Best Plumbing Schools in Mississippi (2026)

Compare accredited Plumber schools across Mississippi below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Plumber Schools in Mississippi

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 227 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Pensacola State College

Pensacola, FL 216.2 miles away BOC Score 61.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 90
  • Annual completions: 1840
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,937 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Radford M Locklin Technical College

Milton, FL 214.6 miles away BOC Score 57.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 466
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $31,056 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College

Minden, LA 180.6 miles away BOC Score 56.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 27
  • Annual completions: 1546
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,119 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Hinds Community College

Raymond, MS 13.8 miles away BOC Score 53.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 70
  • Annual completions: 2718
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $40,042 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Arkansas State University Three Rivers

Malvern, AR 209.3 miles away BOC Score 53.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 30.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 48
  • Annual completions: 1063
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,964 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Northwest Shoals Community College

Muscle Shoals, AL 222.0 miles away BOC Score 51.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 35.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 39
  • Annual completions: 1336
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,546 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

SOWELA Technical Community College

Lake Charles, LA 227.2 miles away BOC Score 49.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
  • 3820 Senator J. Bennett Johnston Ave Lake Charles, LA 70615
  • (337) 421-6565
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 2424
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $60,488 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

William R Moore College of Technology

Memphis, TN 196.8 miles away BOC Score 39.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 48.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 15
  • Annual completions: 327
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,641 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Lawson State Community College

Birmingham, AL 207.1 miles away BOC Score 38.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 26.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 43
  • Annual completions: 463
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,506 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Plumber Schools in Mississippi

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Mississippi.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
161.5Contact school for pricing$45,937Not reportedYes*216 mi
257.2Contact school for pricing$31,056Not reported215 mi
356.4Contact school for pricing$46,119Not reportedYes*181 mi
453.6Contact school for pricing$40,042Not reportedYes*14 mi
553.0Contact school for pricing$33,96430%Yes*209 mi
651.7Contact school for pricing$45,54636%Yes*222 mi
749.8Contact school for pricing$60,488Not reportedYes*227 mi
839.6Contact school for pricing$46,64149%197 mi
938.3Contact school for pricing$44,50626%Yes*207 mi
109.3Contact school for pricingNot reported17%222 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Mississippi are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Mississippi is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Plumber Schools in Mississippi
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Plumbing Schools in Mississippi (2026) (College Scorecard)SOWELA Technical Community College $60488; William R Moore College of Technology $46641; Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College $46119; Pensacola State College $45937; Northwest Shoals Community College $45546; Lawson State Community College $44506.SOWELA Technical Community C...$60,488William R Moore College of T...$46,641Northwest Louisiana Technica...$46,119Pensacola State College$45,937Northwest Shoals Community C...$45,546Lawson State Community College$44,506
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Plumbing Schools in Mississippi (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
SOWELA Technical Community College$60,488
William R Moore College of Technology$46,641
Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College$46,119
Pensacola State College$45,937
Northwest Shoals Community College$45,546
Lawson State Community College$44,506

Plumber Pay and Job Outlook

Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters annual wage by percentile: $44,150 at the 10th percentile, $63,800 median, $108,420 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters: 504,500 jobs in 2024 to 527,200 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters - District of Columbia leads at $101,020. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters

Mississippi Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$55,480BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment3,360 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.96BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.7%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$41.88/hr ($30.41 base + $11.47 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Plumber Training in Mississippi

The cities below have the highest concentration of plumber training programs and population centers within Mississippi. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Plumber in Mississippi

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in Mississippi

In Mississippi, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Plumbing Careers in Mississippi

Plumbers install and repair piping systems for water supply, drainage, and gas distribution in residential, commercial, and industrial settings.

In Mississippi, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $55,480, about 3,360 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.96 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Plumber Wages and Workforce in Mississippi

In Mississippi, Plumber programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $55,480 per year, and most earn between $35,830 and $75,470 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Mississippi employs roughly 3,360 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.96 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Mississippi include Hinds Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Plumber Training and Licensing in Mississippi

Licensing for Plumber varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Mississippi licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does plumber training in Mississippi involve?

Plumber training in Mississippi is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do plumbers earn in Mississippi?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), plumbers in Mississippi earned a median annual wage of approximately $55,480. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $35,830 to $75,470 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Mississippi license or certification process for plumbers?

Licensing for plumber work is handled at the state level in Mississippi. Consult Mississippi's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)