Best Electrician Schools in Oklahoma

Compare accredited Electrician schools across Oklahoma below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Electrician Schools in Oklahoma

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 52 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Eastern Oklahoma County Technology Center

Choctaw, OK 14.6 miles away BOC Score 78.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 88.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 674
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,311 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Gordon Cooper Technology Center

Shawnee, OK 34.7 miles away BOC Score 75.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 84.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 47
  • Annual completions: 704
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,075 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Mid-America Technology Center

Wayne, OK 39.7 miles away BOC Score 74.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 92.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 46
  • Annual completions: 768
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,219 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus

Stillwater, OK 51.6 miles away BOC Score 68.1
Tuition $10,234 - $28,290
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 75.0%
  • Graduation rate: 67.0%
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 1116
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $65,492 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Moore Norman Technology Center

Norman, OK 13.8 miles away BOC Score 65.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 85.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 47
  • Annual completions: 917
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,499 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City

Oklahoma City, OK 3.7 miles away BOC Score 51.4
Tuition $3,779 - $12,881
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 14.0%
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 398
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,147 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Canadian Valley Technology Center

El Reno, OK 25.1 miles away BOC Score 48.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 53
  • Annual completions: 1415
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,081 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Metro Technology Centers

Oklahoma City, OK 3.1 miles away BOC Score 45.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 35.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 46
  • Annual completions: 1075
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,829 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Francis Tuttle Technology Center

Oklahoma City, OK 11.4 miles away BOC Score 39.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 75
  • Annual completions: 1508
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $36,657 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Meridian Technology Center

Stillwater, OK 49.7 miles away BOC Score 38.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 725
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,328 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Electrician Schools in Oklahoma

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Oklahoma.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
178.8Contact school for pricing$56,31189%15 mi
275.4Contact school for pricing$43,07585%35 mi
374.9Contact school for pricing$33,21993%40 mi
465.2Contact school for pricing$42,49986%14 mi
551.4$3,779 - $12,881$55,14714%Yes*4 mi
648.7Contact school for pricing$48,081Not reported25 mi
745.5Contact school for pricing$47,82936%3 mi
839.8Contact school for pricing$36,657Not reported11 mi
938.3Contact school for pricing$39,328Not reported50 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Oklahoma are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Oklahoma is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Electrician Schools in Oklahoma
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Electrician Schools in Oklahoma (College Scorecard)Eastern Oklahoma County Technology Center $56311; Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City $55147; Canadian Valley Technology Center $48081; Metro Technology Centers $47829; Gordon Cooper Technology Center $43075; Moore Norman Technology Center $42499.Eastern Oklahoma County Tech...$56,311Oklahoma State University-Ok...$55,147Canadian Valley Technology C...$48,081Metro Technology Centers$47,829Gordon Cooper Technology Cen...$43,075Moore Norman Technology Center$42,499
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Electrician Schools in Oklahoma
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Eastern Oklahoma County Technology Center$56,311
Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City$55,147
Canadian Valley Technology Center$48,081
Metro Technology Centers$47,829
Gordon Cooper Technology Center$43,075
Moore Norman Technology Center$42,499

Electrician Pay and Job Outlook

Electricians annual wage by percentile: $42,640 at the 10th percentile, $63,190 median, $108,510 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What electricians earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for electricians: 818,700 jobs in 2024 to 896,100 in 2034, +9.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for electricians
Top-paying states for electricians - Oregon leads at $101,310. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for electricians

Oklahoma Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$61,010BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment8,500 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.02BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.4%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$27.78/hr ($21.51 base + $6.27 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Electrician Training in Oklahoma

The cities below have the highest concentration of electrician training programs and population centers within Oklahoma. Click through for school listings near each:

If you want to work as an electrician in Oklahoma, the first step is the right training. The state requires formal education and supervised work before you can get licensed. Enrolling in a quality electrician school is the fastest way to get the skills and hours you need.

The schools listed here have programs recognized by Oklahoma licensing authorities and local employers. They cover electrical theory, wiring, safety, and the National Electrical Code (NEC). Most also include hands-on lab work and help you get an apprenticeship.

How Oklahoma Licenses Electricians

In Oklahoma, the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB) oversees electrician licensing. You must complete training, pass an exam, and meet work experience requirements.

According to the Oklahoma CIB, applicants for journeyman electrician must document at least 8,000 hours of verifiable experience, with a portion from classroom instruction.

The general steps are:

  1. Enroll in an approved electrical training program or apprenticeship.
  2. Gain work experience under a licensed electrician.
  3. Pass the state electrician examination.
  4. Apply for your license with the CIB.

Tip: Completing an accredited trade school program can count toward part of your required work hours.

Choosing the Right Electrician School

When comparing schools, look for:

  • State-approved programs that meet CIB requirements.
  • Hands-on training labs that simulate real job conditions.
  • Instructors with field experience and current licenses.
  • Partnerships with local contractors for apprenticeship placement.
  • Flexible scheduling if you plan to work while training.

Check graduation rates and career support. Individual outcomes may vary. A good school will connect you with employers.

Program Highlights

Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology (OSUIT)

  • Offers a two-year Associate in Applied Science degree.
  • Covers residential, commercial, and industrial electrical systems.
  • Prepares students for the state journeyman exam.

Tulsa Technology Center

  • Multiple start dates throughout the year.
  • Electrical Trades program includes NEC instruction, safety, and blueprint reading, per the school’s program description.
  • Connections with local contractors for apprenticeships.

Metro Technology Centers

  • Located in Oklahoma City.
  • Electrical Technician program focuses on wiring, circuits, and electrical math.
  • Offers adult and high school student enrollment.

Indian Capital Technology Center

  • Campuses in Muskogee, Sallisaw, Stilwell, and Tahlequah.
  • Emphasis on practical wiring skills and code compliance.
  • Prepares graduates for entry-level apprenticeship.

How long does Electrician in Oklahoma training take?

The time depends on your training path and work schedule.

Typical timeline:

  • Trade school only: 9-24 months for classroom training.
  • Apprenticeship: 3-4 years including on-the-job hours.
  • Total until Journeyman License: often 4 years.

Completing trade school first can reduce apprenticeship time because some class hours count toward CIB requirements.

Additional Licensing Details

The Oklahoma journeyman electrician exam covers:

  • National Electrical Code (NEC) knowledge.
  • Electrical theory and safety.
  • Wiring methods, load calculations, and equipment installation.

You must renew your license regularly and complete continuing education to stay current with code changes.

Safety Training

OSHA safety rules apply to all electrical work. Good schools will include OSHA 10 or OSHA 30 safety training in their curriculum. This not only keeps you safe but may make you more employable.

OSHA standards require electricians to use proper personal protective equipment (PPE) and follow lockout/tagout procedures to prevent accidental energizing of circuits.

Preparing for Enrollment

Before applying:

  • Gather your high school diploma or GED.
  • Request any transcripts from prior training.
  • Review the school’s accreditation and approvals.

Pro tip: If you already work in construction, your employer might sponsor your training or offer an apprenticeship.

Summary and Next Step

Oklahoma has multiple quality electrician schools that can set you on the path to a license. Your choice should fit your location, schedule, and career goals. Start by reviewing the programs above, then contact the schools directly for application requirements and start dates.

Once you’re enrolled, focus on two things: learning the trade in class and getting real work experience under a licensed electrician. That combination is what will get you licensed and working in the field.

For licensing requirements, visit the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board for official updates.


Electrician Wages and Workforce in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, Electrician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $61,010 per year, and most earn between $37,900 and $92,740 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Oklahoma employs roughly 8,500 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.02 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Oklahoma include Pontotoc Technology Center, Eastern Oklahoma County Technology Center, and Gordon Cooper Technology Center. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Electrician Training and Licensing in Oklahoma

Licensing for Electrician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Oklahoma licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does electrician training in Oklahoma involve?

Electrician training in Oklahoma is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do electricians earn in Oklahoma?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), electricians in Oklahoma earned a median annual wage of approximately $61,010. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $37,900 to $92,740 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Oklahoma license or certification process for electricians?

Licensing for electricians in Oklahoma is administered by Construction Industries Board. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)