Best Freight Broker Programs in South Carolina (2026)

South Carolina logisticians earn a median of $80,330 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited freight broker programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below.

Key Facts

  • South Carolina median wage: $80,330/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Pay range (10th-90th pct): $49,460 - $123,640 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Projected growth (2024-2034): +16.7%, ~26,400 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • South Carolina employment: 5,250 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.41 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025) Sponsored - request program info

Compare Freight Broker Programs in South Carolina

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in South Carolina.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
152.6Contact school for pricing$48,441Not reportedYes*103 mi
251.5Contact school for pricing$53,08437%Yes*14 mi
351.3Contact school for pricing$48,991Not reportedYes*111 mi
451.1$3,186 - $16,866Not reported59%Yes*112 mi
550.1Contact school for pricing$40,635Not reportedYes*111 mi
645.4Contact school for pricing$43,46931%Yes*78 mi
727.4Contact school for pricing$47,36115%Yes*91 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in South Carolina are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in South Carolina is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Freight Broker Programs in South Carolina
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Freight Broker Programs in South Carolina (2026) (College Scorecard)Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College $53084; Spartanburg Community College $48991; Central Piedmont Community College $48441; Technical College of the Lowcountry $47361; Augusta Technical College $43469; Ogeechee Technical College $40635.Orangeburg Calhoun Technical...$53,084Spartanburg Community College$48,991Central Piedmont Community C...$48,441Technical College of the Low...$47,361Augusta Technical College$43,469Ogeechee Technical College$40,635
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Freight Broker Programs in South Carolina (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College$53,084
Spartanburg Community College$48,991
Central Piedmont Community College$48,441
Technical College of the Lowcountry$47,361
Augusta Technical College$43,469
Ogeechee Technical College$40,635
## Freight Broker Pay and Job Outlook in South Carolina Median pay and the projected job outlook for logisticians are shown below, sourced from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS May 2025; Employment Projections 2024-2034).
Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Logisticians
Logisticians annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $50890, P25 $64440, P50 $82320, P75 $106190, P90 $133160.10th$50,89025th$64,44050th (median)$82,32075th$106,19090th$133,160
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Logisticians annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$50,890
25th$64,440
50th (median)$82,320
75th$106,190
90th$133,160
Projected employment growth, United States, Logisticians, 2024-2034
Logisticians employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 241000; 2034 projected employment 281300; percent change +16.7%.2024241,000 jobs2034 (proj.)281,300 jobsChange: +16.7%
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Logisticians employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
2024241,000
2034 projected281,300
Percent change+16.7%
### South Carolina Quick Facts
MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$80,330BLS OEWS, May 2025
Pay range (10th to 90th percentile)$49,460 to $123,640BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment5,250 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.41BLS OEWS, May 2025
National job outlook (2024-2034)+16.7% growth, ~26,400 openings/yrBLS Employment Projections

How to Become a Freight Broker in South Carolina

These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.

  1. Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
  2. Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a freight broker program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
  3. Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
  4. Pass any required South Carolina exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
  5. Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.

Apprenticeships and Training Pathways

Many freight brokers in South Carolina train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.

What You Study

Freight Broker Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.

Choosing a Freight Broker School in South Carolina

Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info

## Frequently Asked Questions

How long does freight broker training take in South Carolina?

Most freight broker programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do freight brokers earn in South Carolina?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), logisticians in South Carolina earned a median annual wage of about $80,330. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $49,460 to $123,640 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in South Carolina?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for freight brokers?

The BLS projects employment of logisticians to change about +16.7% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 26,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do freight broker programs cost in South Carolina?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.

In South Carolina

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does freight broker training take in South Carolina?

Most freight broker programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do freight brokers earn in South Carolina?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), logisticians in South Carolina earned a median annual wage of about $80,330. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $49,460 to $123,640 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in South Carolina?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for freight brokers?

The BLS projects employment of logisticians to change about +16.7% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 26,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do freight broker programs cost in South Carolina?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)