Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Michigan (2026)

Michigan receptionists and information clerks earn a median of $37,470 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited patient access representative programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below.

Key Facts

  • Michigan median wage: $37,470/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Pay range (10th-90th pct): $29,480 - $48,280 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Projected growth (2024-2034): +0.0%, ~128,500 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • Michigan employment: 25,230 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.98 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025) Sponsored - request program info

Compare Patient Access Representative Programs in Michigan

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Michigan.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
157.3Contact school for pricing$48,981Not reportedYes*83 mi
253.5Contact school for pricing$30,378Not reported150 mi
352.2Contact school for pricing$53,22317%Yes*74 mi
449.9Contact school for pricing$48,13125%Yes*87 mi
548.9Contact school for pricing$53,67719%Yes*82 mi
647.2Contact school for pricing$47,47630%Yes*78 mi
744.2Contact school for pricing$44,58427%Yes*148 mi
842.6Contact school for pricing$48,71037%Yes*150 mi
938.4Contact school for pricing$34,40548%Yes*116 mi
1023.9Contact school for pricing$63,48057%122 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Michigan are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Michigan is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Patient Access Representative Programs in Michigan
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Michigan (2026) (College Scorecard)Athena Career Academy $63480; Oakland Community College $53677; Jackson College $53223; Schoolcraft Community College District $48981; Terra State Community College $48710; Kalamazoo Valley Community College $48131.Athena Career Academy$63,480Oakland Community College$53,677Jackson College$53,223Schoolcraft Community Colleg...$48,981Terra State Community College$48,710Kalamazoo Valley Community C...$48,131
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Michigan (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Athena Career Academy$63,480
Oakland Community College$53,677
Jackson College$53,223
Schoolcraft Community College District$48,981
Terra State Community College$48,710
Kalamazoo Valley Community College$48,131
## Patient Access Representative Pay and Job Outlook in Michigan Median pay and the projected job outlook for receptionists and information clerks are shown below, sourced from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS May 2025; Employment Projections 2024-2034).
Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Receptionists and Information Clerks
Receptionists and Information Clerks annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $28760, P25 $33960, P50 $38010, P75 $45130, P90 $49950.10th$28,76025th$33,96050th (median)$38,01075th$45,13090th$49,950
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Receptionists and Information Clerks annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$28,760
25th$33,960
50th (median)$38,010
75th$45,130
90th$49,950
Projected employment growth, United States, Receptionists and Information Clerks, 2024-2034
Receptionists and Information Clerks employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 1.0072e+06; 2034 projected employment 1.0076e+06.20241,007,200 jobs2034 (proj.)1,007,600 jobs
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Receptionists and Information Clerks employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
20241,007,200
2034 projected1,007,600
### Michigan Quick Facts
MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$37,470BLS OEWS, May 2025
Pay range (10th to 90th percentile)$29,480 to $48,280BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment25,230 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.98BLS OEWS, May 2025
National job outlook (2024-2034)+0.0% growth, ~128,500 openings/yrBLS Employment Projections

How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Michigan

These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.

  1. Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
  2. Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a patient access representative program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
  3. Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
  4. Pass any required Michigan exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
  5. Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.

Apprenticeships and Training Pathways

Many patient access representatives in Michigan train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.

What You Study

Patient Access Representative Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.

Choosing a Patient Access Representative School in Michigan

Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info

## Frequently Asked Questions

How long does patient access representative training take in Michigan?

Most patient access representative programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do patient access representatives earn in Michigan?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), receptionists and information clerks in Michigan earned a median annual wage of about $37,470. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $29,480 to $48,280 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Michigan?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for patient access representatives?

The BLS projects employment of receptionists and information clerks to change about +0.0% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 128,500 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do patient access representative programs cost in Michigan?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.

In Michigan

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does patient access representative training take in Michigan?

Most patient access representative programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do patient access representatives earn in Michigan?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), receptionists and information clerks in Michigan earned a median annual wage of about $37,470. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $29,480 to $48,280 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Michigan?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for patient access representatives?

The BLS projects employment of receptionists and information clerks to change about +0.0% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 128,500 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do patient access representative programs cost in Michigan?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)