains Florida licensing. Use it to choose a program with the right length, schedule, and outcomes. Electricians, HVAC techs, welders, and plumbers all show steady demand and competitive pay in the Tampa Bay area1.


Compare Trade Schools Near Oldsmar, Florida

These schools are in or near Oldsmar and serve Pinellas and Hillsborough counties. Program lengths are typical ranges. Check each school for current start dates and formats.

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 7 schools, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 7 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

St Petersburg College

St. Petersburg, FL In-state option BOC Score 74.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 56
  • Annual completions: 2563
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,088 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Erwin Technical College

Tampa, FL In-state option BOC Score 60.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 79.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 41
  • Annual completions: 634
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $41,518 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

National Aviation Academy of Tampa Bay

Clearwater, FL In-state option BOC Score 59.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 76.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 4
  • Annual completions: 596
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $68,902 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Fred K Marchman Technical College

New Port Richey, FL In-state option BOC Score 53.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 69.4%
  • Programs offered: 24
  • Annual completions: 338
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $34,166 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Pinellas Technical College-Clearwater

Clearwater, FL In-state option BOC Score 43.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 37
  • Annual completions: 749
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $41,457 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Pinellas Technical College-St. Petersburg

Saint Petersburg, FL In-state option BOC Score 42.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 41
  • Annual completions: 1040
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,318 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Florida.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
174.6Contact school for pricing$54,088Not reportedYes*In-state
260.6Contact school for pricing$41,51880%In-state
359.0Contact school for pricing$68,90276%In-state
453.8Contact school for pricing$34,16669%In-state
543.4Contact school for pricing$41,457Not reportedYes*In-state
642.2Contact school for pricing$40,318Not reportedYes*In-state
728.3Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedIn-state

Schools closest to the main population center in Florida are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Florida is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Annual Wage by Trade - Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL's most-employed trades
Median annual wage by trade in Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL, BLS OEWS May 2025Culinary workers $58240; Medical assistants $44480; Phlebotomy technicians $39220; Nursing assistants $37470; Patient care technicians $37470.Culinary workers$58,240Medical assistants$44,480Phlebotomy technicians$39,220Nursing assistants$37,470Patient care technicians$37,470
Trades ranked by local employment (BLS QCEW); wages are median annual pay (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; metro area where reported, otherwise statewide).
Median annual wage by trade in Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL
TradeMedian annual wage
Culinary workers$58,240
Medical assistants$44,480
Phlebotomy technicians$39,220
Nursing assistants$37,470
Patient care technicians$37,470
Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Oldsmar, Florida (2026 Guide)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Oldsmar, Florida (2026 Guide) (College Scorecard)National Aviation Academy of Tampa Bay $68902; St Petersburg College $54088; Erwin Technical College $41518; Pinellas Technical College-Clearwater $41457; Pinellas Technical College-St. Petersburg $40318; Fred K Marchman Technical College $34166.National Aviation Academy of...$68,902St Petersburg College$54,088Erwin Technical College$41,518Pinellas Technical College-C...$41,457Pinellas Technical College-S...$40,318Fred K Marchman Technical Co...$34,166
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Oldsmar, Florida (2026 Guide)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
National Aviation Academy of Tampa Bay$68,902
St Petersburg College$54,088
Erwin Technical College$41,518
Pinellas Technical College-Clearwater$41,457
Pinellas Technical College-St. Petersburg$40,318
Fred K Marchman Technical College$34,166

Cost, Earnings, and Program Length in Oldsmar

Among the Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL area’s most-employed trades (BLS QCEW 2024), median annual pay ranges from $37,470 to $58,240 per year (BLS OEWS, May 2025); the chart above compares the five with the largest local workforces. Typical medical assistant training runs 9-12 months (certificate or diploma) (TradeCareerPath program data).

Trade Schools in Nearby Cities

Skilled Trades in Demand

Electrician
Electricians install and maintain electrical systems in homes, businesses, and industry. The Tampa Bay metro shows steady demand with retirements and construction growth. Training often starts with a 6-12 month school program or a paid apprenticeship. Wages rise with experience and credentials1. See our electrician career guide for pathways and exams: Electrician.

HVAC/R Technician
HVAC technicians keep cooling and heating systems running. Florida’s climate drives year-round service calls. Entry training can be 9-12 months with EPA 608 certification. Many advance to foreman or licensed contractor roles and can specialize in commercial or controls1. Learn more: HVAC.

Welder
Welders work in fabrication, construction, marine, and aviation support around Tampa Bay. Schools teach SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and pipe welding. Earning AWS certifications can boost job options and pay1. Explore career paths: Welding.

Plumber
Plumbers install and service piping, fixtures, and gas lines. Work is steady across residential and commercial projects. Most start through a registered apprenticeship or school-based plumbing technology program, then pursue contractor licensing if they plan to run a business1. Get details: Plumbing.

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Flooring Installer9.5%
Plumber4.5%
Welder2.2%
Carpenter4.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%
Dog Trainer5.1%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Paralegal0.2%
Bookkeeper-5.8%
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.

Licensing Requirements in Florida

Electrician

  • Florida licenses electrical contractors at the state level through the Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board (ECLB) under DBPR2.
  • Choose Certified Electrical Contractor (EC) for statewide practice or Registered Electrical Contractor (ER) for a local jurisdiction2.
  • Steps for EC: documented experience, pass the state exam, financial responsibility, background check, and insurance2.
  • Journeyman and master electrician cards are issued by local counties or municipalities. Pinellas and Hillsborough maintain their own journeyman requirements and exams2.
  • Many start with an apprenticeship, then sit for local journeyman, and later upgrade to EC for business ownership.

HVAC/R

  • Florida licenses HVAC contractors through the Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) under DBPR2.
  • Class A covers any size system statewide. Class B is up to 25 tons and 500,000 BTU heating. Class C is service only2.
  • Steps: verifiable experience, pass exam, financial responsibility, background check, and insurance2.
  • All techs who handle refrigerants must hold EPA Section 608 certification3.
  • Entry-level techs can work under a licensed contractor while gaining experience.

Plumbing

  • Plumbing contractors are licensed by CILB as Certified Plumbing Contractor (CPC) for statewide practice or Registered Plumbing Contractor for local practice2.
  • Steps: experience, pass exam, financial responsibility, background check, and insurance2.
  • Journeyman plumber credentials are issued at the county or city level in many Florida jurisdictions2.

Welding

  • Florida does not license welders at the state level.
  • Employers often require AWS structural or pipe welding performance qualifications tied to job codes like D1.1 or ASME IX4.
  • OSHA 10 or 30-hour cards are common add-ons for job sites.

Exam scheduling for DBPR contractor licenses is typically through Pearson VUE. Review candidate handbooks and eligibility requirements before applying2.

Online & Flexible Options

  • Blended programs: Many Tampa Bay schools offer lecture online with labs on campus. Examples include HVAC theory online with scheduled shop hours.
  • Evenings and weekends: Public technical colleges often run evening cohorts so you can work while training.
  • Short-term certificates: Schools like St. Petersburg College offer stackable certificates that build to an A.S., which can help you earn while you learn5.
  • Certification prep: Ask about embedded prep for EPA 608, NCCER, AWS, and state contractor exams.
  • Credit for experience: Some programs assess prior learning or industry certifications for advanced standing.

Next Steps

Talk to admissions, tour labs, and ask about career placement and certifications. Choose the program that matches your goal, schedule, and budget. Then map your path to licensing with your county and the Florida DBPR.


Outcome figures such as graduation, completion, and job placement rates are reported by schools and by federal data sources, reflect prior student cohorts, and are not a prediction or promise of future results. Individual outcomes may vary.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), Occupational Outlook and Employment Projections. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board and Construction Industry Licensing Board. ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. U.S. EPA, Section 608 Technician Certification - refrigerant handling requirements. ↩︎

  4. American Welding Society (AWS), Codes and Welder Certification information. ↩︎

  5. U.S. Department of Education, College Navigator - program and accreditation lookup. ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)