Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi (2026)

Compare accredited Carpenter schools across Mississippi below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 192 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Southwest Mississippi Community College

Summit, MS 72.1 miles away BOC Score 64.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 48.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 30
  • Annual completions: 286
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $27,408 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Hinds Community College

Raymond, MS 13.8 miles away BOC Score 53.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 70
  • Annual completions: 2718
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,042 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Meridian Community College

Meridian, MS 84.9 miles away BOC Score 50.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 60
  • Annual completions: 893
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,810 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

East Central Community College

Decatur, MS 63.6 miles away BOC Score 46.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 37.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 38
  • Annual completions: 297
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $36,389 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Fletcher Technical Community College

Schriever, LA 180.4 miles away BOC Score 45.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 48
  • Annual completions: 1270
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $53,749 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

East Arkansas Community College

Forrest City, AR 192.5 miles away BOC Score 44.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 49.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 643
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,176 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Coahoma Community College

Clarksdale, MS 136.9 miles away BOC Score 44.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 39.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 47
  • Annual completions: 832
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $31,140 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Baton Rouge Community College

Baton Rouge, LA 139.6 miles away BOC Score 43.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 48
  • Annual completions: 948
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,313 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Delgado Community College

New Orleans, LA 159.8 miles away BOC Score 41.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 22.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 85
  • Annual completions: 2367
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,141 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

South Louisiana Community College

Lafayette, LA 181.1 miles away BOC Score 40.6
Tuition $4,210 - $19,044
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 30.2%
  • Programs offered: 49
  • Annual completions: 3437
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,336 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Carpenter Schools in Mississippi

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Mississippi.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
164.8Contact school for pricing$27,40848%Yes*72 mi
253.6Contact school for pricing$40,042Not reportedYes*14 mi
350.6Contact school for pricing$50,810Not reportedYes*85 mi
446.4Contact school for pricing$36,38938%64 mi
545.6Contact school for pricing$53,749Not reportedYes*180 mi
644.3Contact school for pricing$42,17649%Yes*192 mi
744.1Contact school for pricing$31,14039%Yes*137 mi
843.7Contact school for pricing$45,313Not reportedYes*140 mi
941.7Contact school for pricing$48,14123%Yes*160 mi
1040.6$4,210 - $19,044$45,33630%Yes*181 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Mississippi are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Mississippi is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Carpenter Schools in Mississippi
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi (2026) (College Scorecard)Fletcher Technical Community College $53749; Meridian Community College $50810; Delgado Community College $48141; South Louisiana Community College $45336; Baton Rouge Community College $45313; East Arkansas Community College $42176.Fletcher Technical Community...$53,749Meridian Community College$50,810Delgado Community College$48,141South Louisiana Community Co...$45,336Baton Rouge Community College$45,313East Arkansas Community Coll...$42,176
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Fletcher Technical Community College$53,749
Meridian Community College$50,810
Delgado Community College$48,141
South Louisiana Community College$45,336
Baton Rouge Community College$45,313
East Arkansas Community College$42,176

Carpenter Pay and Job Outlook

Carpenters annual wage by percentile: $40,410 at the 10th percentile, $60,580 median, $99,910 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What carpenters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for carpenters: 959,000 jobs in 2024 to 1,002,100 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for carpenters
Top-paying states for carpenters - Hawaii leads at $85,280. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for carpenters

Mississippi Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$48,650BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment2,950 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.59BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.7%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$16.13/hr ($16.13 base + $0.0 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Carpenter Training in Mississippi

The cities below have the highest concentration of carpenter training programs and population centers within Mississippi. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Carpenter in Mississippi

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in Mississippi

In Mississippi, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Carpenter Careers in Mississippi

Carpenters construct, install, and repair building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials.

In Mississippi, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $48,650, about 2,950 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.59 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Carpenter Wages and Workforce in Mississippi

In Mississippi, Carpenter programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $48,650 per year, and most earn between $34,670 and $63,440 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Mississippi employs roughly 2,950 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.59 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Mississippi include Southwest Mississippi Community College, Hinds Community College, and Meridian Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Carpenter Training and Licensing in Mississippi

Licensing for Carpenter varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Mississippi licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does carpenter training in Mississippi involve?

Carpenter training in Mississippi is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do carpenters earn in Mississippi?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), carpenters in Mississippi earned a median annual wage of approximately $48,650. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $34,670 to $63,440 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Mississippi license or certification process for carpenters?

Licensing for carpenter work is handled at the state level in Mississippi. Consult Mississippi's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)