Best Trade Schools in Opa-locka, Florida (2026 Guide)

Here are the best schools in Opa-locka. This guide compares accredited programs, outlines Florida licensing steps, and highlights in-demand trades. Use it to choose a local school with the training and credentials employers want. Electricians, HVAC techs, plumbers, and welders are needed across Miami-Dade’s construction and service sectors1.


Compare Trade Schools Near Opa Locka, Florida

All schools below are in or near Opa-locka and hold recognized accreditation. Program lengths are typical ranges. Check each campus for current schedules and start dates23.

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 7 schools, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 7 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Sheridan Technical College

Hollywood, FL In-state option BOC Score 64.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 69.5%
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 1619
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $37,703 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Miami Dade College

Miami, FL In-state option BOC Score 62.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 45.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 95
  • Annual completions: 5024
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,323 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Florida Institute of Technology

Melbourne, FL In-state option BOC Score 46.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 64.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 14
  • Annual completions: 387
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $90,403 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Lindsey Hopkins Technical College

Miami, FL In-state option BOC Score 46.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 51.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 23
  • Annual completions: 229
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,251 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

D A Dorsey Technical College

Miami, FL In-state option BOC Score 26.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 11.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 8
  • Annual completions: 18
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $26,385 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Florida.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
164.6Contact school for pricing$37,70370%Yes*In-state
262.2Contact school for pricing$49,32345%Yes*In-state
353.9Contact school for pricingNot reported29%In-state
449.6Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedIn-state
546.5Contact school for pricing$40,25152%In-state
626.3Contact school for pricing$26,38511%In-state

Schools closest to the main population center in Florida are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Florida is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Annual Wage by Trade - Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL's most-employed trades
Median annual wage by trade in Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL, BLS OEWS May 2025Culinary workers $57940; Phlebotomy technicians $45210; Medical assistants $44930; Nursing assistants $38010; Patient care technicians $38010.Culinary workers$57,940Phlebotomy technicians$45,210Medical assistants$44,930Nursing assistants$38,010Patient care technicians$38,010
Trades ranked by local employment (BLS QCEW); wages are median annual pay (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; metro area where reported, otherwise statewide).
Median annual wage by trade in Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL
TradeMedian annual wage
Culinary workers$57,940
Phlebotomy technicians$45,210
Medical assistants$44,930
Nursing assistants$38,010
Patient care technicians$38,010
Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Opa-locka, Florida (2026 Guide)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Opa-locka, Florida (2026 Guide) (College Scorecard)Miami Dade College $49323; Lindsey Hopkins Technical College $40251; Sheridan Technical College $37703; D A Dorsey Technical College $26385.Miami Dade College$49,323Lindsey Hopkins Technical Co...$40,251Sheridan Technical College$37,703D A Dorsey Technical College$26,385
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Opa-locka, Florida (2026 Guide)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Miami Dade College$49,323
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College$40,251
Sheridan Technical College$37,703
D A Dorsey Technical College$26,385

Cost, Earnings, and Program Length in Opa Locka

Among the Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL area’s most-employed trades (BLS QCEW 2024), median annual pay ranges from $38,010 to $57,940 per year (BLS OEWS, May 2025); the chart above compares the five with the largest local workforces. Typical medical assistant training runs 9-12 months (certificate or diploma) (TradeCareerPath program data).

Trade Schools in Nearby Cities

Skilled Trades in Demand

Electrician

  • New construction, retrofits, and service work keep Miami-Dade electricians busy. BLS projects steady openings from growth and retirements1. Local training plus apprenticeship can lead to journeyman and contractor roles.

HVAC/R Technician

  • South Florida’s climate means year-round HVAC work in residential, commercial, and refrigeration. EPA Section 608 certification is required to handle refrigerants4. Many grads start as installers and move into service and controls.

Welder

  • Welders support building construction, bridges, marine/ship repair, and manufacturing across the region. Employers value process-specific credentials (SMAW, GMAW, GTAW) earned through AWS-aligned training5. Steady replacement needs create ongoing openings1.

