Best Trade Schools in Butner, North Carolina (2026)

Start here to compare accredited trade schools near Butner. This guide links to programs, state licensing steps, and related career paths so you can get job-ready quickly in North Carolina.


How to Get Started in Butner

  • Compare schools and program lengths above
  • Check your state licensing steps: North Carolina
  • Explore careers: Skilled trades hub
  • Ask each school about tuition, schedules, and embedded certifications (EPA 608, NCCER, ASE)

Compare Trade Schools Near Butner, North Carolina

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 23 miles, nearest first in 25-mile distance bands, then by BOC Score inside each band with the highest at the top. 9 of them carry a score. 1 does not have enough federal outcome data to score, and appears last rather than being hidden.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC 22.7 miles away BOC Score 91.9
Tuition $8,994 in-state / $41,203 out-of-state
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 15.3%
  • Graduation rate: 91.2%
  • Programs offered: 7
  • Annual completions: 139
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $81,033 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Duke University

Durham, NC 14.0 miles away BOC Score 82.1
Tuition $68,758
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 5.7%
  • Graduation rate: 96.8%
  • Programs offered: 7
  • Annual completions: 564
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $115,722 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Durham Technical Community College

Durham, NC 12.8 miles away BOC Score 49.8
Tuition $1,986 in-state / $6,594 out-of-state
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 44.9%
  • Programs offered: 27
  • Annual completions: 375
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $57,868 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Aveda Institute-Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC 22.7 miles away BOC Score 48.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
  • 201 S. Estes Drive, Space 200 B Chapel Hill, NC 27514-7001
  • (919) 960-4769
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 81.8%
  • Programs offered: 3
  • Annual completions: 152
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $32,524 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

North Carolina Central University

Durham, NC 12.9 miles away BOC Score 46.1
Tuition $6,699 in-state / $19,735 out-of-state
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 87.0%
  • Graduation rate: 41.6%
  • Programs offered: 7
  • Annual completions: 203
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,812 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Gwinnett College

Raleigh, NC 21.0 miles away BOC Score 32.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 63.2%
  • Programs offered: 3
  • Annual completions: 52
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,989 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Miller-Motte College-Raleigh

Raleigh, NC 22.3 miles away BOC Score 28.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 79.0%
  • Programs offered: 5
  • Annual completions: 77
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $34,393 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Paul Mitchell the School-Raleigh

Raleigh, NC 16.9 miles away BOC Score 24.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 14.3%
  • Programs offered: 2
  • Annual completions: 42
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $31,577 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Elevate Salon Institute

Durham, NC 12.5 miles away
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
  • 300 East Main Street, #100 Durham, NC 27701-0000

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in North Carolina.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
1Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reported78%—12 mi
249.8$1,986 in-state / $6,594 out-of-state$57,86845%Yes*13 mi
348.3Contact school for pricing$32,52482%—23 mi
432.9Contact school for pricing$33,98963%—21 mi
528.0Contact school for pricing$34,39379%—22 mi
624.4Contact school for pricing$31,57714%—17 mi
7Elevate Salon InstituteNot ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported—12 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in North Carolina are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in North Carolina is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Butner, North Carolina (2026)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Butner, North Carolina (2026) (College Scorecard)Durham Technical Community College $57868; Miller-Motte College-Raleigh $34393; Gwinnett College $33989; Aveda Institute-Chapel Hill $32524; Paul Mitchell the School-Raleigh $31577.Durham Technical Community C...$57,868Miller-Motte College-Raleigh$34,393Gwinnett College$33,989Aveda Institute-Chapel Hill$32,524Paul Mitchell the School-Ral...$31,577
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Butner, North Carolina (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Durham Technical Community College$57,868
Miller-Motte College-Raleigh$34,393
Gwinnett College$33,989
Aveda Institute-Chapel Hill$32,524
Paul Mitchell the School-Raleigh$31,577

North Carolina Trade Career Outlook

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Plumber4.5%
Welder2.2%
Carpenter4.5%
Flooring Installer9.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Dog Trainer5.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%
Paralegal0.2%
Bookkeeper-5.8%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.


Next Steps


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)