Dallas College
- 1601 Botham Jean Blvd. Dallas, TX 75215-3604
- (972) 669-6400
- Programs offered: 85
- Annual completions: 7540
- Online programs available
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Select a program of interest to explore trade schools that match your goals.
The best medical transcription programs near San Angelo, Texas pair focused training with a state median wage of about $42,900 a year for medical transcriptionists (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most students finish a roughly 1-year certificate program, and the voluntary AHDI RHDS credential can follow for new graduates.
Medical transcriptionists convert physician dictation into accurate medical documents and, increasingly, edit the drafts produced by speech recognition software. Training typically covers medical terminology, anatomy, pharmacology, and documentation standards.
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dallas College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 233 mi |
| 2 | St Philip's College | 55.4 | $3,412 - $11,985 | $52,292 | 28% | Yes* | 184 mi |
| 3 | San Antonio College | 42.3 | $3,412 - $12,343 | $47,341 | 24% | Yes* | 180 mi |
Schools closest to San Angelo, Texas are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from San Angelo, Texas is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
This page lists 3 schools within 233 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 3 of them carry a score.
Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard
| School | Median graduate earnings |
|---|---|
| St Philip's College | $52,292 |
| San Antonio College | $47,341 |
| Percentile | Annual wage |
|---|---|
| 10th | $28,250 |
| 25th | $34,150 |
| 50th (median) | $40,410 |
| 75th | $48,000 |
| 90th | $55,950 |
| Year | Employment |
|---|---|
| 2024 | 43,900 |
| 2034 projected | 41,800 |
| Percent change | -4.9% |
Finish high school or earn a GED. Strong typing, English, and biology coursework are useful preparation.
Complete a medical transcription program. Certificate programs typically take about a year and cover terminology, anatomy, pharmacology, and transcription practice.
Practice with real dictation styles. Speed and accuracy across varied accents, specialties, and audio quality is the core skill employers screen for.
Consider AHDI certification. The RHDS credential serves new graduates; the CHDS serves experienced specialists. Both are voluntary.
Position for the editing shift. Employment is projected to decline as speech recognition expands; accuracy-focused editing and QA skills position you for the roles that remain.
No. No state licenses medical transcriptionists. The Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity (AHDI) offers the voluntary RHDS and CHDS credentials, which may help in a competitive market. Note that BLS projects employment in this occupation to decline through 2034 as speech recognition software automates first drafts; the remaining work shifts toward editing and quality assurance.
The standard path is a postsecondary certificate of about a year. Some documentation specialists later add health information or medical coding credentials to broaden their options.
Medical transcription certificate programs typically take about 1 year and cover medical terminology, anatomy, pharmacology, and supervised transcription practice.
According to BLS OEWS (May 2025), medical transcriptionists in Texas earned a median annual wage of about $42,900. Pay varies with experience, employer, and specialization. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $22,540 to $49,410 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
The schools listed above are within driving distance of San Angelo. Compare them by tuition, program length, BOC Score, and the credential each one awards.
No. No state licenses medical transcriptionists. The Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity (AHDI) offers the voluntary RHDS and CHDS credentials, which may help in a competitive market. Note that BLS projects employment in this occupation to decline through 2034 as speech recognition software automates first drafts; the remaining work shifts toward editing and quality assurance.
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |