Best Plumbing Schools in Nebraska (2026)

Compare accredited Plumber schools across Nebraska below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Plumber Schools in Nebraska

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 243 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Northeast Community College

Norfolk, NE 93.9 miles away BOC Score 71.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 55.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 815
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,390 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Washburn Institute of Technology

Topeka, KS 153.1 miles away BOC Score 71.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 65.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 1756
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,774 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Southeast Technical College

Sioux Falls, SD 165.5 miles away BOC Score 69.7
Tuition $7,650 - $20,272
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 55.5%
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 1193
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $53,289 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Western Iowa Tech Community College

Sioux City, IA 87.1 miles away BOC Score 57.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 44.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 57
  • Annual completions: 2406
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,713 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Kirkwood Community College

Cedar Rapids, IA 225.7 miles away BOC Score 56.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 71
  • Annual completions: 1775
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,663 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Southeast Community College Area

Lincoln, NE 47.5 miles away BOC Score 55.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 35.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 89
  • Annual completions: 2293
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,277 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Johnson County Community College

Overland Park, KS 173.3 miles away BOC Score 55.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 30.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 64
  • Annual completions: 2912
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,956 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Iowa Western Community College

Council Bluffs, IA 7.4 miles away BOC Score 48.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 53
  • Annual completions: 1205
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $51,139 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Metropolitan Community College Area

Omaha, NE 0.3 miles away BOC Score 46.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 27.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 72
  • Annual completions: 2891
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $53,376 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Butler Community College

El Dorado, KS 242.8 miles away BOC Score 44.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 31.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 60
  • Annual completions: 633
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,569 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Plumber Schools in Nebraska

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Nebraska.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.4Contact school for pricing$49,39056%Yes*94 mi
271.0Contact school for pricing$56,77466%Yes*153 mi
369.7$7,650 - $20,272$53,28956%Yes*166 mi
457.6Contact school for pricing$47,71344%Yes*87 mi
556.3Contact school for pricing$48,663Not reportedYes*226 mi
655.6Contact school for pricing$54,27736%Yes*48 mi
755.0Contact school for pricing$52,95630%Yes*173 mi
848.3Contact school for pricing$51,139Not reportedYes*7 mi
946.7Contact school for pricing$53,37627%Yes*0 mi
1044.9Contact school for pricing$46,56931%Yes*243 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Nebraska are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Nebraska is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Plumber Schools in Nebraska
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Plumbing Schools in Nebraska (2026) (College Scorecard)Washburn Institute of Technology $56774; Southeast Community College Area $54277; Metropolitan Community College Area $53376; Southeast Technical College $53289; Johnson County Community College $52956; Iowa Western Community College $51139.Washburn Institute of Techno...$56,774Southeast Community College ...$54,277Metropolitan Community Colle...$53,376Southeast Technical College$53,289Johnson County Community Col...$52,956Iowa Western Community College$51,139
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Plumbing Schools in Nebraska (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Washburn Institute of Technology$56,774
Southeast Community College Area$54,277
Metropolitan Community College Area$53,376
Southeast Technical College$53,289
Johnson County Community College$52,956
Iowa Western Community College$51,139

Plumber Pay and Job Outlook

Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters annual wage by percentile: $44,150 at the 10th percentile, $63,800 median, $108,420 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters: 504,500 jobs in 2024 to 527,200 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters - District of Columbia leads at $101,020. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters

Nebraska Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$60,970BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment4,110 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.34BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate2.7%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$61.16/hr ($44.26 base + $16.9 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Plumber Training in Nebraska

The cities below have the highest concentration of plumber training programs and population centers within Nebraska. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Plumber in Nebraska

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam. In Nebraska, the relevant credential is the Plumber (CareerOneStop, 2025).
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Plumbing Licensing in Nebraska

The licenses below are reported by CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) for plumbing-related work in Nebraska:

  • Plumber
  • Underground Storage Tank Occupations

License names and requirements are sourced from the CareerOneStop License Finder. Verify current rules with the issuing agency before applying.

Apprenticeship Programs in Nebraska

In Nebraska, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Nebraska Division of Employment and Training - Registered Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Plumbing Careers in Nebraska

Plumbers install and repair piping systems for water supply, drainage, and gas distribution in residential, commercial, and industrial settings.

In Nebraska, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $60,970, about 4,110 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 1.34 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Plumber Wages and Workforce in Nebraska

In Nebraska, Plumber programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $60,970 per year, and most earn between $42,830 and $98,030 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Nebraska employs roughly 4,110 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.34 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Nebraska include Northeast Community College, Southeast Community College Area, and Metropolitan Community College Area. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Plumber Training and Licensing in Nebraska

Licensing for Plumber varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Nebraska licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does plumber training in Nebraska involve?

Plumber training in Nebraska is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do plumbers earn in Nebraska?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), plumbers in Nebraska earned a median annual wage of approximately $60,970. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $42,830 to $98,030 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Nebraska license or certification process for plumbers?

Licensing for plumber work is handled at the state level in Nebraska. Consult Nebraska's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)