Best HVAC Schools in Oklahoma (2026)

Compare accredited HVAC Technician schools across Oklahoma below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best HVAC Technician Schools in Oklahoma

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 52 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Eastern Oklahoma County Technology Center

Choctaw, OK 14.6 miles away BOC Score 78.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 88.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 674
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,311 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Gordon Cooper Technology Center

Shawnee, OK 34.7 miles away BOC Score 75.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 84.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 47
  • Annual completions: 704
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,075 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Mid-America Technology Center

Wayne, OK 39.7 miles away BOC Score 74.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 92.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 46
  • Annual completions: 768
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,219 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus

Stillwater, OK 51.6 miles away BOC Score 68.1
Tuition $10,234 - $28,290
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 75.0%
  • Graduation rate: 67.0%
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 1116
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $65,492 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Moore Norman Technology Center

Norman, OK 13.8 miles away BOC Score 65.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 85.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 47
  • Annual completions: 917
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,499 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Mid-Del Technology Center

Midwest City, OK 6.5 miles away BOC Score 54.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 67.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 27
  • Annual completions: 272
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $32,475 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Canadian Valley Technology Center

El Reno, OK 25.1 miles away BOC Score 48.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 53
  • Annual completions: 1415
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,081 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Metro Technology Centers

Oklahoma City, OK 3.1 miles away BOC Score 45.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 35.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 46
  • Annual completions: 1075
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,829 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Francis Tuttle Technology Center

Oklahoma City, OK 11.4 miles away BOC Score 39.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 75
  • Annual completions: 1508
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $36,657 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Meridian Technology Center

Stillwater, OK 49.7 miles away BOC Score 38.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 725
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,328 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare HVAC Technician Schools in Oklahoma

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Oklahoma.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
178.8Contact school for pricing$56,31189%15 mi
275.4Contact school for pricing$43,07585%35 mi
374.9Contact school for pricing$33,21993%40 mi
465.2Contact school for pricing$42,49986%14 mi
554.7Contact school for pricing$32,47568%6 mi
648.7Contact school for pricing$48,081Not reported25 mi
745.5Contact school for pricing$47,82936%3 mi
839.8Contact school for pricing$36,657Not reported11 mi
938.3Contact school for pricing$39,328Not reported50 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Oklahoma are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Oklahoma is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at HVAC Technician Schools in Oklahoma
Median graduate earnings by school, Best HVAC Schools in Oklahoma (2026) (College Scorecard)Eastern Oklahoma County Technology Center $56311; Canadian Valley Technology Center $48081; Metro Technology Centers $47829; Gordon Cooper Technology Center $43075; Moore Norman Technology Center $42499; Meridian Technology Center $39328.Eastern Oklahoma County Tech...$56,311Canadian Valley Technology C...$48,081Metro Technology Centers$47,829Gordon Cooper Technology Cen...$43,075Moore Norman Technology Center$42,499Meridian Technology Center$39,328
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best HVAC Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Eastern Oklahoma County Technology Center$56,311
Canadian Valley Technology Center$48,081
Metro Technology Centers$47,829
Gordon Cooper Technology Center$43,075
Moore Norman Technology Center$42,499
Meridian Technology Center$39,328

HVAC Technician Pay and Job Outlook

Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers annual wage by percentile: $40,050 at the 10th percentile, $61,010 median, $95,210 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers: 425,200 jobs in 2024 to 459,700 in 2034, +8.1% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers
Top-paying states for heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers - District of Columbia leads at $84,390. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers

Oklahoma Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$57,560BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment5,650 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.25BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.4%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$21.23/hr ($18.0 base + $3.23 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for HVAC Training in Oklahoma

The cities below have the highest concentration of HVAC training programs and population centers within Oklahoma. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become an HVAC Technician in Oklahoma

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam. In Oklahoma, the relevant credential is the Mechanical Contractor (CareerOneStop, 2025).
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

HVAC Licensing in Oklahoma

The licenses below are reported by CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) for HVAC-related work in Oklahoma:

  • Mechanical Contractor
  • Mechanical Journeyman
  • Commercial Drilling and Plugging of Heat Exchange Wells
  • Mechanical Inspector
  • Plumbing Inspector

License names and requirements are sourced from the CareerOneStop License Finder. Verify current rules with the issuing agency before applying.

Apprenticeship Programs in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About HVAC Careers in Oklahoma

HVAC technicians install, maintain, and repair heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration systems.

In Oklahoma, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $57,560, about 5,650 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 1.25 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

HVAC Technician Wages and Workforce in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, HVAC Technician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $57,560 per year, and most earn between $36,050 and $79,660 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Oklahoma employs roughly 5,650 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.25 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Oklahoma include Pontotoc Technology Center, Eastern Oklahoma County Technology Center, and Gordon Cooper Technology Center. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

HVAC Technician Training and Licensing in Oklahoma

Licensing for HVAC Technician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Oklahoma licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does HVAC technician training in Oklahoma involve?

HVAC technician training in Oklahoma is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do HVAC technicians earn in Oklahoma?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), HVAC technicians in Oklahoma earned a median annual wage of approximately $57,560. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $36,050 to $79,660 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Oklahoma license or certification process for HVAC technicians?

Licensing for HVAC technicians in Oklahoma is administered by Construction Industries Board. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)