Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina

Compare accredited Electrician schools across North Carolina below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 41 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Charlotte, NC 8.6 miles away BOC Score 72.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 68.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 23
  • Annual completions: 1289
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $65,370 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Stanly Community College

Albemarle, NC 35.2 miles away BOC Score 53.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 53.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 371
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,892 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Central Piedmont Community College

Charlotte, NC 1.0 miles away BOC Score 52.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 81
  • Annual completions: 5637
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,441 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Catawba Valley Community College

Hickory, NC 41.0 miles away BOC Score 50.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 48
  • Annual completions: 939
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,829 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Mitchell Community College

Statesville, NC 38.5 miles away BOC Score 50.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 22.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 34
  • Annual completions: 538
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,465 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Salisbury, NC 35.3 miles away BOC Score 47.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 32.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 50
  • Annual completions: 2086
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,916 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Cleveland Community College

Shelby, NC 36.8 miles away BOC Score 46.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 45
  • Annual completions: 837
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $41,985 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

South Piedmont Community College

Polkton, NC 39.0 miles away BOC Score 45.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 36.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 36
  • Annual completions: 313
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,657 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

York Technical College

Rock Hill, SC 22.0 miles away BOC Score 40.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 63
  • Annual completions: 1055
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,738 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Electrician Schools in North Carolina

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in North Carolina.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
153.1Contact school for pricing$44,89254%Yes*35 mi
252.6Contact school for pricing$48,441Not reportedYes*1 mi
351.1$3,186 - $16,866Not reported59%Yes*20 mi
450.4Contact school for pricing$44,829Not reportedYes*41 mi
550.2Contact school for pricing$43,46523%Yes*38 mi
647.2Contact school for pricing$43,91633%Yes*35 mi
746.6Contact school for pricing$41,985Not reportedYes*37 mi
845.0Contact school for pricing$46,65737%Yes*39 mi
940.4Contact school for pricing$47,738Not reported22 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in North Carolina are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in North Carolina is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Electrician Schools in North Carolina
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina (College Scorecard)Central Piedmont Community College $48441; York Technical College $47738; South Piedmont Community College $46657; Stanly Community College $44892; Catawba Valley Community College $44829; Rowan-Cabarrus Community College $43916.Central Piedmont Community C...$48,441York Technical College$47,738South Piedmont Community Col...$46,657Stanly Community College$44,892Catawba Valley Community Col...$44,829Rowan-Cabarrus Community Col...$43,916
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Central Piedmont Community College$48,441
York Technical College$47,738
South Piedmont Community College$46,657
Stanly Community College$44,892
Catawba Valley Community College$44,829
Rowan-Cabarrus Community College$43,916

Electrician Pay and Job Outlook

Electricians annual wage by percentile: $42,640 at the 10th percentile, $63,190 median, $108,510 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What electricians earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for electricians: 818,700 jobs in 2024 to 896,100 in 2034, +9.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for electricians
Top-paying states for electricians - Oregon leads at $101,310. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for electricians

North Carolina Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$56,800BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment21,640 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.90BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.8%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$28.08/hr ($22.15 base + $5.93 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Electrician Training in North Carolina

The cities below have the highest concentration of electrician training programs and population centers within North Carolina. Click through for school listings near each:

If you want to work as an electrician in North Carolina, training at a state‑approved school is the fastest way to get started. In North Carolina, you’ll need both hands‑on experience and classroom instruction before you can apply for a license. Choosing the right school now will set you up for a smoother path to that goal.

How Electrician Licensing Works in North Carolina

The North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors handles electrician licensing. They divide licenses into different classifications depending on the type and scale of electrical work.

State Rule: You must combine relevant work experience with approved electrical coursework before you can take the state exam.
Source: North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors

There are three main steps:

  1. Get electrical training at a technical school or community college.
  2. Work under a licensed electrician to build practical hours.
  3. Apply for and pass the state licensing exam.

Types of Electrician Licenses in North Carolina

North Carolina offers several classifications, but most new electricians start with one of these:

  • Limited License - For projects under a certain value and scope.
  • Intermediate License - For mid‑sized projects, requires more experience hours.
  • Unlimited License - No restrictions on job size, highest experience requirement.

For each level, you must document a minimum number of work hours and show proof of electrical coursework.

What to Look for When Choosing a School

When comparing programs, focus on:

  • Accreditation - The school should be accredited and recognized by the state.
  • State Exam Prep - Look for schools that include NEC study.
  • Lab Access - Hands‑on training is essential.
  • Scheduling Options - Evening or weekend classes can help if you’re already working.
  • Employer Connections - Some schools work directly with local electrical contractors.

Apprenticeships and On‑the‑Job Training

Most North Carolina electricians start in an apprenticeship role, either during or after school.

An apprenticeship combines:

  • Paid work under a licensed electrician.
  • Classroom training that counts toward licensing requirements.

Many schools partner with the Independent Electrical Contractors (IEC) or local unions to help place students into apprenticeships right after enrolling.

Licensing Exam Preparation

The state licensing exam covers:

  • National Electrical Code (latest edition)
  • State electrical laws and rules
  • Electrical theory and safety

Tip: Many community college programs integrate NEC exam preparation into the final semester so you’re ready to apply right away.

Steps to Start Your Electrician Career in North Carolina

  1. Decide on your career goal. Residential, commercial, or industrial work each has different demands.
  2. Choose a school from the list above that fits your location and schedule.
  3. Complete your training program. Earn a certificate, diploma, or degree.
  4. Secure an apprenticeship or trainee position to log required hours.
  5. Apply to the NC State Board for your license when eligible.
  6. Study and pass the state licensing exam.

Quick Licensing Requirements Table

License TypeExperience HoursEducation Requirement
Limited4,000 hoursApproved coursework
Intermediate6,000 hoursApproved coursework
Unlimited8,000 hoursApproved coursework

Note: Hours must be in electrical work, with at least half in commercial or industrial wiring for certain licenses.
Source: NCBEEC Licensing Classifications

Final Advice

North Carolina offers many excellent electrician training programs. If you choose one that’s recognized by the state and gives you hands‑on practice, you’ll meet the education requirement faster. Pair school with work experience under a licensed professional, and you’ll be ready for the state exam.

Here’s what you need to do next:
Find the closest college or trade school from the list above, talk to their program coordinator, and confirm their courses fulfill the licensing education requirement. The sooner you start, the sooner you can log your work hours and apply for your license.


Sources

Electrician Wages and Workforce in North Carolina

In North Carolina, Electrician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $56,800 per year, and most earn between $40,130 and $75,060 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). North Carolina employs roughly 21,640 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.90 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving North Carolina include Central Carolina Community College, Western Piedmont Community College, and Cape Fear Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Electrician Training and Licensing in North Carolina

Licensing for Electrician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate North Carolina licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does electrician training in North Carolina involve?

Electrician training in North Carolina is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do electricians earn in North Carolina?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), electricians in North Carolina earned a median annual wage of approximately $56,800. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $40,130 to $75,060 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the North Carolina license or certification process for electricians?

Licensing for electricians in North Carolina is administered by Operations. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)