Plumber

  • Plumbers are needed for new builds, code-driven retrofits, and 24/7 service. With experience, you can qualify for journeyman and eventually work as a licensed contractor to run your own business in Florida67.

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Flooring Installer9.5%
Plumber4.5%
Welder2.2%
Carpenter4.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%
Dog Trainer5.1%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Paralegal0.2%
Bookkeeper-5.8%
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.

Licensing Requirements in Florida

Here is a simplified path for common trades. Always confirm current rules with the state board and Miami-Dade County.

Electrician (Florida + Miami-Dade)

  • Start: Complete an Electricity program or enter a registered apprenticeship (classroom + paid OJT).
  • Journeyman (local): Apply with the Miami-Dade County Construction Trades Qualifying Board (CTQB) and pass the journeyman exam to work independently under a contractor7.
  • Contractor (statewide): Qualify for the Florida Certified Electrical Contractor (EC) exam with the DBPR Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board. Show experience, pass background and exams, provide financials/insurance, and complete continuing education6.
  • Note: Some counties also accept Registered Electrical Contractor licenses tied to local jurisdictions6.

HVAC/R (Air Conditioning)

  • Training: Complete an HVAC/R program and on-the-job training.
  • EPA: Earn EPA Section 608 certification to work with refrigerants4.
  • Journeyman (local): Miami-Dade CTQB offers journeyman exams for air conditioning mechanics (optional but valuable)7.
  • Contractor (statewide): Get a Certified Air-Conditioning Contractor license (Class A or B) from the DBPR Construction Industry Licensing Board. Requires experience, exams, financial responsibility, and insurance6.

Plumbing

  • Apprenticeship/training: Combine classroom instruction with supervised hours.
  • Journeyman (local): Apply to Miami-Dade CTQB and pass the journeyman plumber exam7.
  • Contractor (statewide): Qualify for the Florida Certified Plumbing Contractor license through DBPR. Meet experience, exam, and business requirements6.

Welding

  • No Florida state license for welders.
  • Credentials: Earn AWS certifications matched to your job (for example, D1.1 structural steel). Keep procedures and continuity current as required by employers and code5.
  • Safety: Many employers require OSHA 10/30 training.

Online & Flexible Options

  • Hybrid programs: Several Miami-Dade technical colleges blend online theory with on-campus labs for HVAC, electricity, medical, and public safety programs. Hands-on labs are still required for skills sign-off.
  • Evening/weekend schedules: Schools like Miami Lakes, Lindsey Hopkins, and D.A. Dorsey run evening cohorts for working adults2.
  • Short modules: Many programs are organized in clock-hour blocks. You can start monthly or quarterly and stack modules toward completion.
  • Test prep online: EPA 608, NCCER, and AWS exam prep materials are widely offered online. Schools often include prep resources in tuition.

Next Steps

If you already know your trade, ask each school about start dates, required tools, certification pass rates, and local employer partners. That will tell you how quickly you can train, test, and pursue jobs in Opa-locka; hiring outcomes vary by local market conditions.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), Occupational Outlook Handbook. Electricians: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm; HVAC/R: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/installation-maintenance-and-repair/heating-air-conditioning-and-refrigeration-mechanics-and-installers.htm; Plumbers: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/plumbers-pipefitters-and-steamfitters.htm; Welders: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/production/welders-cutters-solderers-and-brazers.htm ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. U.S. Department of Education, College Navigator: https://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/ (accreditation, programs, and outcomes) ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC), Directory: https://www.accsc.org/Commission-Directory/ ↩︎

  4. U.S. EPA, Section 608 Technician Certification: https://www.epa.gov/section608 ↩︎ ↩︎

  5. American Welding Society (AWS) Certifications: https://www.aws.org/certification/page/certifications ↩︎ ↩︎

  6. Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), Licensing (Electrical, Air Conditioning, Plumbing): https://www.myfloridalicense.com/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  7. Miami-Dade County, Construction Trades Qualifying Board (CTQB): https://www.miamidade.gov/global/government/boards/construction-trades.page ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)