Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Lexington, Kentucky (2026)

The best patient access representative programs near Lexington, Kentucky pair focused training with a state median wage of about $32,940 a year for patient access representatives (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most students finish a 3-to-9-month patient access or medical office certificate, or start directly with employer training; the voluntary NAHAM CHAA credential can come with experience.

Patient access representatives register patients, verify insurance coverage, schedule appointments, and manage front-desk operations in hospitals and clinics. Training typically covers insurance verification, scheduling systems, medical terminology, and HIPAA.

Key Facts

  • Kentucky median wage: $32,940/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Job outlook: +0% with ~128,500 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • Kentucky employment: 9,290 patient access representatives (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Kentucky location quotient: 0.79 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Typical program length: 6-12 months (certificate) to 2 years (associate) (Source: IPEDS, 2024)

Patient Access Representative Schools near Lexington

Compare patient access representative schools near Lexington

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from Lexington, Kentucky.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
162.3Contact school for pricing$33,78487%234 mi
257.4Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedYes*203 mi
357.1Contact school for pricing$33,01869%Yes*147 mi
450.7Contact school for pricing$59,23518%Yes*77 mi
547.1Contact school for pricing$42,517Not reported147 mi
641.5Contact school for pricing$47,29941%222 mi
737.4Contact school for pricing$29,537Not reported23 mi
829.9Contact school for pricing$33,67754%178 mi

Schools closest to Lexington, Kentucky are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from Lexington, Kentucky is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 8 schools within 234 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 8 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Buckeye Joint Vocational School

New Philadelphia, OH 234.3 miles away BOC Score 62.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 87.4%
  • Programs offered: 20
  • Annual completions: 130
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,784 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

West Virginia Junior College-Charleston

Cross Lanes, WV 147.2 miles away BOC Score 57.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
  • 5514 Big Tyler Road Suite 200 Cross Lanes, WV 25313-1304
  • (304) 769-0011
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 68.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 7
  • Annual completions: 52
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,018 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Cincinnati State Technical and Community College

Cincinnati, OH 76.8 miles away BOC Score 50.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 18.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 72
  • Annual completions: 1354
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $59,235 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Danville Area Community College

Danville, IL 221.5 miles away BOC Score 41.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 41.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 67
  • Annual completions: 523
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,299 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Medical Career & Technical College

Richmond, KY 23.3 miles away BOC Score 37.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 7
  • Annual completions: 189
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $29,537 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Remington College-Nashville Campus

Nashville, TN 178.4 miles away BOC Score 29.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 53.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 15
  • Annual completions: 296
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,677 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Lexington, Kentucky (2026)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Lexington, Kentucky (2026) (College Scorecard)Cincinnati State Technical and Community College $59235; Danville Area Community College $47299; Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville $42517; Buckeye Joint Vocational School $33784; Remington College-Nashville Campus $33677; West Virginia Junior College-Charleston $33018.Cincinnati State Technical a...$59,235Danville Area Community Coll...$47,299Tennessee College of Applied...$42,517Buckeye Joint Vocational Sch...$33,784Remington College-Nashville ...$33,677West Virginia Junior College...$33,018
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Lexington, Kentucky (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Cincinnati State Technical and Community College$59,235
Danville Area Community College$47,299
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville$42,517
Buckeye Joint Vocational School$33,784
Remington College-Nashville Campus$33,677
West Virginia Junior College-Charleston$33,018

Patient Access Representative Pay and Job Outlook

Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Receptionists and Information Clerks
Receptionists and Information Clerks annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $28760, P25 $33960, P50 $38010, P75 $45130, P90 $49950.10th$28,76025th$33,96050th (median)$38,01075th$45,13090th$49,950
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Receptionists and Information Clerks annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$28,760
25th$33,960
50th (median)$38,010
75th$45,130
90th$49,950
Projected employment growth, United States, Receptionists and Information Clerks, 2024-2034
Receptionists and Information Clerks employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 1.0072e+06; 2034 projected employment 1.0076e+06.20241,007,200 jobs2034 (proj.)1,007,600 jobs
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Receptionists and Information Clerks employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
20241,007,200
2034 projected1,007,600

Kentucky Patient Access Representative Quick Facts

Patient-Access-Representative Salary in U.S.

Median Salary $38,010 $18.27/hr
Average Salary $39,460 $18.97/hr

Salary Range

$28,760 10th pctl
$38,010 Median
$49,950 90th pctl
10th Percentile $28,760 $13.83/hr
25th Percentile $33,960 $16.33/hr
75th Percentile $45,130 $21.70/hr
90th Percentile $49,950 $24.01/hr

Employment & Outlook

Total Employed910,180
Growth (2024-2034)0.0%
Annual Openings128,500
Jobs per 1,0005.9

Receptionists and Information Clerks (43-4171) • BLS OEWS, May 2025 • bls.gov/oes

How to Start a Patient Access Representative Career in Kentucky

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Customer service and office experience are helpful.

  2. Complete patient access or medical office training. Short certificate programs typically cover insurance verification, scheduling, terminology, and privacy rules (HIPAA).

  3. Learn your employer’s systems. Health systems provide paid on-the-job training in their registration and EHR software.

  4. Consider the NAHAM CHAA credential. The Certified Healthcare Access Associate is a voluntary mark of competence in the field.

  5. Advance in the revenue cycle. Experienced representatives may move into lead, supervisor, financial counseling, or billing roles.

No. No license is required to work in patient access. The National Association of Healthcare Access Management (NAHAM) offers the voluntary Certified Healthcare Access Associate (CHAA) credential, which some employers value.

Pathways into the Field

Common entry paths are direct hire with employer training, a short patient access or medical office certificate, or transfer from another customer service role. Skills transfer across every part of the healthcare industry.

What You Study

  • Patient registration and check-in workflows
  • Insurance verification and authorizations
  • Scheduling and EHR systems
  • Medical terminology basics
  • HIPAA and patient privacy

Tips for Choosing a Patient Access Representative Program

  • Confirm accreditation and how recognized the credential is with employers.
  • Look for hands-on training in EHR system exposure, externship placement, and employer partnerships.
  • Compare flexible schedules (day/evening/online) that match your availability.
  • Ask about job-search support with local employers.
  • Review certification-prep resources and post-completion support.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does patient access representative training take near Lexington?

Certificate programs in patient access and medical front office work typically run 3 to 9 months. Many representatives instead start with a high school diploma and paid on-the-job training in their employer's registration systems.

How much do patient access representatives earn in Kentucky?

According to BLS OEWS (May 2025), patient access representatives in Kentucky earned a median annual wage of about $32,940. Pay varies with experience, employer, and specialization. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $23,720 to $44,270 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

How many patient access representative schools are near Lexington?

The schools listed above are within driving distance of Lexington. Compare them by tuition, program length, BOC Score, and the credential each one awards.

Do patient access representatives need a license?

No. No license is required to work in patient access. The National Association of Healthcare Access Management (NAHAM) offers the voluntary Certified Healthcare Access Associate (CHAA) credential, which some employers value.

In Kentucky

Next Steps


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)