Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana

Compare accredited Plumber schools across Louisiana below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 5 schools within 241 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 5 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Pensacola State College

Pensacola, FL 175.2 miles away BOC Score 61.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 90
  • Annual completions: 1840
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,937 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Radford M Locklin Technical College

Milton, FL 183.7 miles away BOC Score 57.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 466
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $31,056 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Hinds Community College

Raymond, MS 160.7 miles away BOC Score 53.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 70
  • Annual completions: 2718
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,042 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

SOWELA Technical Community College

Lake Charles, LA 185.7 miles away BOC Score 49.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
  • 3820 Senator J. Bennett Johnston Ave Lake Charles, LA 70615
  • (337) 421-6565
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 2424
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $60,488 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Lamar Institute of Technology

Beaumont, TX 241.1 miles away BOC Score 48.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 45
  • Annual completions: 1222
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $59,945 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Plumber Schools in Louisiana

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Louisiana.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
161.5Contact school for pricing$45,937Not reportedYes*175 mi
257.2Contact school for pricing$31,056Not reported184 mi
353.6Contact school for pricing$40,042Not reportedYes*161 mi
449.8Contact school for pricing$60,488Not reportedYes*186 mi
548.0Contact school for pricing$59,945Not reportedYes*241 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Louisiana are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Louisiana is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Plumber Schools in Louisiana
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana (College Scorecard)SOWELA Technical Community College $60488; Lamar Institute of Technology $59945; Pensacola State College $45937; Hinds Community College $40042; Radford M Locklin Technical College $31056.SOWELA Technical Community C...$60,488Lamar Institute of Technology$59,945Pensacola State College$45,937Hinds Community College$40,042Radford M Locklin Technical ...$31,056
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
SOWELA Technical Community College$60,488
Lamar Institute of Technology$59,945
Pensacola State College$45,937
Hinds Community College$40,042
Radford M Locklin Technical College$31,056

Plumber Pay and Job Outlook

Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters annual wage by percentile: $44,150 at the 10th percentile, $63,800 median, $108,420 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters: 504,500 jobs in 2024 to 527,200 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters - District of Columbia leads at $101,020. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters

Louisiana Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$63,680BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment8,360 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.44BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate5.0%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$39.89/hr ($26.5 base + $13.39 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Plumber Training in Louisiana

The cities below have the highest concentration of plumber training programs and population centers within Louisiana. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Licensed Plumber in Louisiana

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options typically include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete the required classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass the state or local licensing exam where required.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required.

In Louisiana, CareerOneStop reports state-recognized credentials such as the Radiologic Technologist for this trade (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor).

State Wage and Employment

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports approximately 8,360 plumbers working in Louisiana as of May 2025, earning a median annual wage of approximately $63,680 (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025). Louisiana’s location quotient of 1.44 indicates jobs in this trade are more concentrated than the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Apprenticeships in Louisiana

In Louisiana, registered apprenticeships are listed through the Louisiana Registered Apprenticeship Division (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years. United Association (UA) of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry sponsors registered apprenticeships in nearly every state.

Federal Prevailing Wage in Louisiana

Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage rates set the minimum hourly compensation on most federally funded construction projects. As of 2026, the active general wage determination for this trade in Louisiana lists $39.89/hr total compensation ($26.50 base + $13.39 fringe) (DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026).

Find Plumber Programs Across Louisiana

The cities below have local plumber program directories. Click any city to compare schools nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions

Do plumbers need a license in Louisiana?

Licensing requirements for plumbers vary across Louisiana. CareerOneStop and the relevant state agency publish current credential lists; verify scope and exam rules before applying.

How long does plumber training take in Louisiana?

Typical certificate programs run 6 to 12 months, associate degrees take about 2 years, and registered apprenticeships generally last 3 to 5 years while paying on-the-job wages.

What is the median wage for plumbers in Louisiana?

BLS reports a median annual wage of approximately $63,680 for this occupation in Louisiana (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Wages vary by experience, employer, and metro area.

Plumber Wages and Workforce in Louisiana

In Louisiana, Plumber programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $63,680 per year, and most earn between $38,120 and $79,540 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Louisiana employs roughly 8,360 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.44 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Louisiana include Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College, and SOWELA Technical Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Plumber Training and Licensing in Louisiana

Licensing for Plumber varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Louisiana licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does plumber training in Louisiana involve?

Plumber training in Louisiana is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do plumbers earn in Louisiana?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), plumbers in Louisiana earned a median annual wage of approximately $63,680. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $38,120 to $79,540 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Louisiana license or certification process for plumbers?

Licensing for plumber work is handled at the state level in Louisiana. Consult Louisiana's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)