Best Plumbing Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)

Compare accredited Plumber schools across Pennsylvania below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Plumber Schools in Pennsylvania

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 84 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Berk Trade and Business School

Long Island City, NY 84.3 miles away BOC Score 74.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 94.6%
  • Programs offered: 3
  • Annual completions: 210
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,739 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Union County Vocational Technical School

Scotch Plains, NJ 62.7 miles away BOC Score 67.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 97.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 10
  • Annual completions: 230
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $37,626 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Polytech Adult Education

Woodside, DE 64.2 miles away BOC Score 60.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 73.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 38
  • Annual completions: 1786
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,607 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Orleans Technical College

Philadelphia, PA 12.5 miles away BOC Score 60.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 88.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 15
  • Annual completions: 731
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,804 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Ocean County Vocational-Technical School

Toms River, NJ 51.6 miles away BOC Score 59.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 67.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 38
  • Annual completions: 461
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,510 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Delaware County Community College

Media, PA 12.1 miles away BOC Score 50.1
Tuition $6,930 - $15,540
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 22.2%
  • Programs offered: 48
  • Annual completions: 699
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,647 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Pennco Tech-Bristol

Bristol, PA 18.5 miles away BOC Score 48.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 80.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 16
  • Annual completions: 1169
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,445 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Plumber Schools in Pennsylvania

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Pennsylvania.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
174.0Contact school for pricing$47,73995%84 mi
267.5Contact school for pricing$37,62697%63 mi
367.0Contact school for pricing$57,788Not reported60 mi
460.8Contact school for pricing$54,60774%64 mi
560.4Contact school for pricing$48,80489%12 mi
659.5Contact school for pricing$42,51068%52 mi
750.1$6,930 - $15,540$56,64722%Yes*12 mi
848.9Contact school for pricing$43,44581%18 mi
944.8Contact school for pricingNot reported70%54 mi
10Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported54 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Pennsylvania are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Pennsylvania is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Plumber Schools in Pennsylvania
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Plumbing Schools in Pennsylvania (2026) (College Scorecard)Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology $57788; Delaware County Community College $56647; Polytech Adult Education $54607; Orleans Technical College $48804; Berk Trade and Business School $47739; Pennco Tech-Bristol $43445.Thaddeus Stevens College of ...$57,788Delaware County Community Co...$56,647Polytech Adult Education$54,607Orleans Technical College$48,804Berk Trade and Business School$47,739Pennco Tech-Bristol$43,445
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Plumbing Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology$57,788
Delaware County Community College$56,647
Polytech Adult Education$54,607
Orleans Technical College$48,804
Berk Trade and Business School$47,739
Pennco Tech-Bristol$43,445

Plumber Pay and Job Outlook

Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters annual wage by percentile: $44,150 at the 10th percentile, $63,800 median, $108,420 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters: 504,500 jobs in 2024 to 527,200 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters - District of Columbia leads at $101,020. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters

Pennsylvania Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$68,080BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment13,620 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.75BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.8%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$74.12/hr ($48.65 base + $25.47 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Plumber Training in Pennsylvania

The cities below have the highest concentration of plumber training programs and population centers within Pennsylvania. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Plumber in Pennsylvania

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam. In Pennsylvania, the relevant credential is the Plumbing Inspector (UCC) (CareerOneStop, 2025).
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Plumbing Licensing in Pennsylvania

The licenses below are reported by CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) for plumbing-related work in Pennsylvania:

  • Plumbing Inspector (UCC)
  • Residential Plumbing Inspector (UCC)
  • Plumbing Plans Examiner (UCC)

License names and requirements are sourced from the CareerOneStop License Finder. Verify current rules with the issuing agency before applying.

Apprenticeship Programs in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Pennsylvania of Labor and Industry - Registered Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Plumbing Careers in Pennsylvania

Plumbers install and repair piping systems for water supply, drainage, and gas distribution in residential, commercial, and industrial settings.

In Pennsylvania, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $68,080, about 13,620 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.75 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Plumber Wages and Workforce in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, Plumber programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $68,080 per year, and most earn between $46,770 and $134,110 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Pennsylvania employs roughly 13,620 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.75 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Pennsylvania include Pennsylvania College of Technology, Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology, and Orleans Technical College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Plumber Training and Licensing in Pennsylvania

Licensing for Plumber varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Pennsylvania licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does plumber training in Pennsylvania involve?

Plumber training in Pennsylvania is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do plumbers earn in Pennsylvania?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), plumbers in Pennsylvania earned a median annual wage of approximately $68,080. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $46,770 to $134,110 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Pennsylvania license or certification process for plumbers?

Licensing for plumber work is handled at the state level in Pennsylvania. Consult Pennsylvania's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)