Best Plumbing Schools in Idaho (2026)

Compare accredited Plumber schools across Idaho below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Plumber Schools in Idaho

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 313 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Bridgerland Technical College

Logan, UT 255.6 miles away BOC Score 73.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 52
  • Annual completions: 2498
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,070 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

College of Eastern Idaho

Idaho Falls, ID 211.4 miles away BOC Score 66.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 37.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 33
  • Annual completions: 296
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,123 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Perry Technical Institute

Yakima, WA 293.9 miles away BOC Score 65.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 77.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 25
  • Annual completions: 985
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $63,923 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Ogden-Weber Technical College

Ogden, UT 270.3 miles away BOC Score 63.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 54.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 52
  • Annual completions: 2022
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,224 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Mountainland Technical College

Lehi, UT 312.9 miles away BOC Score 59.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 80.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 3875
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,284 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Idaho State University

Pocatello, ID 196.6 miles away BOC Score 52.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 38.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 78
  • Annual completions: 1123
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $58,142 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Salt Lake Community College

Salt Lake City, UT 298.1 miles away BOC Score 51.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 29.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 85
  • Annual completions: 1799
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,279 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Davis Technical College

Kaysville, UT 282.2 miles away BOC Score 47.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 3121
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,706 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

North Idaho College

Coeur d'Alene, ID 282.0 miles away BOC Score 46.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 36.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 79
  • Annual completions: 525
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,312 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Lewis-Clark State College

Lewiston, ID 197.4 miles away BOC Score 42.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 42.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 50
  • Annual completions: 238
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $58,274 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Plumber Schools in Idaho

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Idaho.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
173.8Contact school for pricing$42,070Not reportedYes*256 mi
266.6Contact school for pricing$55,12337%Yes*211 mi
365.3Contact school for pricing$63,92378%294 mi
463.7Contact school for pricing$47,22454%Yes*270 mi
559.3Contact school for pricing$39,28481%313 mi
651.6Contact school for pricing$55,27929%Yes*298 mi
747.9Contact school for pricing$47,706Not reported282 mi
846.4Contact school for pricing$50,31237%Yes*282 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Idaho are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Idaho is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Plumber Schools in Idaho
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Plumbing Schools in Idaho (2026) (College Scorecard)Perry Technical Institute $63923; Salt Lake Community College $55279; College of Eastern Idaho $55123; North Idaho College $50312; Davis Technical College $47706; Ogden-Weber Technical College $47224.Perry Technical Institute$63,923Salt Lake Community College$55,279College of Eastern Idaho$55,123North Idaho College$50,312Davis Technical College$47,706Ogden-Weber Technical College$47,224
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Plumbing Schools in Idaho (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Perry Technical Institute$63,923
Salt Lake Community College$55,279
College of Eastern Idaho$55,123
North Idaho College$50,312
Davis Technical College$47,706
Ogden-Weber Technical College$47,224

Plumber Pay and Job Outlook

Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters annual wage by percentile: $44,150 at the 10th percentile, $63,800 median, $108,420 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters: 504,500 jobs in 2024 to 527,200 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters - District of Columbia leads at $101,020. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters

Idaho Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$52,380BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment3,090 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.20BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate4.0%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$71.15/hr ($44.57 base + $26.58 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Plumber Training in Idaho

The cities below have the highest concentration of plumber training programs and population centers within Idaho. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Plumber in Idaho

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam. In Idaho, the relevant credential is the Apprentice Plumber (CareerOneStop, 2025).
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Plumbing Licensing in Idaho

The licenses below are reported by CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) for plumbing-related work in Idaho:

  • Apprentice Plumber
  • Journeyman Plumber
  • Specialty Apprentice Plumber
  • Backflow Assembly Testers
  • Plumbing Contractor

License names and requirements are sourced from the CareerOneStop License Finder. Verify current rules with the issuing agency before applying.

Apprenticeship Programs in Idaho

In Idaho, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Idaho Department of Labor - Registered Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Plumbing Careers in Idaho

Plumbers install and repair piping systems for water supply, drainage, and gas distribution in residential, commercial, and industrial settings.

In Idaho, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $52,380, about 3,090 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 1.20 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Plumber Wages and Workforce in Idaho

In Idaho, Plumber programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $52,380 per year, and most earn between $39,430 and $82,620 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Idaho employs roughly 3,090 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.20 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Idaho include College of Eastern Idaho, and North Idaho College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Plumber Training and Licensing in Idaho

Licensing for Plumber varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Idaho licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does plumber training in Idaho involve?

Plumber training in Idaho is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do plumbers earn in Idaho?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), plumbers in Idaho earned a median annual wage of approximately $52,380. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $39,430 to $82,620 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Idaho license or certification process for plumbers?

Licensing for plumber work is handled at the state level in Idaho. Consult Idaho's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)