Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina

Compare accredited Electrician schools across South Carolina below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 110 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Georgia Southern University

Statesboro, GA 110.5 miles away BOC Score 56.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 53.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 29
  • Annual completions: 1114
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $62,342 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College

Orangeburg, SC 74.3 miles away BOC Score 51.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 36.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 41
  • Annual completions: 474
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $53,084 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Trident Technical College

Charleston, SC 12.1 miles away BOC Score 50.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 69
  • Annual completions: 1858
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $58,783 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Horry-Georgetown Technical College

Conway, SC 88.4 miles away BOC Score 50.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 32.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 60
  • Annual completions: 1760
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,000 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Savannah Technical College

Savannah, GA 86.5 miles away BOC Score 48.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 105
  • Annual completions: 3428
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,293 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Midlands Technical College

West Columbia, SC 106.0 miles away BOC Score 41.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 17.1% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 55
  • Annual completions: 1119
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,832 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Florence-Darlington Technical College

Florence, SC 101.8 miles away BOC Score 35.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 26.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 41
  • Annual completions: 889
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,978 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Savannah State University

Savannah, GA 84.0 miles away BOC Score 29.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 10
  • Annual completions: 83
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,912 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

South Carolina State University

Orangeburg, SC 72.8 miles away BOC Score 29.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 12
  • Annual completions: 64
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,691 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Technical College of the Lowcountry

Beaufort, SC 50.6 miles away BOC Score 27.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 14.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 40
  • Annual completions: 334
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,361 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Electrician Schools in South Carolina

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in South Carolina.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
151.5Contact school for pricing$53,08437%Yes*74 mi
250.6Contact school for pricing$58,783Not reportedYes*12 mi
350.3Contact school for pricing$46,00032%Yes*88 mi
448.8Contact school for pricing$44,293Not reportedYes*86 mi
541.9Contact school for pricing$46,83217%Yes*106 mi
635.7Contact school for pricing$44,97827%102 mi
727.4Contact school for pricing$47,36115%Yes*51 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in South Carolina are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in South Carolina is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Electrician Schools in South Carolina
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina (College Scorecard)Trident Technical College $58783; Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College $53084; Technical College of the Lowcountry $47361; Midlands Technical College $46832; Horry-Georgetown Technical College $46000; Florence-Darlington Technical College $44978.Trident Technical College$58,783Orangeburg Calhoun Technical...$53,084Technical College of the Low...$47,361Midlands Technical College$46,832Horry-Georgetown Technical C...$46,000Florence-Darlington Technica...$44,978
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Trident Technical College$58,783
Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College$53,084
Technical College of the Lowcountry$47,361
Midlands Technical College$46,832
Horry-Georgetown Technical College$46,000
Florence-Darlington Technical College$44,978

Electrician Pay and Job Outlook

Electricians annual wage by percentile: $42,640 at the 10th percentile, $63,190 median, $108,510 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What electricians earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for electricians: 818,700 jobs in 2024 to 896,100 in 2034, +9.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for electricians
Top-paying states for electricians - Oregon leads at $101,310. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for electricians

South Carolina Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$58,740BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment8,010 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.71BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate4.8%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$15.0/hr ($15.0 base + $0.0 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Electrician Training in South Carolina

The cities below have the highest concentration of electrician training programs and population centers within South Carolina. Click through for school listings near each:

If you want to work as an electrician in South Carolina, the first step is finding the right training program. The school you choose can affect how quickly you start working, the skills you develop, and your ability to meet state licensing requirements.

In South Carolina, you can train through technical colleges, trade schools, or apprenticeship programs. Whichever path you take, you’ll need hands-on training and classroom hours in electrical theory, codes, and safety.

Electrician Licensing in South Carolina

Before starting school, it’s important to understand how licensing works. Electricians here are regulated by the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (LLR).

Paid electrical work in South Carolina generally calls for the correct state license, with limited exemptions for some small-scale residential tasks. The rules and exemption thresholds change, so confirm current requirements directly with the LLR before relying on them.

The main license categories are:

  • Residential Electrical Contractor
  • Mechanical Contractor (Electrical Classification)
  • Journeyman Electrician - Often granted by cities or counties, not at the state level

Steps to get licensed in South Carolina:

  1. Complete an approved training or apprenticeship program.
  2. Get practical on-the-job experience under a licensed electrician.
  3. Pass the required exam (state or local, depending on license type).
  4. Submit your application to the relevant authority with proof of experience and education.

For official requirements, visit the South Carolina LLR website.

Program Lengths and Options

Program TypeTypical DurationOutcome
Certificate in Electrical Wiring6-12 monthsEntry-level residential work
Diploma in Electrical Technology1 yearMore advanced skills, code training
Associate Degree in Electrical Tech2 yearsBroader training, includes industrial work
Apprenticeship3-5 yearsCombines work and classroom learning

South Carolina recognizes training from accredited schools and registered apprenticeships when determining licensing eligibility.

Choosing the Right Program

When comparing electrician schools, focus on:

  • Accreditation - Ensure the school is accredited or state-approved.
  • Curriculum - Look for courses aligned with National Electrical Code (NEC) standards.
  • Hands-On Training - Labs and real-world simulation are essential.
  • Apprenticeship Connections - Schools with industry partnerships can help place you in jobs after graduation.
  • Class Schedules - Night or weekend classes if you need flexibility.
  • Exam Prep - The program should prepare you for the licensing test.

Apprenticeship Routes

If you prefer learning directly on the job, consider applying for an apprenticeship through:

Apprenticeships pay while you learn, and you complete classroom instruction alongside field experience.

Safety and Compliance Training

Every credible electrician program in South Carolina should include:

  • OSHA 10 or OSHA 30 safety certification
  • First aid/CPR training
  • Code compliance per NEC updates
  • Lockout/tagout procedures
  • Electrical test equipment training

Following safety rules isn’t optional. It’s required by law and protects you on the job.

Next Steps

If you’re serious about starting an electrical career in South Carolina:

  1. Review the South Carolina LLR licensing requirements.
  2. Contact two or three electrician schools near you.
  3. Visit the campus or join an info session.
  4. Ask about accreditation, job outcomes data, and apprenticeship links.
  5. Enroll in the program that fits your schedule, budget, and career goals.

Training as an electrician means combining technical skills with professional responsibility. The right school will give you both the knowledge and the discipline to work safely and meet state standards.


Sources:

Electrician Wages and Workforce in South Carolina

In South Carolina, Electrician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $58,740 per year, and most earn between $44,330 and $77,800 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). South Carolina employs roughly 8,010 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.71 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving South Carolina include Greenville Technical College, Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College, and Spartanburg Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Electrician Training and Licensing in South Carolina

Licensing for Electrician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate South Carolina licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does electrician training in South Carolina involve?

Electrician training in South Carolina is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do electricians earn in South Carolina?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), electricians in South Carolina earned a median annual wage of approximately $58,740. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $44,330 to $77,800 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the South Carolina license or certification process for electricians?

Licensing for electricians in South Carolina is administered by SC Building Codes Council. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)