Best Medical Transcription Programs in Michigan (2026)
Michigan medical transcriptionists earn a median of $37,280 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited medical transcription programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below.
Key Facts
- Michigan median wage: $37,280/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
- Pay range (10th-90th pct): $30,840 - $49,670 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
- Projected growth (2024-2034): -4.9%, ~7,400 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
- Michigan employment: 1,130 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.96 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025) Sponsored - request program info
Compare Medical Transcription Programs in Michigan
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kishwaukee College | 66.2 | $4,560 - $13,901 | $49,273 | 42% | Yes* | 234 mi |
| 2 | Alpena Community College | 59.9 | $5,250 - $12,246 | $44,378 | 51% | — | 141 mi |
| 3 | Madison Area Technical College | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,207 | 28% | Yes* | 236 mi |
| 4 | Schoolcraft Community College District | 57.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,981 | Not reported | Yes* | 83 mi |
| 5 | Spoon River College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $35,368 | 42% | Yes* | 336 mi |
| 6 | Joliet Junior College | 55.1 | $4,530 - $13,800 | $51,121 | 21% | Yes* | 217 mi |
| 7 | Highland Community College | 54.8 | Contact school for pricing | $48,834 | Not reported | Yes* | 264 mi |
| 8 | Richland Community College | 53.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,785 | 52% | Yes* | 319 mi |
| 9 | Lake Land College | 53.4 | $4,415 - $14,301 | $48,594 | 56% | — | 327 mi |
| 10 | College of DuPage | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,984 | 25% | — | 199 mi |
Schools closest to the main population center in Michigan are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Michigan is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
| School | Median graduate earnings |
|---|---|
| College of DuPage | $55,984 |
| Madison Area Technical College | $55,207 |
| Delta College | $52,169 |
| Richland Community College | $51,785 |
| Joliet Junior College | $51,121 |
| Kishwaukee College | $49,273 |
| Percentile | Annual wage |
|---|---|
| 10th | $28,250 |
| 25th | $34,150 |
| 50th (median) | $40,410 |
| 75th | $48,000 |
| 90th | $55,950 |
| Year | Employment |
|---|---|
| 2024 | 43,900 |
| 2034 projected | 41,800 |
| Percent change | -4.9% |
| Metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| State median annual wage | $37,280 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| Pay range (10th to 90th percentile) | $30,840 to $49,670 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| State employment | 1,130 workers | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| State location quotient | 0.96 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| National job outlook (2024-2034) | -4.9% growth, ~7,400 openings/yr | BLS Employment Projections |
How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Michigan
These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.
- Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
- Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a medical transcription program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
- Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
- Pass any required Michigan exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
- Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.
Apprenticeships and Training Pathways
Many medical transcriptionists in Michigan train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.
What You Study
Medical Transcription Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.
Choosing a Medical Transcriptionist School in Michigan
Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info
## Frequently Asked QuestionsHow long does medical transcriptionist training take in Michigan?
Most medical transcription programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.
How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Michigan?
According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), medical transcriptionists in Michigan earned a median annual wage of about $37,280. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $30,840 to $49,670 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
Do I need a license or certification in Michigan?
Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.
What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists?
The BLS projects employment of medical transcriptionists to change about -4.9% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 7,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.
How much do medical transcription programs cost in Michigan?
Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.
Related guides
In Michigan
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Michigan
- Best HVAC Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Michigan
- Best Plumbing Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Michigan
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does medical transcriptionist training take in Michigan?
Most medical transcription programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.
How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Michigan?
According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), medical transcriptionists in Michigan earned a median annual wage of about $37,280. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $30,840 to $49,670 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
Do I need a license or certification in Michigan?
Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.
What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists?
The BLS projects employment of medical transcriptionists to change about -4.9% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 7,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.
How much do medical transcription programs cost in Michigan?
Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |