Best LPN Programs in Mississippi (2026)

Mississippi licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses earn a median of $50,220 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited lpn programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below.

Key Facts

  • Mississippi median wage: $50,220/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Pay range (10th-90th pct): $39,320 - $60,910 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Projected growth (2024-2034): +2.6%, ~54,400 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • Mississippi employment: 9,850 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Location quotient: 2.03 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025) Sponsored - request program info

Compare LPN Programs in Mississippi

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Mississippi.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
164.8Contact school for pricing$27,40848%Yes*118 mi
263.6Contact school for pricing$36,90251%Yes*92 mi
363.0Contact school for pricing$41,849Not reportedYes*121 mi
457.7Contact school for pricing$42,02244%Yes*58 mi
553.6Contact school for pricing$40,042Not reportedYes*65 mi
653.5Contact school for pricing$39,984Not reportedYes*28 mi
750.6Contact school for pricing$50,810Not reportedYes*52 mi
846.4Contact school for pricing$36,38938%32 mi
945.6Contact school for pricing$36,340Not reportedYes*83 mi
1044.1Contact school for pricing$31,14039%Yes*120 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Mississippi are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Mississippi is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at LPN Programs in Mississippi
Median graduate earnings by school, Best LPN Programs in Mississippi (2026) (College Scorecard)Meridian Community College $50810; Shelton State Community College $50082; East Mississippi Community College $42022; Itawamba Community College $41849; Hinds Community College $40042; Holmes Community College $39984.Meridian Community College$50,810Shelton State Community Coll...$50,082East Mississippi Community C...$42,022Itawamba Community College$41,849Hinds Community College$40,042Holmes Community College$39,984
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best LPN Programs in Mississippi (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Meridian Community College$50,810
Shelton State Community College$50,082
East Mississippi Community College$42,022
Itawamba Community College$41,849
Hinds Community College$40,042
Holmes Community College$39,984
## Nursing LPN Pay and Job Outlook in Mississippi Median pay and the projected job outlook for licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses are shown below, sourced from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS May 2025; Employment Projections 2024-2034).
Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $49740, P25 $59000, P50 $64400, P75 $76030, P90 $83440.10th$49,74025th$59,00050th (median)$64,40075th$76,03090th$83,440
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$49,740
25th$59,000
50th (median)$64,400
75th$76,030
90th$83,440
Projected employment growth, United States, Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses, 2024-2034
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 651400; 2034 projected employment 668500; percent change +2.6%.2024651,400 jobs2034 (proj.)668,500 jobsChange: +2.6%
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
2024651,400
2034 projected668,500
Percent change+2.6%
### Mississippi Quick Facts
MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$50,220BLS OEWS, May 2025
Pay range (10th to 90th percentile)$39,320 to $60,910BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment9,850 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient2.03BLS OEWS, May 2025
National job outlook (2024-2034)+2.6% growth, ~54,400 openings/yrBLS Employment Projections

How to Become a Nursing Lpn in Mississippi

These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.

  1. Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
  2. Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a lpn program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
  3. Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
  4. Pass any required Mississippi exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
  5. Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.

Apprenticeships and Training Pathways

Many nursing lpns in Mississippi train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.

What You Study

LPN Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.

Choosing a Nursing Lpn School in Mississippi

Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info

## Frequently Asked Questions

How long does nursing lpn training take in Mississippi?

Most lpn programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do nursing lpns earn in Mississippi?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses in Mississippi earned a median annual wage of about $50,220. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $39,320 to $60,910 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Mississippi?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for nursing lpns?

The BLS projects employment of licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses to change about +2.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 54,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do lpn programs cost in Mississippi?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.

In Mississippi

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does nursing lpn training take in Mississippi?

Most lpn programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do nursing lpns earn in Mississippi?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses in Mississippi earned a median annual wage of about $50,220. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $39,320 to $60,910 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Mississippi?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for nursing lpns?

The BLS projects employment of licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses to change about +2.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 54,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do lpn programs cost in Mississippi?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)