Georgia State University
- 33 Gilmer St Atlanta, GA 30303-3083
- (404) 413-2000
- Programs offered: 20
- Annual completions: 691
- Online programs available
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Select a program of interest to explore trade schools that match your goals.
Compare accredited HVAC Technician schools across Georgia below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.
Sponsored - request program info.
This page lists 10 schools within 13 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.
Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Atlanta Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $40,964 | 46% | Yes* | 3 mi |
| 2 | Georgia Piedmont Technical College | 44.5 | Contact school for pricing | $46,601 | 39% | Yes* | 9 mi |
| 3 | Interactive College of Technology-Chamblee | 38.5 | Contact school for pricing | $34,836 | 38% | Yes* | 11 mi |
| 4 | Fortis College-Smyrna | 34.9 | $15,543 - $31,288 | $40,980 | 56% | — | 13 mi |
| 5 | Lincoln College of Technology-East Point | 34.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 10 mi |
| 6 | Lincoln College of Technology-Marietta | 33.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,316 | 58% | — | 12 mi |
| 7 | Interactive College of Technology-Morrow | 31.8 | Contact school for pricing | $34,836 | 42% | Yes* | 12 mi |
| 8 | United Education Institute-Morrow | 24.7 | Contact school for pricing | $34,461 | 51% | — | 12 mi |
| 9 | United Education Institute-Stone Mountain | 22.0 | Contact school for pricing | $29,409 | 56% | — | 13 mi |
Schools closest to the main population center in Georgia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Georgia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
| School | Median graduate earnings |
|---|---|
| Georgia Piedmont Technical College | $46,601 |
| Lincoln College of Technology-Marietta | $42,316 |
| Fortis College-Smyrna | $40,980 |
| Atlanta Technical College | $40,964 |
| Interactive College of Technology-Chamblee | $34,836 |
| Interactive College of Technology-Morrow | $34,836 |



| Metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| State median annual wage | $56,390 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| State employment | 12,290 workers | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| State location quotient | 0.95 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| State unemployment rate | 3.8% | BLS LAUS (2024) |
| Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage | $18.91/hr ($18.91 base + $0.0 fringe) | DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026 |
The cities below have the highest concentration of HVAC training programs and population centers within Georgia. Click through for school listings near each:
The licenses below are reported by CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) for HVAC-related work in Georgia:
License names and requirements are sourced from the CareerOneStop License Finder. Verify current rules with the issuing agency before applying.
In Georgia, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.
HVAC technicians install, maintain, and repair heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration systems.
In Georgia, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $56,390, about 12,290 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.95 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.
In Georgia, HVAC Technician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $56,390 per year, and most earn between $36,990 and $79,130 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Georgia employs roughly 12,290 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.95 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
Trade-relevant schools serving Georgia include Gwinnett Technical College, Athens Technical College, and South Georgia Technical College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).
Licensing for HVAC Technician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Georgia licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.
Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).
HVAC technician training in Georgia is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.
According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), HVAC technicians in Georgia earned a median annual wage of approximately $56,390. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $36,990 to $79,130 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
Licensing for HVAC technicians in Georgia is administered by Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |