Best Electrician Schools in Mississippi

Compare accredited Electrician schools across Mississippi below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Electrician Schools in Mississippi

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 84 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Southwest Mississippi Community College

Summit, MS 72.1 miles away BOC Score 64.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 48.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 30
  • Annual completions: 286
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $27,408 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Copiah-Lincoln Community College

Wesson, MS 43.9 miles away BOC Score 63.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 50.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 53
  • Annual completions: 444
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $36,902 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Hinds Community College

Raymond, MS 13.8 miles away BOC Score 53.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 70
  • Annual completions: 2718
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,042 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Holmes Community College

Goodman, MS 49.0 miles away BOC Score 53.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 50
  • Annual completions: 708
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,984 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

East Central Community College

Decatur, MS 63.6 miles away BOC Score 46.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 37.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 38
  • Annual completions: 297
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $36,389 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Jones County Junior College

Ellisville, MS 75.4 miles away BOC Score 45.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 47
  • Annual completions: 1233
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $36,340 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Mississippi Delta Community College

Moorhead, MS 81.2 miles away BOC Score 41.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 36
  • Annual completions: 381
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $37,960 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

University of Southern Mississippi

Hattiesburg, MS 83.5 miles away BOC Score 39.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 49.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 17
  • Annual completions: 456
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,593 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Mississippi Valley State University

Itta Bena, MS 83.0 miles away BOC Score 36.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 5
  • Annual completions: 31
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,972 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Jackson State University

Jackson, MS 1.3 miles away BOC Score 27.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 9
  • Annual completions: 132
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,606 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Electrician Schools in Mississippi

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Mississippi.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
164.8Contact school for pricing$27,40848%Yes*72 mi
263.6Contact school for pricing$36,90251%Yes*44 mi
353.6Contact school for pricing$40,042Not reportedYes*14 mi
453.5Contact school for pricing$39,984Not reportedYes*49 mi
546.4Contact school for pricing$36,38938%64 mi
645.6Contact school for pricing$36,340Not reportedYes*75 mi
741.8Contact school for pricing$37,960Not reportedYes*81 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Mississippi are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Mississippi is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Electrician Schools in Mississippi
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Electrician Schools in Mississippi (College Scorecard)Hinds Community College $40042; Holmes Community College $39984; Mississippi Delta Community College $37960; Copiah-Lincoln Community College $36902; East Central Community College $36389; Jones County Junior College $36340.Hinds Community College$40,042Holmes Community College$39,984Mississippi Delta Community ...$37,960Copiah-Lincoln Community Col...$36,902East Central Community College$36,389Jones County Junior College$36,340
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Electrician Schools in Mississippi
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Hinds Community College$40,042
Holmes Community College$39,984
Mississippi Delta Community College$37,960
Copiah-Lincoln Community College$36,902
East Central Community College$36,389
Jones County Junior College$36,340

Electrician Pay and Job Outlook

Electricians annual wage by percentile: $42,640 at the 10th percentile, $63,190 median, $108,510 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What electricians earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for electricians: 818,700 jobs in 2024 to 896,100 in 2034, +9.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for electricians
Top-paying states for electricians - Oregon leads at $101,310. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for electricians

Mississippi Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$60,860BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment6,610 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.17BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.7%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$42.94/hr ($28.8 base + $14.14 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Electrician Training in Mississippi

The cities below have the highest concentration of electrician training programs and population centers within Mississippi. Click through for school listings near each:

If you want to work as an electrician in Mississippi, your first step is to get the right training. Electricians work in every type of building, homes, offices, factories, and more. The work is steady, but you need skills, safety knowledge, and a license to do it legally.

Here’s how to get started and where to find the best electrician schools in Mississippi.

How to Become a Licensed Electrician in Mississippi

The state does not have a single electrician license for all work. Different cities and counties set their own rules for local work. However, Mississippi requires a state-level electrical contractor license if you will work on projects over a certain value for the public.

In general, the steps to start your career are:

  1. Complete an electrical training program at a trade school, community college, or through an apprenticeship.
  2. Work as an electrical apprentice under a licensed electrician to get hands-on experience.
  3. Meet your local or state experience requirements for licensing.
  4. Pass required exams on electrical codes and safety (usually the NEC, National Electrical Code).
  5. Apply for your license with the local jurisdiction or the Mississippi State Board of Contractors (for larger projects).

Mississippi state rule: The Mississippi State Board of Contractors requires an Electrical Contractor’s license for public projects over 0,000 and private projects over 00,000. You must show proof of experience and pass a trade exam.1

Things to Look for in an Electrician Training Program

When comparing electrician schools in Mississippi, focus on:

  • Accreditation by a recognized agency
  • Hands-on training labs with up-to-date equipment
  • Courses covering the NEC code
  • career assistance or apprenticeship connections
  • Flexible schedules if you plan to work while training

Alternative Training: Apprenticeships

You can also go the apprenticeship route instead of a traditional classroom program. Many electricians train this way and earn while they learn.

Groups like the Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) Mississippi Chapter or local International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) unions run state-approved apprenticeship programs. These generally last 4 years and combine classroom sessions with paid work experience.

Licensing and Safety Requirements

Besides school and experience, Mississippi electricians must know the National Electrical Code and follow OSHA safety guidelines on the job.

Safety reminder: OSHA requires employers to train workers in electrical safety, lockout/tagout procedures, and personal protective equipment before starting electrical work.2

Keeping your OSHA training and NEC knowledge up to date will help you pass exams and keep you. and others. safe.

Is a Trade School or Apprenticeship Better?

Both options can get you to the same spot, ready to apply for licensing.

  • Trade School: Good if you want structured learning, modern labs, and a diploma.
  • Apprenticeship: Good if you want to get paid while training and don’t mind learning on the job.

Some people even combine both, taking a short trade program first, then joining an apprenticeship with stronger skills.

Final Tips

Choose a school with instructors who have recent field experience. Ask about graduate job outcomes data and opportunities to connect with local contractors. Visit the campus if you can to see the labs in person.

If possible, line up your first job or apprenticeship before you graduate. That way, you move straight from training into the required work hours for licensing.

Next Step

Here’s what to do next:

  • Visit the websites of the schools above
  • Compare tuition, program length, and location
  • Contact admissions and ask about upcoming start dates
  • Apply early to secure a spot

With the right training from a Mississippi electrician school or apprenticeship, you can start building skills that will keep you in steady work for years to come.


Electrician Wages and Workforce in Mississippi

In Mississippi, Electrician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $60,860 per year, and most earn between $38,200 and $76,540 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Mississippi employs roughly 6,610 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.17 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Mississippi include Southwest Mississippi Community College, Copiah-Lincoln Community College, and Itawamba Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Electrician Training and Licensing in Mississippi

Licensing for Electrician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Mississippi licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does electrician training in Mississippi involve?

Electrician training in Mississippi is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do electricians earn in Mississippi?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), electricians in Mississippi earned a median annual wage of approximately $60,860. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $38,200 to $76,540 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Mississippi license or certification process for electricians?

Licensing for electrician work is handled at the state level in Mississippi. Consult Mississippi's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Mississippi State Board of Contractors - https://www.msboc.us ↩︎

  2. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) - https://www.osha.gov ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)