Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Mississippi (2026)
Mississippi receptionists and information clerks earn a median of $31,160 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited patient access representative programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below.
Key Facts
- Mississippi median wage: $31,160/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
- Pay range (10th-90th pct): $22,310 - $42,990 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
- Projected growth (2024-2034): +0.0%, ~128,500 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
- Mississippi employment: 6,920 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.02 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025) Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Access Representative Programs in Mississippi
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Concorde Career College-Southaven | 44.0 | Contact school for pricing | $34,501 | 66% | — | 155 mi |
| 2 | Delta College Inc | 37.4 | Contact school for pricing | $32,032 | Not reported | — | 163 mi |
| 3 | Delta College of Arts & Technology | 36.8 | Contact school for pricing | $35,243 | Not reported | — | 186 mi |
| 4 | Concorde Career College-Memphis | 36.0 | Contact school for pricing | $34,501 | 53% | — | 164 mi |
| 5 | Southeast Arkansas College | 35.4 | Contact school for pricing | $42,328 | 22% | Yes* | 177 mi |
| 6 | Medical Training College | 32.7 | Contact school for pricing | $29,675 | Not reported | — | 187 mi |
| 7 | Delta College-Slidell Campus | 31.6 | Contact school for pricing | $32,032 | 58% | — | 172 mi |
| 8 | Unitech Training Academy-Alexandria | 28.0 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 61% | — | 202 mi |
| 9 | Unitech Training Academy-West Monroe | 27.8 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 65% | — | 155 mi |
| 10 | Unitech Training Academy-Baton Rouge | 22.8 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 53% | — | 187 mi |
Schools closest to the main population center in Mississippi are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Mississippi is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
| School | Median graduate earnings |
|---|---|
| Southeast Arkansas College | $42,328 |
| Delta College of Arts & Technology | $35,243 |
| Concorde Career College-Southaven | $34,501 |
| Concorde Career College-Memphis | $34,501 |
| Remington College-Memphis Campus | $33,677 |
| Delta College Inc | $32,032 |
| Percentile | Annual wage |
|---|---|
| 10th | $28,760 |
| 25th | $33,960 |
| 50th (median) | $38,010 |
| 75th | $45,130 |
| 90th | $49,950 |
| Year | Employment |
|---|---|
| 2024 | 1,007,200 |
| 2034 projected | 1,007,600 |
| Metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| State median annual wage | $31,160 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| Pay range (10th to 90th percentile) | $22,310 to $42,990 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| State employment | 6,920 workers | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| State location quotient | 1.02 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| National job outlook (2024-2034) | +0.0% growth, ~128,500 openings/yr | BLS Employment Projections |
How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Mississippi
These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.
- Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
- Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a patient access representative program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
- Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
- Pass any required Mississippi exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
- Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.
Apprenticeships and Training Pathways
Many patient access representatives in Mississippi train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.
What You Study
Patient Access Representative Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.
Choosing a Patient Access Representative School in Mississippi
Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info
## Frequently Asked QuestionsHow long does patient access representative training take in Mississippi?
Most patient access representative programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.
How much do patient access representatives earn in Mississippi?
According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), receptionists and information clerks in Mississippi earned a median annual wage of about $31,160. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $22,310 to $42,990 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
Do I need a license or certification in Mississippi?
Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.
What is the job outlook for patient access representatives?
The BLS projects employment of receptionists and information clerks to change about +0.0% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 128,500 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.
How much do patient access representative programs cost in Mississippi?
Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.
Related guides
In Mississippi
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Mississippi
- Best HVAC Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Mississippi
- Best Plumbing Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Mississippi
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does patient access representative training take in Mississippi?
Most patient access representative programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.
How much do patient access representatives earn in Mississippi?
According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), receptionists and information clerks in Mississippi earned a median annual wage of about $31,160. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $22,310 to $42,990 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
Do I need a license or certification in Mississippi?
Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.
What is the job outlook for patient access representatives?
The BLS projects employment of receptionists and information clerks to change about +0.0% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 128,500 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.
How much do patient access representative programs cost in Mississippi?
Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |