Best Plumbing Schools in South Carolina (2026)

Compare accredited Plumber schools across South Carolina below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Plumber Schools in South Carolina

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 228 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Cape Fear Community College

Wilmington, NC 152.5 miles away BOC Score 57.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 78
  • Annual completions: 1513
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,346 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Wake Technical Community College

Raleigh, NC 210.5 miles away BOC Score 55.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 64
  • Annual completions: 5606
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,034 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Forsyth Technical Community College

Winston-Salem, NC 228.4 miles away BOC Score 52.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 31.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 62
  • Annual completions: 2058
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,625 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Cleveland Community College

Shelby, NC 194.7 miles away BOC Score 46.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 45
  • Annual completions: 837
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $41,985 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Central Georgia Technical College

Warner Robins, GA 218.3 miles away BOC Score 46.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 43.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 117
  • Annual completions: 6102
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,979 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Fayetteville Technical Community College

Fayetteville, NC 168.5 miles away BOC Score 45.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 22.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 66
  • Annual completions: 4671
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,138 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Miller-Motte College-Jacksonville

Jacksonville, NC 200.2 miles away BOC Score 35.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 65.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 13
  • Annual completions: 443
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $34,393 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Guilford Technical Community College

Jamestown, NC 222.6 miles away BOC Score 35.2
Tuition $2,320 - $20,529
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 31.2%
  • Programs offered: 72
  • Annual completions: 2212
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,924 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Miller-Motte College-Fayetteville

Fayetteville, NC 172.2 miles away BOC Score 31.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 68.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 13
  • Annual completions: 305
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $34,393 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Technical College of the Lowcountry

Beaufort, SC 50.6 miles away BOC Score 27.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 14.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 40
  • Annual completions: 334
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,361 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Plumber Schools in South Carolina

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in South Carolina.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
157.9Contact school for pricing$48,346Not reportedYes*152 mi
255.3Contact school for pricing$49,034Not reportedYes*210 mi
352.9Contact school for pricing$48,62531%Yes*228 mi
446.6Contact school for pricing$41,985Not reportedYes*195 mi
546.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*218 mi
645.5Contact school for pricing$48,13822%Yes*168 mi
735.7Contact school for pricing$34,39366%200 mi
835.2$2,320 - $20,529$44,92431%Yes*223 mi
931.5Contact school for pricing$34,39368%172 mi
1027.4Contact school for pricing$47,36115%Yes*51 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in South Carolina are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in South Carolina is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Plumber Schools in South Carolina
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Plumbing Schools in South Carolina (2026) (College Scorecard)Wake Technical Community College $49034; Forsyth Technical Community College $48625; Cape Fear Community College $48346; Fayetteville Technical Community College $48138; Technical College of the Lowcountry $47361; Guilford Technical Community College $44924.Wake Technical Community Col...$49,034Forsyth Technical Community ...$48,625Cape Fear Community College$48,346Fayetteville Technical Commu...$48,138Technical College of the Low...$47,361Guilford Technical Community...$44,924
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Plumbing Schools in South Carolina (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Wake Technical Community College$49,034
Forsyth Technical Community College$48,625
Cape Fear Community College$48,346
Fayetteville Technical Community College$48,138
Technical College of the Lowcountry$47,361
Guilford Technical Community College$44,924

Plumber Pay and Job Outlook

Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters annual wage by percentile: $44,150 at the 10th percentile, $63,800 median, $108,420 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters: 504,500 jobs in 2024 to 527,200 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters - District of Columbia leads at $101,020. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters

South Carolina Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$53,940BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment5,770 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.84BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate4.8%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$19.16/hr ($16.99 base + $2.17 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Plumber Training in South Carolina

The cities below have the highest concentration of plumber training programs and population centers within South Carolina. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Plumber in South Carolina

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam. In South Carolina, the relevant credential is the Boiler Registration (CareerOneStop, 2025).
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Plumbing Licensing in South Carolina

The licenses below are reported by CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) for plumbing-related work in South Carolina:

  • Boiler Registration
  • Fire Sprinkler Company
  • Fire Sprinkler Branch Company
  • Plumbing
  • Fire Sprinkler Primary Qualifying Party

License names and requirements are sourced from the CareerOneStop License Finder. Verify current rules with the issuing agency before applying.

Apprenticeship Programs in South Carolina

In South Carolina, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Apprenticeship South Carolina (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Plumbing Careers in South Carolina

Plumbers install and repair piping systems for water supply, drainage, and gas distribution in residential, commercial, and industrial settings.

In South Carolina, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $53,940, about 5,770 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.84 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Plumber Wages and Workforce in South Carolina

In South Carolina, Plumber programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $53,940 per year, and most earn between $37,660 and $75,780 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). South Carolina employs roughly 5,770 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.84 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving South Carolina include Technical College of the Lowcountry. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Plumber Training and Licensing in South Carolina

Licensing for Plumber varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate South Carolina licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does plumber training in South Carolina involve?

Plumber training in South Carolina is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do plumbers earn in South Carolina?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), plumbers in South Carolina earned a median annual wage of approximately $53,940. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $37,660 to $75,780 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the South Carolina license or certification process for plumbers?

Licensing for plumber work is handled at the state level in South Carolina. Consult South Carolina's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)