Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)

Compare accredited Carpenter schools across Utah below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Carpenter Schools in Utah

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 343 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Technical College of the Rockies

Delta, CO 246.1 miles away BOC Score 84.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 95.7%
  • Programs offered: 20
  • Annual completions: 490
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,355 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Bridgerland Technical College

Logan, UT 68.8 miles away BOC Score 73.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 52
  • Annual completions: 2498
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,070 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Ogden-Weber Technical College

Ogden, UT 34.9 miles away BOC Score 63.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 54.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 52
  • Annual completions: 2022
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,224 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Uintah Basin Technical College

Roosevelt, UT 105.6 miles away BOC Score 59.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 88.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 1559
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $64,652 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Mountainland Technical College

Lehi, UT 23.6 miles away BOC Score 59.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 80.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 3875
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,284 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

San Juan College

Farmington, NM 340.8 miles away BOC Score 53.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 1918
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,786 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Montana State University

Bozeman, MT 341.2 miles away BOC Score 51.3
Tuition $8,460 - $33,287
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 82.1%
  • Graduation rate: 57.2%
  • Programs offered: 36
  • Annual completions: 582
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $65,157 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Central Wyoming College

Riverton, WY 237.3 miles away BOC Score 48.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 187
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,068 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Davis Technical College

Kaysville, UT 18.6 miles away BOC Score 47.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 3121
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,706 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Treasure Valley Community College

Ontario, OR 343.3 miles away BOC Score 45.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 21
  • Annual completions: 170
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,354 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Carpenter Schools in Utah

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Utah.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
184.8Contact school for pricing$47,35596%246 mi
273.8Contact school for pricing$42,070Not reportedYes*69 mi
363.7Contact school for pricing$47,22454%Yes*35 mi
459.7Contact school for pricing$64,65289%106 mi
559.3Contact school for pricing$39,28481%24 mi
653.0Contact school for pricing$46,786Not reportedYes*341 mi
748.5Contact school for pricing$43,068Not reportedYes*237 mi
847.9Contact school for pricing$47,706Not reported19 mi
945.7Contact school for pricing$45,354Not reportedYes*343 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Utah are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Utah is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Carpenter Schools in Utah
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026) (College Scorecard)Uintah Basin Technical College $64652; Davis Technical College $47706; Technical College of the Rockies $47355; Ogden-Weber Technical College $47224; San Juan College $46786; Treasure Valley Community College $45354.Uintah Basin Technical College$64,652Davis Technical College$47,706Technical College of the Roc...$47,355Ogden-Weber Technical College$47,224San Juan College$46,786Treasure Valley Community Co...$45,354
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Uintah Basin Technical College$64,652
Davis Technical College$47,706
Technical College of the Rockies$47,355
Ogden-Weber Technical College$47,224
San Juan College$46,786
Treasure Valley Community College$45,354

Carpenter Pay and Job Outlook

Carpenters annual wage by percentile: $40,410 at the 10th percentile, $60,580 median, $99,910 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What carpenters earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for carpenters: 959,000 jobs in 2024 to 1,002,100 in 2034, +4.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for carpenters
Top-paying states for carpenters - Hawaii leads at $85,280. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for carpenters

Utah Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$52,360BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment15,220 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient2.03BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.6%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$24.22/hr ($19.51 base + $4.71 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Carpenter Training in Utah

The cities below have the highest concentration of carpenter training programs and population centers within Utah. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Carpenter in Utah

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in Utah

In Utah, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Department of Workforce Services - Office of Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Carpenter Careers in Utah

Carpenters construct, install, and repair building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials.

In Utah, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $52,360, about 15,220 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 2.03 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Carpenter Wages and Workforce in Utah

In Utah, Carpenter programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $52,360 per year, and most earn between $36,560 and $75,170 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Utah employs roughly 15,220 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 2.03 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Utah include Bridgerland Technical College, Ogden-Weber Technical College, and Uintah Basin Technical College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Carpenter Training and Licensing in Utah

Licensing for Carpenter varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Utah licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does carpenter training in Utah involve?

Carpenter training in Utah is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do carpenters earn in Utah?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), carpenters in Utah earned a median annual wage of approximately $52,360. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $36,560 to $75,170 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Utah license or certification process for carpenters?

Licensing for carpenter work is handled at the state level in Utah. Consult Utah's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)