Best LPN Programs in Kerrville, Texas (2026)

The best LPN programs near Kerrville, Texas pair focused training with a state median wage of about $62,240 a year for licensed practical nurses (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most students finish a state-approved practical nursing program in about 12 months full-time, then take the NCLEX-PN exam for state licensure.

LPNs (called LVNs in some states) provide hands-on nursing care - monitoring vital signs, administering basic care and some medications, and supporting RNs and physicians. Practical nursing programs usually combine classroom study with supervised clinical practice.

Key Facts

  • Texas median wage: $62,240/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Job outlook: +2.6% with ~54,400 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • Texas employment: 57,560 licensed practical nurses (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Texas location quotient: 0.98 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Typical program length: 6-12 months (certificate) to 2 years (associate) (Source: IPEDS, 2024)

LPN Schools near Kerrville

Compare LPN schools near Kerrville

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from Kerrville, Texas.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
198.4$13,760$79,194Not reportedYes*49 mi
259.0Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported49 mi
355.4$3,412 - $11,985$52,29228%Yes*59 mi
452.2Contact school for pricing$49,24177%50 mi
549.8$2,646 - $13,554Not reported32%Yes*67 mi
6Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported50 mi

Schools closest to Kerrville, Texas are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from Kerrville, Texas is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 8 schools within 67 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 8 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Baptist Health System School of Health Professions

San Antonio, TX 49.4 miles away BOC Score 98.4
Tuition $13,760
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 100.0%
  • Programs offered: 8
  • Annual completions: 194
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $79,194 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Hallmark University

San Antonio, TX 47.8 miles away BOC Score 55.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 67.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 9
  • Annual completions: 264
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $59,410 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

St Philip's College

San Antonio, TX 59.2 miles away BOC Score 55.4
Tuition $3,412 - $11,985
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 28.3%
  • Programs offered: 66
  • Annual completions: 3177
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,292 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Lamson Institute

San Antonio, TX 49.9 miles away BOC Score 52.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 77.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 16
  • Annual completions: 887
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $49,241 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Schreiner University

Kerrville, TX 0.6 miles away BOC Score 46.0
Tuition $39,266 - $48,004
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 88.2%
  • Graduation rate: 43.4%
  • Programs offered: 12
  • Annual completions: 51
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $58,631 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best LPN Programs in Kerrville, Texas (2026)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best LPN Programs in Kerrville, Texas (2026) (College Scorecard)Baptist Health System School of Health Professions $79194; St Philip's College $52292; Lamson Institute $49241.Baptist Health System School...$79,194St Philip's College$52,292Lamson Institute$49,241
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best LPN Programs in Kerrville, Texas (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Baptist Health System School of Health Professions$79,194
St Philip's College$52,292
Lamson Institute$49,241

LPN Pay and Job Outlook

Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $49740, P25 $59000, P50 $64400, P75 $76030, P90 $83440.10th$49,74025th$59,00050th (median)$64,40075th$76,03090th$83,440
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$49,740
25th$59,000
50th (median)$64,400
75th$76,030
90th$83,440
Projected employment growth, United States, Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses, 2024-2034
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 651400; 2034 projected employment 668500; percent change +2.6%.2024651,400 jobs2034 (proj.)668,500 jobsChange: +2.6%
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
2024651,400
2034 projected668,500
Percent change+2.6%

Texas LPN Quick Facts

Nursing-Lpn Salary in U.S.

Median Salary $64,400 $30.96/hr
Average Salary $67,050 $32.24/hr

Salary Range

$49,740 10th pctl
$64,400 Median
$83,440 90th pctl
10th Percentile $49,740 $23.91/hr
25th Percentile $59,000 $28.37/hr
75th Percentile $76,030 $36.55/hr
90th Percentile $83,440 $40.12/hr

Employment & Outlook

Total Employed648,410
Growth (2024-2034)2.6%
Annual Openings54,400
Jobs per 1,0004.2

Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses (29-2061) • BLS OEWS, May 2025 • bls.gov/oes

How to Start a LPN Career in Texas

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Biology, chemistry, and health coursework are helpful preparation for practical nursing programs.

  2. Complete a state-approved practical nursing program. Programs typically run about 12 months full-time and combine coursework with supervised clinical hours. Confirm the program is approved by your state’s board of nursing.

  3. Pass the NCLEX-PN exam. The National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nurses is the licensure exam used nationwide.

  4. Apply for your state license. Submit your application to your state board of nursing and complete any additional state requirements the board lists.

  5. Grow your nursing career. With experience, many LPNs pursue specialty certifications or LPN-to-RN bridge programs.

Yes. Every state licenses practical/vocational nurses. The national framework is the same everywhere: complete a state-approved practical nursing program, then pass the NCLEX-PN exam and apply to your state’s board of nursing. Confirm program approval and application details with your state board before enrolling.

Pathways into the Field

The standard path is a state-approved practical nursing certificate or diploma program at a community college or career school, followed by the NCLEX-PN. Some students later use LPN-to-RN bridge programs to continue their nursing education.

What You Study

  • Anatomy, physiology, and medical terminology
  • Pharmacology and medication administration basics
  • Patient care fundamentals and clinical skills
  • Supervised clinical rotations
  • NCLEX-PN preparation

Tips for Choosing a LPN Program

  • Confirm accreditation and how recognized the credential is with employers.
  • Look for hands-on training in clinical hours, NCLEX-PN pass support, and state board approval.
  • Compare flexible schedules (day/evening/online) that match your availability.
  • Ask about job-search support with local employers.
  • Review certification-prep resources and post-completion support.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does LPN training take near Kerrville?

State-approved practical nursing programs typically take about 12 months of full-time study, or up to 2 years part-time. Graduates must then pass the NCLEX-PN exam to apply for state licensure.

How much do licensed practical nurses earn in Texas?

According to BLS OEWS (May 2025), licensed practical nurses in Texas earned a median annual wage of about $62,240. Pay varies with experience, employer, and specialization. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $48,910 to $76,140 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

How many LPN schools are near Kerrville?

The schools listed above are within driving distance of Kerrville. Compare them by tuition, program length, BOC Score, and the credential each one awards.

Do LPNs need a license?

Yes. Every state licenses practical/vocational nurses. The national framework is the same everywhere: complete a state-approved practical nursing program, then pass the NCLEX-PN exam and apply to your state's board of nursing. Confirm program approval and application details with your state board before enrolling.

In Texas

Next Steps


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)