Best Electrician Schools in Tennessee

Compare accredited Electrician schools across Tennessee below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Electrician Schools in Tennessee

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 91 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#4

Murray State University

Murray, KY 91.2 miles away BOC Score 58.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 60.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 18
  • Annual completions: 435
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,487 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Middle Tennessee State University

Murfreesboro, TN 32.0 miles away BOC Score 56.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 53.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 26
  • Annual completions: 1866
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,525 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College

Bowling Green, KY 59.2 miles away BOC Score 56.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 5164
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $41,507 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Western Kentucky University

Bowling Green, KY 59.6 miles away BOC Score 52.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 54.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 31
  • Annual completions: 618
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $53,602 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Hopkinsville Community College

Hopkinsville, KY 63.5 miles away BOC Score 50.6
Tuition $4,728 - $14,469
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 41.0%
  • Programs offered: 42
  • Annual completions: 1628
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,788 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Hohenwald

Hohenwald, TN 61.3 miles away BOC Score 50.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 57.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 30
  • Annual completions: 485
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,241 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Nashville State Community College

Nashville, TN 4.6 miles away BOC Score 39.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 440
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,592 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Electrician Schools in Tennessee

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Tennessee.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
168.0Contact school for pricing$54,975Not reported51 mi
259.9Contact school for pricing$46,239Not reported68 mi
358.5Contact school for pricing$49,364Not reported66 mi
456.0Contact school for pricing$41,507Not reportedYes*59 mi
550.6$4,728 - $14,469$46,78841%Yes*64 mi
650.1Contact school for pricing$43,24157%61 mi
739.5Contact school for pricing$48,592Not reportedYes*5 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Tennessee are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Tennessee is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Electrician Schools in Tennessee
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Electrician Schools in Tennessee (College Scorecard)Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Shelbyville $54975; Tennessee College of Applied Technology-McMinnville $49364; Nashville State Community College $48592; Hopkinsville Community College $46788; Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Pulaski $46239; Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Hohenwald $43241.Tennessee College of Applied...$54,975Tennessee College of Applied...$49,364Nashville State Community Co...$48,592Hopkinsville Community College$46,788Tennessee College of Applied...$46,239Tennessee College of Applied...$43,241
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Electrician Schools in Tennessee
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Shelbyville$54,975
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-McMinnville$49,364
Nashville State Community College$48,592
Hopkinsville Community College$46,788
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Pulaski$46,239
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Hohenwald$43,241

Electrician Pay and Job Outlook

Electricians annual wage by percentile: $42,640 at the 10th percentile, $63,190 median, $108,510 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What electricians earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for electricians: 818,700 jobs in 2024 to 896,100 in 2034, +9.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for electricians
Top-paying states for electricians - Oregon leads at $101,310. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for electricians

Tennessee Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$61,090BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment17,070 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.07BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.8%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$42.97/hr ($27.25 base + $15.72 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Electrician Training in Tennessee

The cities below have the highest concentration of electrician training programs and population centers within Tennessee. Click through for school listings near each:

If you want to work as an electrician in Tennessee, your first step is to get the right training. Employers and clients expect you to have the skills to work safely and meet state code. The fastest way to learn these skills is to attend a good electrician school. The right program will prepare you for licensing and help you find hands-on experience.

This guide will walk you through some of the top electrician schools in Tennessee, along with what you need to know about the state’s licensing process.

Tennessee Electrician Licensing Basics

Before you invest in training, you should understand the state’s requirements.

In Tennessee, the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors regulates electricians. Licensing in the state is broken down into different categories, such as Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE), Journeyman, or full Electrical Contractor.

Tennessee law requires electricians performing work over 5,000 (total project cost) to hold a state contractor’s license with the electrical classification. Smaller-scale electrical work may require a local license, depending on the county or city. Always check local ordinances before starting work.

To work legally and advance your career, you’ll likely follow this path:

How to Become a Licensed Electrician in Tennessee

  1. Get proper training - Complete an electrical trade school program or apprenticeship.
  2. Gain work experience - Most licenses require on-the-job hours under a licensed electrician.
  3. Apply for the appropriate license - Submit an application and exam fees to the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors or local licensing office.
  4. Pass the exam - Show your knowledge of the National Electrical Code, safety procedures, and Tennessee building codes.
  5. Stay current - Renew your license as required and complete continuing education if applicable.

For full requirements, see the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors’ website: https://www.tn.gov/commerce.

Choosing the Right Program

When picking your school, here are some key points to consider:

  • Location - Choose a campus within reasonable commuting distance or one offering online theory courses.
  • Program length - Decide between a short diploma program to start working sooner or an associate degree for a broader education; timelines and outcomes vary by location and job market.
  • Hands-on training - Ensure the school’s labs simulate real job conditions.
  • Industry partnerships - Look for programs with strong apprenticeship outcomes data.
  • Accreditation - Make sure the school carries accreditation from a recognized body.

Apprenticeships in Tennessee

Completing a trade school program is only part of the process. Most electricians complete an apprenticeship to get the required work hours.

Common sources for apprenticeships include:

  • Local union halls of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW)
  • Independent Electrical Contractors (IEC) chapters
  • Employers who partner with community college programs

The IEC of the Mid-South and IBEW Local 429 both offer apprenticeship programs in Tennessee.

Safety and Code Knowledge

Electrical work always carries risk. Your training should cover:

  • OSHA safety standards
  • National Electrical Code (NEC) updates
  • Tennessee-specific building codes

Working without the proper license or training can result in fines and legal penalties. Always follow state and local regulations.

Final Thoughts and Next Steps

If you want to start a career as an electrician in Tennessee, the smartest move is to pick a solid training program now. Each of the schools listed above can help you build skills, prepare for the licensing exam, and connect with employers.

Here’s what you should do next:

  1. Review each school’s program details and location.
  2. Contact admissions offices to ask about start dates, tuition, and entry requirements.
  3. Confirm the program meets state requirements for licensing.
  4. Plan for your apprenticeship and work experience hours early.

With the right training and a clear plan, you can build a stable, hands-on career that keeps Tennessee running.


Sources:

Electrician Wages and Workforce in Tennessee

In Tennessee, Electrician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $61,090 per year, and most earn between $39,600 and $92,160 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Tennessee employs roughly 17,070 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.07 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Tennessee include Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Elizabethton, Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Shelbyville, and Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Electrician Training and Licensing in Tennessee

Licensing for Electrician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Tennessee licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does electrician training in Tennessee involve?

Electrician training in Tennessee is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do electricians earn in Tennessee?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), electricians in Tennessee earned a median annual wage of approximately $61,090. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $39,600 to $92,160 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Tennessee license or certification process for electricians?

Licensing for electricians in Tennessee is administered by Division of Regulatory Boards. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)