Best LPN Programs in Pennsylvania (2026)

Pennsylvania licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses earn a median of $63,940 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited lpn programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below.

Key Facts

  • Pennsylvania median wage: $63,940/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Pay range (10th-90th pct): $51,500 - $77,750 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Projected growth (2024-2034): +2.6%, ~54,400 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • Pennsylvania employment: 38,260 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.51 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025) Sponsored - request program info

Compare LPN Programs in Pennsylvania

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Pennsylvania.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
177.6Contact school for pricing$48,90290%33 mi
275.3Contact school for pricing$47,03792%54 mi
372.5Contact school for pricing$54,50743%Yes*56 mi
464.1Contact school for pricing$56,03782%45 mi
562.1Contact school for pricing$55,82738%Yes*65 mi
660.6Contact school for pricing$53,47760%47 mi
757.3Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported42 mi
855.8Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported36 mi
954.0Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported48 mi
1042.2Contact school for pricing$45,44630%Yes*54 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Pennsylvania are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Pennsylvania is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at LPN Programs in Pennsylvania
Median graduate earnings by school, Best LPN Programs in Pennsylvania (2026) (College Scorecard)Lancaster County Career and Technology Center $56037; Hagerstown Community College $55827; Carroll Community College $54507; Harrisburg Area Community College $54031; Schuylkill Technology Center $53477; York County School of Technology-Adult & Continuing Education $48902.Lancaster County Career and ...$56,037Hagerstown Community College$55,827Carroll Community College$54,507Harrisburg Area Community Co...$54,031Schuylkill Technology Center$53,477York County School of Techno...$48,902
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best LPN Programs in Pennsylvania (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Lancaster County Career and Technology Center$56,037
Hagerstown Community College$55,827
Carroll Community College$54,507
Harrisburg Area Community College$54,031
Schuylkill Technology Center$53,477
York County School of Technology-Adult & Continuing Education$48,902
## Nursing LPN Pay and Job Outlook in Pennsylvania Median pay and the projected job outlook for licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses are shown below, sourced from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS May 2025; Employment Projections 2024-2034).
Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $49740, P25 $59000, P50 $64400, P75 $76030, P90 $83440.10th$49,74025th$59,00050th (median)$64,40075th$76,03090th$83,440
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$49,740
25th$59,000
50th (median)$64,400
75th$76,030
90th$83,440
Projected employment growth, United States, Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses, 2024-2034
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 651400; 2034 projected employment 668500; percent change +2.6%.2024651,400 jobs2034 (proj.)668,500 jobsChange: +2.6%
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
2024651,400
2034 projected668,500
Percent change+2.6%
### Pennsylvania Quick Facts
MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$63,940BLS OEWS, May 2025
Pay range (10th to 90th percentile)$51,500 to $77,750BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment38,260 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.51BLS OEWS, May 2025
National job outlook (2024-2034)+2.6% growth, ~54,400 openings/yrBLS Employment Projections

How to Become a Nursing Lpn in Pennsylvania

These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.

  1. Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
  2. Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a lpn program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
  3. Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
  4. Pass any required Pennsylvania exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
  5. Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.

Apprenticeships and Training Pathways

Many nursing lpns in Pennsylvania train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.

What You Study

LPN Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.

Choosing a Nursing Lpn School in Pennsylvania

Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info

## Frequently Asked Questions

How long does nursing lpn training take in Pennsylvania?

Most lpn programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do nursing lpns earn in Pennsylvania?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses in Pennsylvania earned a median annual wage of about $63,940. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $51,500 to $77,750 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Pennsylvania?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for nursing lpns?

The BLS projects employment of licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses to change about +2.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 54,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do lpn programs cost in Pennsylvania?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.

In Pennsylvania

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does nursing lpn training take in Pennsylvania?

Most lpn programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do nursing lpns earn in Pennsylvania?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses in Pennsylvania earned a median annual wage of about $63,940. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $51,500 to $77,750 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Pennsylvania?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for nursing lpns?

The BLS projects employment of licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses to change about +2.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 54,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do lpn programs cost in Pennsylvania?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)