Best Procurement & Purchasing Programs in Texas (2026)

Texas buyers and purchasing agents earn a median of $76,050 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited procurement & purchasing programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below.

Key Facts

  • Texas median wage: $76,050/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Pay range (10th-90th pct): $47,760 - $124,140 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Projected growth (2024-2034): +5.8%, ~52,200 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • Texas employment: 44,030 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.99 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025) Sponsored - request program info

Compare Procurement & Purchasing Programs in Texas

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Texas.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
149.3$4,710 - $17,469$46,19130%Yes*104 mi
245.4Contact school for pricing$38,443Not reportedYes*139 mi
342.3$3,412 - $12,343$47,34124%Yes*130 mi
435.8Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedYes*131 mi
531.7Contact school for pricing$22,73763%136 mi
630.9Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedYes*131 mi
730.2Contact school for pricing$32,68047%Yes*47 mi
828.8Contact school for pricing$32,68052%Yes*70 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Texas are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Texas is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Procurement & Purchasing Programs in Texas
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Procurement & Purchasing Programs in Texas (2026) (College Scorecard)San Antonio College $47341; Cisco College $46191; Palo Alto College $38443; Southern Careers Institute-Waco $32680; Southern Careers Institute-Austin $32680; Southwest School of Business and Technical Careers-San Antonio $22737.San Antonio College$47,341Cisco College$46,191Palo Alto College$38,443Southern Careers Institute-W...$32,680Southern Careers Institute-A...$32,680Southwest School of Business...$22,737
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Procurement & Purchasing Programs in Texas (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
San Antonio College$47,341
Cisco College$46,191
Palo Alto College$38,443
Southern Careers Institute-Waco$32,680
Southern Careers Institute-Austin$32,680
Southwest School of Business and Technical Careers-San Antonio$22,737
## Procurement & Purchasing Management Pay and Job Outlook in Texas Median pay and the projected job outlook for buyers and purchasing agents are shown below, sourced from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS May 2025; Employment Projections 2024-2034).
Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Buyers and Purchasing Agents
Buyers and Purchasing Agents annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $48380, P25 $60800, P50 $77710, P75 $100820, P90 $128870.10th$48,38025th$60,80050th (median)$77,71075th$100,82090th$128,870
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Buyers and Purchasing Agents annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$48,380
25th$60,800
50th (median)$77,710
75th$100,820
90th$128,870
Projected employment growth, United States, Buyers and Purchasing Agents, 2024-2034
Buyers and Purchasing Agents employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 522200; 2034 projected employment 552300; percent change +5.8%.2024522,200 jobs2034 (proj.)552,300 jobsChange: +5.8%
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Buyers and Purchasing Agents employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
2024522,200
2034 projected552,300
Percent change+5.8%
### Texas Quick Facts
MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$76,050BLS OEWS, May 2025
Pay range (10th to 90th percentile)$47,760 to $124,140BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment44,030 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.99BLS OEWS, May 2025
National job outlook (2024-2034)+5.8% growth, ~52,200 openings/yrBLS Employment Projections

How to Become a Procurement & Purchasing Management in Texas

These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.

  1. Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
  2. Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a procurement & purchasing program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
  3. Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
  4. Pass any required Texas exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
  5. Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.

Apprenticeships and Training Pathways

Many procurement & purchasing managements in Texas train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.

What You Study

Procurement & Purchasing Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.

Choosing a Procurement & Purchasing Management School in Texas

Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info

## Frequently Asked Questions

How long does procurement & purchasing management training take in Texas?

Most procurement & purchasing programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do procurement & purchasing managements earn in Texas?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), buyers and purchasing agents in Texas earned a median annual wage of about $76,050. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $47,760 to $124,140 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Texas?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for procurement & purchasing managements?

The BLS projects employment of buyers and purchasing agents to change about +5.8% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 52,200 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do procurement & purchasing programs cost in Texas?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.

In Texas

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does procurement & purchasing management training take in Texas?

Most procurement & purchasing programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do procurement & purchasing managements earn in Texas?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), buyers and purchasing agents in Texas earned a median annual wage of about $76,050. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $47,760 to $124,140 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Texas?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for procurement & purchasing managements?

The BLS projects employment of buyers and purchasing agents to change about +5.8% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 52,200 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do procurement & purchasing programs cost in Texas?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)