Best Carpenter Schools in Michigan (2026)

Compare accredited Carpenter schools across Michigan below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Carpenter Schools in Michigan

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 234 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 9 of them carry a score. 1 does not have enough federal outcome data to score, and appears last rather than being hidden.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Northwestern Michigan College

Traverse City, MI 210.9 miles away BOC Score 59.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 24.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 53
  • Annual completions: 212
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $58,811 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Columbus State Community College

Columbus, OH 163.2 miles away BOC Score 56.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 28.1% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 84
  • Annual completions: 3133
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,681 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Macomb Community College

Warren, MI 12.6 miles away BOC Score 51.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 17.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 89
  • Annual completions: 1327
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,529 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Oakland Community College

Auburn Hills, MI 23.6 miles away BOC Score 48.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 19.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 91
  • Annual completions: 1099
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $53,677 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Southwestern Michigan College

Dowagiac, MI 157.6 miles away BOC Score 48.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 34
  • Annual completions: 179
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,001 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Lansing Community College

Lansing, MI 81.8 miles away BOC Score 48.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 23.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 86
  • Annual completions: 1717
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,314 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Cuyahoga Community College District

Cleveland, OH 90.8 miles away BOC Score 47.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 29.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 97
  • Annual completions: 2818
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,698 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Indiana County Technology Center

Indiana, PA 234.1 miles away BOC Score 45.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 72.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 24
  • Annual completions: 67
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,623 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Community College of Allegheny County

Pittsburgh, PA 203.7 miles away BOC Score 40.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 23.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 74
  • Annual completions: 1817
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,519 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Triangle Tech Inc-Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh, PA 203.4 miles away
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 13
  • Annual completions: 154
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $41,698 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Carpenter Schools in Michigan

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Michigan.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
159.8Contact school for pricing$58,81125%Yes*211 mi
256.1Contact school for pricing$52,68128%Yes*163 mi
351.8Contact school for pricing$50,52917%Yes*13 mi
448.9Contact school for pricing$53,67719%Yes*24 mi
548.6Contact school for pricing$46,001Not reportedYes*158 mi
648.5Contact school for pricing$56,31424%Yes*82 mi
747.6Contact school for pricing$49,69830%Yes*91 mi
845.5Contact school for pricing$40,62373%234 mi
940.9Contact school for pricing$54,51924%Yes*204 mi
10Not ratedContact school for pricing$41,698Not reported203 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Michigan are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Michigan is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Carpenter Schools in Michigan
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Carpenter Schools in Michigan (2026) (College Scorecard)Northwestern Michigan College $58811; Lansing Community College $56314; Community College of Allegheny County $54519; Oakland Community College $53677; Columbus State Community College $52681; Macomb Community College $50529.Northwestern Michigan College$58,811Lansing Community College$56,314Community College of Alleghe...$54,519Oakland Community College$53,677Columbus State Community Col...$52,681Macomb Community College$50,529
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Carpenter Schools in Michigan (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Northwestern Michigan College$58,811
Lansing Community College$56,314
Community College of Allegheny County$54,519
Oakland Community College$53,677
Columbus State Community College$52,681
Macomb Community College$50,529

Carpenter Pay and Job Outlook

Carpenters annual wage by percentile: $40,410 at the 10th percentile, $60,580 median, $99,910 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What carpenters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for carpenters: 959,000 jobs in 2024 to 1,002,100 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for carpenters
Top-paying states for carpenters - Hawaii leads at $85,280. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for carpenters

Michigan Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$61,680BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment18,590 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.98BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate5.8%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$57.87/hr ($36.76 base + $21.11 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Carpenter Training in Michigan

The cities below have the highest concentration of carpenter training programs and population centers within Michigan. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Carpenter in Michigan

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam. In Michigan, the relevant credential is the Residential Builder (CareerOneStop, 2025).
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Carpenter Licensing in Michigan

The licenses below are reported by CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) for carpenter-related work in Michigan:

  • Residential Builder

License names and requirements are sourced from the CareerOneStop License Finder. Verify current rules with the issuing agency before applying.

Apprenticeship Programs in Michigan

In Michigan, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Michigan Workforce Development - Registered Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Carpenter Careers in Michigan

Carpenters construct, install, and repair building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials.

In Michigan, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $61,680, about 18,590 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.98 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Carpenter Wages and Workforce in Michigan

In Michigan, Carpenter programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $61,680 per year, and most earn between $44,550 and $81,860 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Michigan employs roughly 18,590 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.98 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Michigan include Gogebic Community College, Northwestern Michigan College, and Macomb Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Carpenter Training and Licensing in Michigan

Licensing for Carpenter varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Michigan licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does carpenter training in Michigan involve?

Carpenter training in Michigan is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do carpenters earn in Michigan?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), carpenters in Michigan earned a median annual wage of approximately $61,680. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $44,550 to $81,860 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Michigan license or certification process for carpenters?

Licensing for carpenter work is handled at the state level in Michigan. Consult Michigan's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)