Best Carpenter Schools in New Jersey (2026)

Compare accredited Carpenter schools across New Jersey below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Carpenter Schools in New Jersey

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 91 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 9 of them carry a score. 1 does not have enough federal outcome data to score, and appears last rather than being hidden.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Williamson College of the Trades

Media, PA 87.3 miles away BOC Score 81.5
Tuition $31,611 - $37,263
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 21.9%
  • Graduation rate: 74.3%
  • Programs offered: 6
  • Annual completions: 106
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $79,194 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Johnson College

Scranton, PA 90.9 miles away BOC Score 61.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 51.1% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 25
  • Annual completions: 232
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $51,602 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Orleans Technical College

Philadelphia, PA 62.7 miles away BOC Score 60.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 88.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 15
  • Annual completions: 731
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,804 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Ocean County Vocational-Technical School

Toms River, NJ 51.9 miles away BOC Score 59.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 67.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 38
  • Annual completions: 461
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,510 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Delaware County Community College

Media, PA 83.4 miles away BOC Score 50.1
Tuition $6,930 - $15,540
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 22.2%
  • Programs offered: 48
  • Annual completions: 699
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,647 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Hudson County Community College

Jersey City, NJ 5.8 miles away BOC Score 38.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 24.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 31
  • Annual completions: 438
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,020 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Philadelphia Technician Training

Philadelphia, PA 69.4 miles away BOC Score 19.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 8
  • Annual completions: 540
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,267 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem

Bethlehem, PA 66.0 miles away
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 76.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 9
  • Annual completions: 132
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,189 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Carpenter Schools in New Jersey

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in New Jersey.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
181.5$31,611 - $37,263$79,19474%87 mi
261.2Contact school for pricing$51,60251%91 mi
361.2Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported60 mi
460.4Contact school for pricing$48,80489%63 mi
559.5Contact school for pricing$42,51068%52 mi
650.1$6,930 - $15,540$56,64722%Yes*83 mi
738.8Contact school for pricing$44,02024%Yes*6 mi
819.7Contact school for pricing$33,267Not reported69 mi
9Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported75 mi
10Not ratedContact school for pricing$55,18977%66 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in New Jersey are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in New Jersey is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Carpenter Schools in New Jersey
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Carpenter Schools in New Jersey (2026) (College Scorecard)Williamson College of the Trades $79194; Delaware County Community College $56647; Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem $55189; Johnson College $51602; Orleans Technical College $48804; Hudson County Community College $44020.Williamson College of the Tr...$79,194Delaware County Community Co...$56,647Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem$55,189Johnson College$51,602Orleans Technical College$48,804Hudson County Community Coll...$44,020
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Carpenter Schools in New Jersey (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Williamson College of the Trades$79,194
Delaware County Community College$56,647
Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem$55,189
Johnson College$51,602
Orleans Technical College$48,804
Hudson County Community College$44,020

Carpenter Pay and Job Outlook

Carpenters annual wage by percentile: $40,410 at the 10th percentile, $60,580 median, $99,910 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What carpenters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for carpenters: 959,000 jobs in 2024 to 1,002,100 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for carpenters
Top-paying states for carpenters - Hawaii leads at $85,280. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for carpenters

New Jersey Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$64,010BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment14,230 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.77BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate4.8%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$116.67/hr ($57.42 base + $59.25 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Carpenter Training in New Jersey

The cities below have the highest concentration of carpenter training programs and population centers within New Jersey. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Carpenter in New Jersey

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in New Jersey

In New Jersey, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development - Registered Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Carpenter Careers in New Jersey

Carpenters construct, install, and repair building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials.

In New Jersey, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $64,010, about 14,230 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.77 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Carpenter Wages and Workforce in New Jersey

In New Jersey, Carpenter programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $64,010 per year, and most earn between $43,680 and $121,490 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). New Jersey employs roughly 14,230 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.77 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving New Jersey include Burlington County Institute of Technology-Adult Education, Ocean County Vocational-Technical School, and Hudson County Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Carpenter Training and Licensing in New Jersey

Licensing for Carpenter varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate New Jersey licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does carpenter training in New Jersey involve?

Carpenter training in New Jersey is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do carpenters earn in New Jersey?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), carpenters in New Jersey earned a median annual wage of approximately $64,010. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $43,680 to $121,490 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the New Jersey license or certification process for carpenters?

Licensing for carpenter work is handled at the state level in New Jersey. Consult New Jersey's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)