Best Trade Schools in Hyattsville, Maryland (2026)

Start here to compare accredited trade schools near Hyattsville. This guide links to programs, state licensing steps, and related career paths so you can get job-ready quickly in Maryland.


How to Get Started in Hyattsville

  • Compare schools and program lengths above
  • Check your state licensing steps: Maryland
  • Explore careers: Skilled trades hub
  • Ask each school about tuition, schedules, and embedded certifications (EPA 608, NCCER, ASE)

Compare Trade Schools Near Hyattsville, Maryland

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 9 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

University of Maryland-College Park

College Park, MD 1.7 miles away BOC Score 89.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 88.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 13
  • Annual completions: 659
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $84,365 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Capitol Technology University

Laurel, MD 8.0 miles away BOC Score 59.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 44.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 27
  • Annual completions: 190
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $104,028 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Washington Adventist University

Takoma Park, MD 3.0 miles away BOC Score 55.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 33.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 9
  • Annual completions: 24
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $74,717 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Prince George's Community College

Largo, MD 8.8 miles away BOC Score 48.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 21.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 37
  • Annual completions: 827
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $62,100 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

University of Maryland Global Campus

Adelphi, MD 1.8 miles away BOC Score 41.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 31.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 13
  • Annual completions: 4758
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $87,025 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Fortis College-Landover

Landover, MD 4.7 miles away BOC Score 37.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 8
  • Annual completions: 379
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,605 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Hair Academy II

Hillcrest Heights, MD 8.9 miles away BOC Score 35.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
  • Iverson Mall, 3705 Branch Avenue, Lower Level Hillcrest Heights, MD 20748-1401
  • (301) 459-2509
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 5
  • Annual completions: 213
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $24,923 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Strayer University-Maryland

Suitland, MD 9.4 miles away BOC Score 21.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 28.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 13
  • Annual completions: 153
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $68,449 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Hair Academy

New Carrollton, MD 4.5 miles away BOC Score 20.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 56.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 5
  • Annual completions: 184
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $25,713 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Montgomery Beauty School

Silver Spring, MD 4.6 miles away BOC Score 19.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 57.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 3
  • Annual completions: 58
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $26,088 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Maryland.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
148.7Contact school for pricing$62,10022%Yes*9 mi
237.9Contact school for pricing$39,605Not reported5 mi
335.7Contact school for pricing$24,923Not reported9 mi
420.4Contact school for pricing$25,71357%4 mi
519.9Contact school for pricing$26,08857%5 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Maryland are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Maryland is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Hyattsville, Maryland (2026)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Hyattsville, Maryland (2026) (College Scorecard)Prince George's Community College $62100; Fortis College-Landover $39605; Montgomery Beauty School $26088; Hair Academy $25713; Hair Academy II $24923.Prince George's Community Co...$62,100Fortis College-Landover$39,605Montgomery Beauty School$26,088Hair Academy$25,713Hair Academy II$24,923
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Hyattsville, Maryland (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Prince George's Community College$62,100
Fortis College-Landover$39,605
Montgomery Beauty School$26,088
Hair Academy$25,713
Hair Academy II$24,923

Maryland Trade Career Outlook

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Plumber4.5%
Carpenter4.5%
Welder2.2%
Flooring Installer9.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%
Dog Trainer5.1%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Paralegal0.2%
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%
Bookkeeper-5.8%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.


Next Steps


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)