Best Woodworking Programs in South Carolina (2026)

South Carolina cabinetmakers and bench carpenters earn a median of $47,680 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited woodworking programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below.

Key Facts

  • South Carolina median wage: $47,680/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Pay range (10th-90th pct): $34,320 - $61,350 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Projected growth (2024-2034): -1.6%, ~8,100 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • South Carolina employment: 710 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.62 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025) Sponsored - request program info

Compare Woodworking Programs in South Carolina

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in South Carolina.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
160.6Contact school for pricing$42,844Not reportedYes*151 mi
254.3Contact school for pricing$47,00955%Yes*206 mi
352.6Contact school for pricing$48,441Not reportedYes*103 mi
451.7Contact school for pricing$45,54636%Yes*402 mi
550.2Contact school for pricing$41,87133%Yes*272 mi
648.8Contact school for pricing$44,293Not reportedYes*120 mi
748.5$4,980 - $9,308$48,05431%Yes*321 mi
847.2Contact school for pricing$43,81824%Yes*257 mi
946.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*188 mi
1044.3Contact school for pricing$44,764Not reportedYes*403 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in South Carolina are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in South Carolina is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Woodworking Programs in South Carolina
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Woodworking Programs in South Carolina (2026) (College Scorecard)Central Piedmont Community College $48441; George C Wallace Community College-Dothan $48054; Southern Crescent Technical College $47009; Northwest Shoals Community College $45546; Hocking College $44764; Savannah Technical College $44293.Central Piedmont Community C...$48,441George C Wallace Community C...$48,054Southern Crescent Technical ...$47,009Northwest Shoals Community C...$45,546Hocking College$44,764Savannah Technical College$44,293
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Woodworking Programs in South Carolina (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Central Piedmont Community College$48,441
George C Wallace Community College-Dothan$48,054
Southern Crescent Technical College$47,009
Northwest Shoals Community College$45,546
Hocking College$44,764
Savannah Technical College$44,293
## Woodworker Pay and Job Outlook in South Carolina Median pay and the projected job outlook for cabinetmakers and bench carpenters are shown below, sourced from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS May 2025; Employment Projections 2024-2034).
Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $35650, P25 $38830, P50 $46680, P75 $55760, P90 $63720.10th$35,65025th$38,83050th (median)$46,68075th$55,76090th$63,720
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$35,650
25th$38,830
50th (median)$46,680
75th$55,760
90th$63,720
Projected employment growth, United States, Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters, 2024-2034
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 86000; 2034 projected employment 84700; percent change -1.6%.202486,000 jobs2034 (proj.)84,700 jobsChange: -1.6%
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
202486,000
2034 projected84,700
Percent change-1.6%
### South Carolina Quick Facts
MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$47,680BLS OEWS, May 2025
Pay range (10th to 90th percentile)$34,320 to $61,350BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment710 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.62BLS OEWS, May 2025
National job outlook (2024-2034)-1.6% growth, ~8,100 openings/yrBLS Employment Projections

How to Become a Woodworker in South Carolina

These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.

  1. Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
  2. Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a woodworking program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
  3. Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
  4. Pass any required South Carolina exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
  5. Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.

Apprenticeships and Training Pathways

Many woodworkers in South Carolina train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.

What You Study

Woodworking Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.

Choosing a Woodworker School in South Carolina

Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info

## Frequently Asked Questions

How long does woodworker training take in South Carolina?

Most woodworking programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do woodworkers earn in South Carolina?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters in South Carolina earned a median annual wage of about $47,680. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $34,320 to $61,350 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in South Carolina?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for woodworkers?

The BLS projects employment of cabinetmakers and bench carpenters to change about -1.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 8,100 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do woodworking programs cost in South Carolina?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.

In South Carolina

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does woodworker training take in South Carolina?

Most woodworking programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do woodworkers earn in South Carolina?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters in South Carolina earned a median annual wage of about $47,680. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $34,320 to $61,350 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in South Carolina?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for woodworkers?

The BLS projects employment of cabinetmakers and bench carpenters to change about -1.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 8,100 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do woodworking programs cost in South Carolina?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)