Best Carpenter Schools in Kansas (2026)

Compare accredited Carpenter schools across Kansas below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Carpenter Schools in Kansas

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 110 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Salina Area Technical College

Salina, KS 78.3 miles away BOC Score 78.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 69.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 36
  • Annual completions: 908
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,249 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Hutchinson Community College

Hutchinson, KS 41.5 miles away BOC Score 57.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 49.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 65
  • Annual completions: 1994
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,591 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Neosho County Community College

Chanute, KS 102.0 miles away BOC Score 55.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 36.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 42
  • Annual completions: 886
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,338 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Wichita State University-Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology

Wichita, KS 7.5 miles away BOC Score 54.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 50
  • Annual completions: 3158
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,431 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Pioneer Technology Center

Ponca City, OK 67.6 miles away BOC Score 54.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 72.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 34
  • Annual completions: 290
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $37,175 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Cowley County Community College

Arkansas City, KS 46.1 miles away BOC Score 52.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 46.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 34
  • Annual completions: 861
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,324 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Barton County Community College

Great Bend, KS 90.9 miles away BOC Score 50.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 37.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 41
  • Annual completions: 606
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,242 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Coffeyville Community College

Coffeyville, KS 104.2 miles away BOC Score 50.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 39.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 30
  • Annual completions: 388
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,873 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Autry Technology Center

Enid, OK 92.9 miles away BOC Score 43.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 60.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 41
  • Annual completions: 499
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,150 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Meridian Technology Center

Stillwater, OK 109.9 miles away BOC Score 38.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 725
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,328 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Carpenter Schools in Kansas

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Kansas.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
178.9Contact school for pricing$45,24970%Yes*78 mi
257.3Contact school for pricing$49,59149%Yes*42 mi
355.0Contact school for pricing$55,33836%Yes*102 mi
454.7Contact school for pricing$47,431Not reportedYes*8 mi
554.4Contact school for pricing$37,17573%68 mi
652.2Contact school for pricing$42,32446%Yes*46 mi
750.8Contact school for pricing$48,24238%Yes*91 mi
850.7Contact school for pricing$42,87340%Yes*104 mi
943.0Contact school for pricing$44,15061%93 mi
1038.3Contact school for pricing$39,328Not reported110 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Kansas are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Kansas is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Carpenter Schools in Kansas
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Carpenter Schools in Kansas (2026) (College Scorecard)Neosho County Community College $55338; Hutchinson Community College $49591; Barton County Community College $48242; Wichita State University-Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology $47431; Salina Area Technical College $45249; Autry Technology Center $44150.Neosho County Community Coll...$55,338Hutchinson Community College$49,591Barton County Community Coll...$48,242Wichita State University-Cam...$47,431Salina Area Technical College$45,249Autry Technology Center$44,150
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Carpenter Schools in Kansas (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Neosho County Community College$55,338
Hutchinson Community College$49,591
Barton County Community College$48,242
Wichita State University-Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology$47,431
Salina Area Technical College$45,249
Autry Technology Center$44,150

Carpenter Pay and Job Outlook

Carpenters annual wage by percentile: $40,410 at the 10th percentile, $60,580 median, $99,910 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What carpenters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for carpenters: 959,000 jobs in 2024 to 1,002,100 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for carpenters
Top-paying states for carpenters - Hawaii leads at $85,280. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for carpenters

Kansas Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$56,960BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment5,210 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.84BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.5%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$22.6/hr ($18.74 base + $3.86 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Carpenter Training in Kansas

The cities below have the highest concentration of carpenter training programs and population centers within Kansas. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Carpenter in Kansas

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in Kansas

In Kansas, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Kansas Registered Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Carpenter Careers in Kansas

Carpenters construct, install, and repair building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials.

In Kansas, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $56,960, about 5,210 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.84 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Carpenter Wages and Workforce in Kansas

In Kansas, Carpenter programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $56,960 per year, and most earn between $38,860 and $88,090 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Kansas employs roughly 5,210 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.84 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Kansas include Salina Area Technical College, Washburn Institute of Technology, and Fort Hays State University-Northwest Kansas Technical College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Carpenter Training and Licensing in Kansas

Licensing for Carpenter varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Kansas licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does carpenter training in Kansas involve?

Carpenter training in Kansas is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do carpenters earn in Kansas?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), carpenters in Kansas earned a median annual wage of approximately $56,960. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $38,860 to $88,090 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Kansas license or certification process for carpenters?

Licensing for carpenter work is handled at the state level in Kansas. Consult Kansas's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)