Best Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts (2026)

Compare accredited Carpenter schools across Massachusetts below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 263 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 9 of them carry a score. 1 does not have enough federal outcome data to score, and appears last rather than being hidden.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

North Bennet Street School

Boston, MA 0.3 miles away BOC Score 65.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 93.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 5
  • Annual completions: 64
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $57,182 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

SUNY College of Technology at Delhi

Delhi, NY 197.6 miles away BOC Score 65.4
Tuition $8,772 - $26,944
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 89.0%
  • Graduation rate: 46.8%
  • Programs offered: 49
  • Annual completions: 656
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,927 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Johnson College

Scranton, PA 243.8 miles away BOC Score 61.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 51.1% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 25
  • Annual completions: 232
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $51,602 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Orleans Technical College

Philadelphia, PA 258.4 miles away BOC Score 60.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 88.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 15
  • Annual completions: 731
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,804 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Ocean County Vocational-Technical School

Toms River, NJ 231.2 miles away BOC Score 59.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 67.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 38
  • Annual completions: 461
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,510 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Mohawk Valley Community College

Utica, NY 216.8 miles away BOC Score 55.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 36.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 625
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,913 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Hudson County Community College

Jersey City, NJ 191.8 miles away BOC Score 38.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 24.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 31
  • Annual completions: 438
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,020 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem

Bethlehem, PA 254.9 miles away
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 76.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 9
  • Annual completions: 132
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,189 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Massachusetts.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
165.8Contact school for pricing$57,18293%0 mi
265.4$8,772 - $26,944$56,92747%Yes*198 mi
361.2Contact school for pricing$51,60251%244 mi
461.2Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported254 mi
560.4Contact school for pricing$48,80489%258 mi
659.5Contact school for pricing$42,51068%231 mi
755.3Contact school for pricing$45,91336%Yes*217 mi
838.8Contact school for pricing$44,02024%Yes*192 mi
9Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported263 mi
10Not ratedContact school for pricing$55,18977%255 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Massachusetts are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Massachusetts is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts (2026) (College Scorecard)North Bennet Street School $57182; SUNY College of Technology at Delhi $56927; Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem $55189; Johnson College $51602; Orleans Technical College $48804; Mohawk Valley Community College $45913.North Bennet Street School$57,182SUNY College of Technology a...$56,927Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem$55,189Johnson College$51,602Orleans Technical College$48,804Mohawk Valley Community Coll...$45,913
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
North Bennet Street School$57,182
SUNY College of Technology at Delhi$56,927
Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem$55,189
Johnson College$51,602
Orleans Technical College$48,804
Mohawk Valley Community College$45,913

Carpenter Pay and Job Outlook

Carpenters annual wage by percentile: $40,410 at the 10th percentile, $60,580 median, $99,910 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What carpenters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for carpenters: 959,000 jobs in 2024 to 1,002,100 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for carpenters
Top-paying states for carpenters - Hawaii leads at $85,280. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for carpenters

Massachusetts Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$75,200BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment18,540 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.18BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate4.3%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$67.18/hr ($39.28 base + $27.9 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Carpenter Training in Massachusetts

The cities below have the highest concentration of carpenter training programs and population centers within Massachusetts. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Carpenter in Massachusetts

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Massachusetts Division of Apprentice Training (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Carpenter Careers in Massachusetts

Carpenters construct, install, and repair building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials.

In Massachusetts, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $75,200, about 18,540 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 1.18 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Carpenter Wages and Workforce in Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, Carpenter programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $75,200 per year, and most earn between $48,230 and $122,880 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Massachusetts employs roughly 18,540 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.18 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Massachusetts include North Bennet Street School. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Carpenter Training and Licensing in Massachusetts

Licensing for Carpenter varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Massachusetts licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does carpenter training in Massachusetts involve?

Carpenter training in Massachusetts is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do carpenters earn in Massachusetts?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), carpenters in Massachusetts earned a median annual wage of approximately $75,200. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $48,230 to $122,880 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Massachusetts license or certification process for carpenters?

Licensing for carpenter work is handled at the state level in Massachusetts. Consult Massachusetts's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)