Best Welding Schools in Louisiana (2026)

Compare accredited Welder schools across Louisiana below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Welder Schools in Louisiana

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 120 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Southwest Mississippi Community College

Summit, MS 95.1 miles away BOC Score 64.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 48.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 30
  • Annual completions: 286
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $27,408 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Pearl River Community College

Poplarville, MS 69.3 miles away BOC Score 52.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 58
  • Annual completions: 1100
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,603 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Perkinston, MS 79.9 miles away BOC Score 51.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 75
  • Annual completions: 1909
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,103 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

River Parishes Community College

Gonzales, LA 54.0 miles away BOC Score 46.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 23
  • Annual completions: 757
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $62,593 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Fletcher Technical Community College

Schriever, LA 46.6 miles away BOC Score 45.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 48
  • Annual completions: 1270
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $53,749 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Nunez Community College

Chalmette, LA 6.6 miles away BOC Score 44.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 22.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 39
  • Annual completions: 1212
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,555 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Baton Rouge Community College

Baton Rouge, LA 72.3 miles away BOC Score 43.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 48
  • Annual completions: 948
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,313 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Delgado Community College

New Orleans, LA 3.1 miles away BOC Score 41.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 22.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 85
  • Annual completions: 2367
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,141 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Northshore Technical Community College

Lacombe, LA 26.2 miles away BOC Score 41.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 40
  • Annual completions: 3504
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $37,814 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

South Louisiana Community College

Lafayette, LA 119.8 miles away BOC Score 40.6
Tuition $4,210 - $19,044
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 30.2%
  • Programs offered: 49
  • Annual completions: 3437
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,336 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Welder Schools in Louisiana

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Louisiana.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
164.8Contact school for pricing$27,40848%Yes*95 mi
252.2Contact school for pricing$43,603Not reportedYes*69 mi
351.3Contact school for pricing$44,103Not reportedYes*80 mi
446.0Contact school for pricing$62,593Not reportedYes*54 mi
545.6Contact school for pricing$53,749Not reportedYes*47 mi
644.3Contact school for pricing$48,55523%Yes*7 mi
743.7Contact school for pricing$45,313Not reportedYes*72 mi
841.7Contact school for pricing$48,14123%Yes*3 mi
941.6Contact school for pricing$37,814Not reportedYes*26 mi
1040.6$4,210 - $19,044$45,33630%Yes*120 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Louisiana are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Louisiana is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Welder Schools in Louisiana
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Welding Schools in Louisiana (2026) (College Scorecard)River Parishes Community College $62593; Fletcher Technical Community College $53749; Nunez Community College $48555; Delgado Community College $48141; South Louisiana Community College $45336; Baton Rouge Community College $45313.River Parishes Community Col...$62,593Fletcher Technical Community...$53,749Nunez Community College$48,555Delgado Community College$48,141South Louisiana Community Co...$45,336Baton Rouge Community College$45,313
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Welding Schools in Louisiana (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
River Parishes Community College$62,593
Fletcher Technical Community College$53,749
Nunez Community College$48,555
Delgado Community College$48,141
South Louisiana Community College$45,336
Baton Rouge Community College$45,313

Welder Pay and Job Outlook

Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers annual wage by percentile: $39,240 at the 10th percentile, $53,750 median, $77,530 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers: 457,300 jobs in 2024 to 467,200 in 2034, +2.2% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers
Top-paying states for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers - Alaska leads at $80,840. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers

Louisiana Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$62,250BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment13,690 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient2.64BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate5.0%BLS LAUS (2024)

Top Cities for Welder Training in Louisiana

The cities below have the highest concentration of welder training programs and population centers within Louisiana. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Welder in Louisiana

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in Louisiana

In Louisiana, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Louisiana Registered Apprenticeship Division (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Welding Careers in Louisiana

Welders join metal parts using heat, pressure, and filler material in construction, manufacturing, shipbuilding, and pipeline work.

In Louisiana, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $62,250, about 13,690 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 2.64 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Welder Wages and Workforce in Louisiana

In Louisiana, Welder programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $62,250 per year, and most earn between $42,810 and $81,750 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Louisiana employs roughly 13,690 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 2.64 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Louisiana include Central Louisiana Technical Community College, Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College, and SOWELA Technical Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Welder Training and Licensing in Louisiana

Licensing for Welder varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Louisiana licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does welder training in Louisiana involve?

Welder training in Louisiana is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do welders earn in Louisiana?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), welders in Louisiana earned a median annual wage of approximately $62,250. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $42,810 to $81,750 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Louisiana license or certification process for welders?

Licensing for welder work is handled at the state level in Louisiana. Consult Louisiana's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)