Best Plumber Schools in Texas

Compare accredited Plumber schools across Texas below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Plumber Schools in Texas

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 5 schools within 171 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 5 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Trinity Valley Community College

Athens, TX 170.7 miles away BOC Score 55.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 25.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 50
  • Annual completions: 1523
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,266 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

San Jacinto Community College

Pasadena, TX 16.7 miles away BOC Score 54.8
Tuition $2,490 - $21,293
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 32.2%
  • Programs offered: 66
  • Annual completions: 4558
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,809 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

SOWELA Technical Community College

Lake Charles, LA 135.8 miles away BOC Score 49.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
  • 3820 Senator J. Bennett Johnston Ave Lake Charles, LA 70615
  • (337) 421-6565
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 2424
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $60,488 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Lamar Institute of Technology

Beaumont, TX 78.6 miles away BOC Score 48.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 45
  • Annual completions: 1222
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $59,945 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Texas State Technical College

Waco, TX 164.9 miles away BOC Score 47.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 41.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 73
  • Annual completions: 5290
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,511 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Plumber Schools in Texas

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Texas.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
155.8Contact school for pricing$44,26626%Yes*171 mi
254.8$2,490 - $21,293$52,80932%Yes*17 mi
349.8Contact school for pricing$60,488Not reportedYes*136 mi
448.0Contact school for pricing$59,945Not reportedYes*79 mi
547.6Contact school for pricing$55,51141%Yes*165 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Texas are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Texas is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Plumber Schools in Texas
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Plumber Schools in Texas (College Scorecard)SOWELA Technical Community College $60488; Lamar Institute of Technology $59945; Texas State Technical College $55511; San Jacinto Community College $52809; Trinity Valley Community College $44266.SOWELA Technical Community C...$60,488Lamar Institute of Technology$59,945Texas State Technical College$55,511San Jacinto Community College$52,809Trinity Valley Community Col...$44,266
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Plumber Schools in Texas
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
SOWELA Technical Community College$60,488
Lamar Institute of Technology$59,945
Texas State Technical College$55,511
San Jacinto Community College$52,809
Trinity Valley Community College$44,266

Plumber Pay and Job Outlook

Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters annual wage by percentile: $44,150 at the 10th percentile, $63,800 median, $108,420 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters: 504,500 jobs in 2024 to 527,200 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters - District of Columbia leads at $101,020. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters

Texas Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$59,840BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment44,090 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.05BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate4.1%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$54.07/hr ($37.15 base + $16.92 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Plumber Training in Texas

The cities below have the highest concentration of plumber training programs and population centers within Texas. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Licensed Plumber in Texas

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options typically include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete the required classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass the state or local licensing exam where required.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required.

In Texas, CareerOneStop reports state-recognized credentials such as the PLUMBER for this trade (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor).

State Wage and Employment

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports approximately 44,090 plumbers working in Texas as of May 2025, earning a median annual wage of approximately $59,840 (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025). Texas’s location quotient of 1.05 indicates jobs in this trade are more concentrated than the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Apprenticeships in Texas

In Texas, registered apprenticeships are listed through the Texas Workforce Commission - Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years. United Association (UA) of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry sponsors registered apprenticeships in nearly every state.

Federal Prevailing Wage in Texas

Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage rates set the minimum hourly compensation on most federally funded construction projects. As of 2026, the active general wage determination for this trade in Texas lists $54.07/hr total compensation ($37.15 base + $16.92 fringe) (DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026).

Find Plumber Programs Across Texas

The cities below have local plumber program directories. Click any city to compare schools nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions

Do plumbers need a license in Texas?

Licensing requirements for plumbers vary across Texas. CareerOneStop and the relevant state agency publish current credential lists; verify scope and exam rules before applying.

How long does plumber training take in Texas?

Typical certificate programs run 6 to 12 months, associate degrees take about 2 years, and registered apprenticeships generally last 3 to 5 years while paying on-the-job wages.

What is the median wage for plumbers in Texas?

BLS reports a median annual wage of approximately $59,840 for this occupation in Texas (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Wages vary by experience, employer, and metro area.

Plumber Wages and Workforce in Texas

In Texas, Plumber programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $59,840 per year, and most earn between $38,270 and $81,890 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Texas employs roughly 44,090 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.05 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Texas include Trinity Valley Community College, San Jacinto Community College, and Collin County Community College District. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Plumber Training and Licensing in Texas

In Texas, Plumber licensing is overseen by Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE). Common credentials include Plumber Apprentice Registration, Tradesman Plumber License, and Journeyman Plumber License. A typical path requires 4,000 hours (tradesman); 8,000 hours (journeyman); 8,000 hours as journeyman (master).

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does plumber training in Texas involve?

Plumber training in Texas is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do plumbers earn in Texas?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), plumbers in Texas earned a median annual wage of approximately $59,840. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $38,270 to $81,890 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Texas license or certification process for plumbers?

Licensing for plumber work is handled at the state level in Texas. Consult Texas's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)