Best Electrician Schools in New Hampshire

Compare accredited Electrician schools across New Hampshire below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Electrician Schools in New Hampshire

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 48 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

University of New Hampshire at Manchester

Manchester, NH 0.9 miles away BOC Score 74.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 56.1% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 8
  • Annual completions: 87
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $71,253 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

University of Massachusetts-Lowell

Lowell, MA 24.6 miles away BOC Score 73.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 67.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 22
  • Annual completions: 1013
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $81,163 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Massachusetts Bay Community College

Wellesley Hills, MA 48.2 miles away BOC Score 58.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 16.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 44
  • Annual completions: 431
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,076 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Fitchburg State University

Fitchburg, MA 32.9 miles away BOC Score 57.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 53.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 23
  • Annual completions: 240
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $63,994 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

NHTI-Concord's Community College

Concord, NH 16.2 miles away BOC Score 56.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 34
  • Annual completions: 366
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,056 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Manchester Community College

Manchester, NH 2.2 miles away BOC Score 54.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 453
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,863 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Lakes Region Community College

Laconia, NH 35.5 miles away BOC Score 52.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 19
  • Annual completions: 140
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,311 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Northern Essex Community College

Haverhill, MA 24.8 miles away BOC Score 52.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 20.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 44
  • Annual completions: 258
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,743 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Nashua Community College

Nashua, NH 14.3 miles away BOC Score 49.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 29
  • Annual completions: 113
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,792 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

North Shore Community College

Danvers, MA 37.2 miles away BOC Score 46.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 17.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 46
  • Annual completions: 412
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,714 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Electrician Schools in New Hampshire

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in New Hampshire.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
158.1Contact school for pricing$56,07616%Yes*48 mi
256.4Contact school for pricing$55,056Not reportedYes*16 mi
354.0Contact school for pricing$44,863Not reportedYes*2 mi
452.5Contact school for pricing$49,311Not reported36 mi
552.4Contact school for pricing$52,74320%Yes*25 mi
649.0Contact school for pricing$54,792Not reportedYes*14 mi
746.7Contact school for pricing$54,71418%37 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in New Hampshire are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in New Hampshire is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Electrician Schools in New Hampshire
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Electrician Schools in New Hampshire (College Scorecard)Massachusetts Bay Community College $56076; NHTI-Concord's Community College $55056; Nashua Community College $54792; North Shore Community College $54714; Northern Essex Community College $52743; Lakes Region Community College $49311.Massachusetts Bay Community ...$56,076NHTI-Concord's Community Col...$55,056Nashua Community College$54,792North Shore Community College$54,714Northern Essex Community Col...$52,743Lakes Region Community College$49,311
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Electrician Schools in New Hampshire
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Massachusetts Bay Community College$56,076
NHTI-Concord's Community College$55,056
Nashua Community College$54,792
North Shore Community College$54,714
Northern Essex Community College$52,743
Lakes Region Community College$49,311

Electrician Pay and Job Outlook

Electricians annual wage by percentile: $42,640 at the 10th percentile, $63,190 median, $108,510 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What electricians earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for electricians: 818,700 jobs in 2024 to 896,100 in 2034, +9.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for electricians
Top-paying states for electricians - Oregon leads at $101,310. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for electricians

New Hampshire Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$62,840BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment3,330 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.00BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate2.5%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$59.04/hr ($36.12 base + $22.92 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

If you want to work as an electrician in New Hampshire, the first step is getting proper training. You can’t work as a licensed electrician in the state without completing the required education and apprenticeship hours. Choosing the right school will set the foundation for your entire career.

In New Hampshire, you can train at technical institutes, community colleges, and through apprenticeship programs. Many programs combine classroom learning with hands-on training so you’re comfortable working on real electrical systems before you’re on a job site.

Electrician Licensing Requirements in New Hampshire

Before picking a school, understand the state’s rules. The New Hampshire Electricians’ Board regulates licensing. You must meet specific education and supervised work requirements to qualify.

According to the state:

Applicants must complete at least 8,000 hours of supervised electrical work and 600 hours of approved classroom instruction to be eligible for the journeyman electrician exam. 1

Here’s the basic path:

  1. Enroll in an approved training program or apprenticeship.
  2. Work under a licensed electrician to gain on-the-job hours.
  3. Complete required classroom instruction covering electrical theory, code, and safety.
  4. Apply for the journeyman exam with documented hours and instruction.
  5. Pass the state exam to receive your license.

How to Choose the Right Program

When comparing electrician schools in New Hampshire, keep these points in mind:

  • State Approval: Make sure the program meets NH licensing standards.
  • Schedule Flexibility: Night and weekend options can help if you’re working.
  • Hands-On Focus: Prioritize programs with lab work and real-world practice.
  • Industry Connections: Schools linked to local contractors can speed career placement.

Steps After School

After completing your program:

  1. Track your apprenticeship hours. you need 8,000 total.
  2. Keep your classroom instruction records. 600 hours minimum.
  3. Apply for the journeyman exam with the Electricians’ Board.
    New Hampshire Electricians’ Board Official Site
  4. Pass the exam. study the NEC and state-specific rules.
  5. Start working as a licensed journeyman.

Final Thoughts

A good electrician school in New Hampshire will prepare you for both the technical work and the licensing process. Choose a program with solid hands-on training, experienced instructors, and a clear path to apprenticeship.

Here’s what to do next:

  • Research the schools above and verify current course offerings.
  • Contact admissions to confirm tuition costs and schedules.
  • Enroll in an approved program and start building your on-the-job hours.

The earlier you start, the sooner you can meet the requirements for electrician licensing in New Hampshire.


Electrician Wages and Workforce in New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, Electrician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $62,840 per year, and most earn between $43,190 and $91,850 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). New Hampshire employs roughly 3,330 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.00 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving New Hampshire include NHTI-Concord’s Community College, Manchester Community College, and Lakes Region Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Electrician Training and Licensing in New Hampshire

Licensing for Electrician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate New Hampshire licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does electrician training in New Hampshire involve?

Electrician training in New Hampshire is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do electricians earn in New Hampshire?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), electricians in New Hampshire earned a median annual wage of approximately $62,840. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $43,190 to $91,850 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the New Hampshire license or certification process for electricians?

Licensing for electricians in New Hampshire is administered by Office of Professional Licensure and Certification. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification - Electricians’ Board Licensing Requirements: https://www.oplc.nh.gov/electricians-board ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)