Best Welding Schools in Rhode Island (2026)

Compare accredited Welder schools across Rhode Island below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Welder Schools in Rhode Island

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 143 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 9 of them carry a score. 1 does not have enough federal outcome data to score, and appears last rather than being hidden.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Modern Welding School

Schenectady, NY 143.3 miles away BOC Score 71.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 93.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 2
  • Annual completions: 162
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,701 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Hudson Valley Community College

Troy, NY 130.8 miles away BOC Score 62.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 34.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 83
  • Annual completions: 1061
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,719 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

New England Institute of Technology

East Greenwich, RI 12.1 miles away BOC Score 62.3
Tuition $37,275 - $48,543
Contact
  • One New England Tech Boulevard East Greenwich, RI 02818-1205
  • (401) 739-5000
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 66.7%
  • Graduation rate: 58.5%
  • Programs offered: 52
  • Annual completions: 786
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $62,151 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Goodwin University

East Hartford, CT 63.6 miles away BOC Score 57.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 58.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 20
  • Annual completions: 349
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $72,845 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Manchester Community College

Manchester, NH 82.7 miles away BOC Score 54.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 453
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,863 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Connecticut State Community College

New Britain, CT 65.0 miles away BOC Score 47.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 21.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 116
  • Annual completions: 2580
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,130 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Porter & Chester Institute

Bridgeport, CT 101.3 miles away BOC Score 47.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 47.1% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 19
  • Annual completions: 2578
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,863 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Great Bay Community College

Portsmouth, NH 91.8 miles away BOC Score 44.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 23
  • Annual completions: 157
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,407 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Lincoln Technical Institute-East Windsor

East Windsor, CT 61.3 miles away BOC Score 40.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 61.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 16
  • Annual completions: 1258
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,136 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Welder Schools in Rhode Island

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Rhode Island.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.0Contact school for pricing$54,70193%143 mi
262.7Contact school for pricing$54,71934%Yes*131 mi
362.3$37,275 - $48,543$62,15159%Yes*12 mi
457.9Contact school for pricing$72,84558%Yes*64 mi
554.0Contact school for pricing$44,863Not reportedYes*83 mi
647.6Contact school for pricing$50,13021%Yes*65 mi
747.5Contact school for pricing$46,86347%Yes*101 mi
844.3Contact school for pricing$54,407Not reported92 mi
940.4Contact school for pricing$47,13661%61 mi
10Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported32 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Rhode Island are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Rhode Island is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Welder Schools in Rhode Island
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Welding Schools in Rhode Island (2026) (College Scorecard)Goodwin University $72845; New England Institute of Technology $62151; Hudson Valley Community College $54719; Modern Welding School $54701; Great Bay Community College $54407; Connecticut State Community College $50130.Goodwin University$72,845New England Institute of Tec...$62,151Hudson Valley Community Coll...$54,719Modern Welding School$54,701Great Bay Community College$54,407Connecticut State Community ...$50,130
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Welding Schools in Rhode Island (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Goodwin University$72,845
New England Institute of Technology$62,151
Hudson Valley Community College$54,719
Modern Welding School$54,701
Great Bay Community College$54,407
Connecticut State Community College$50,130

Welder Pay and Job Outlook

Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers annual wage by percentile: $39,240 at the 10th percentile, $53,750 median, $77,530 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers: 457,300 jobs in 2024 to 467,200 in 2034, +2.2% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers
Top-paying states for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers - Alaska leads at $80,840. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers

Rhode Island Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$50,580BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment2,300 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.71BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate4.0%BLS LAUS (2024)

How to Become a Welder in Rhode Island

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam. In Rhode Island, the relevant credential is the Welder (CareerOneStop, 2025).
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Welding Licensing in Rhode Island

The licenses below are reported by CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) for welding-related work in Rhode Island:

  • Welder

License names and requirements are sourced from the CareerOneStop License Finder. Verify current rules with the issuing agency before applying.

Apprenticeship Programs in Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Rhode Island Office of Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Welding Careers in Rhode Island

Welders join metal parts using heat, pressure, and filler material in construction, manufacturing, shipbuilding, and pipeline work.

In Rhode Island, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $50,580, about 2,300 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 1.71 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Welder Wages and Workforce in Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, Welder programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $50,580 per year, and most earn between $35,560 and $81,000 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Rhode Island employs roughly 2,300 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.71 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Rhode Island include New England Institute of Technology. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Welder Training and Licensing in Rhode Island

Licensing for Welder varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Rhode Island licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does welder training in Rhode Island involve?

Welder training in Rhode Island is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do welders earn in Rhode Island?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), welders in Rhode Island earned a median annual wage of approximately $50,580. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $35,560 to $81,000 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Rhode Island license or certification process for welders?

Licensing for welders in Rhode Island is administered by Professional Regulation. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)