Best Electrician Schools in Utah

Compare accredited Electrician schools across Utah below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Electrician Schools in Utah

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 150 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Bridgerland Technical College

Logan, UT 68.8 miles away BOC Score 73.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 52
  • Annual completions: 2498
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,070 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Weber State University

Ogden, UT 29.7 miles away BOC Score 72.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 44.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 62
  • Annual completions: 2541
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $69,883 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Ogden-Weber Technical College

Ogden, UT 34.9 miles away BOC Score 63.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 54.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 52
  • Annual completions: 2022
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,224 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Uintah Basin Technical College

Roosevelt, UT 105.6 miles away BOC Score 59.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 88.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 1559
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $64,652 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Mountainland Technical College

Lehi, UT 23.6 miles away BOC Score 59.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 80.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 54
  • Annual completions: 3875
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,284 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Utah State University

Logan, UT 67.8 miles away BOC Score 57.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 58.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 51
  • Annual completions: 1435
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $63,484 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Idaho State University

Pocatello, ID 148.4 miles away BOC Score 52.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 38.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 78
  • Annual completions: 1123
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $58,142 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Western Wyoming Community College

Rock Springs, WY 149.5 miles away BOC Score 52.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 42
  • Annual completions: 259
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,871 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Salt Lake Community College

Salt Lake City, UT 6.7 miles away BOC Score 51.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 29.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 85
  • Annual completions: 1799
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,279 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Davis Technical College

Kaysville, UT 18.6 miles away BOC Score 47.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 3121
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,706 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Electrician Schools in Utah

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Utah.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
173.8Contact school for pricing$42,070Not reportedYes*69 mi
272.8Contact school for pricing$69,88345%Yes*30 mi
363.7Contact school for pricing$47,22454%Yes*35 mi
459.7Contact school for pricing$64,65289%106 mi
559.3Contact school for pricing$39,28481%24 mi
652.1Contact school for pricing$52,871Not reportedYes*150 mi
751.6Contact school for pricing$55,27929%Yes*7 mi
847.9Contact school for pricing$47,706Not reported19 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Utah are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Utah is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Electrician Schools in Utah
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Electrician Schools in Utah (College Scorecard)Weber State University $69883; Uintah Basin Technical College $64652; Salt Lake Community College $55279; Western Wyoming Community College $52871; Davis Technical College $47706; Ogden-Weber Technical College $47224.Weber State University$69,883Uintah Basin Technical College$64,652Salt Lake Community College$55,279Western Wyoming Community Co...$52,871Davis Technical College$47,706Ogden-Weber Technical College$47,224
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Electrician Schools in Utah
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Weber State University$69,883
Uintah Basin Technical College$64,652
Salt Lake Community College$55,279
Western Wyoming Community College$52,871
Davis Technical College$47,706
Ogden-Weber Technical College$47,224

Electrician Pay and Job Outlook

Electricians annual wage by percentile: $42,640 at the 10th percentile, $63,190 median, $108,510 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What electricians earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for electricians: 818,700 jobs in 2024 to 896,100 in 2034, +9.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for electricians
Top-paying states for electricians - Oregon leads at $101,310. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for electricians

Utah Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$62,000BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment11,450 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.36BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.6%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$29.42/hr ($23.36 base + $6.06 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Electrician Training in Utah

The cities below have the highest concentration of electrician training programs and population centers within Utah. Click through for school listings near each:

If you want to work as an electrician in Utah, the first step is choosing the right training program. Before you can get licensed, the state requires documented education and hands-on experience. Your school choice will affect how quickly and effectively you can enter the trade.

In Utah, electrician programs range from short pre-apprenticeship courses to full two-year technical diplomas. Some schools help place you directly into an apprenticeship, while others focus on classroom training. Picking one that matches your career goals is important.

Utah Electrician Licensing Requirements

The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) oversees electrician licensing. You cannot legally perform electrical work in Utah without the proper license.

To work as licensed, you must follow these basic steps:

  1. Choose a path - Residential, Journeyman, or Master license.
  2. Complete required education - From an approved trade school or apprenticeship.
  3. Accumulate on-the-job experience - Hours vary by license type.
  4. Pass the state licensing exam - Covers code, safety, and trade knowledge.
  5. Maintain and renew your license - Continuing education is required.

According to Utah DOPL: “All electrician applicants must enroll in an approved program or apprenticeship and log their experience under the supervision of a licensed electrician.”

Exact requirements can be found on the Utah DOPL website.

How to Become an Electrician in Utah

Follow these steps to meet state requirements and start working in the trade:

  1. Decide your license type - Residential, Journeyman, or Master.
  2. Select an approved school or apprenticeship - Ensure Utah DOPL recognition.
  3. Enroll and complete coursework - Pay attention to NEC requirements.
  4. Work under a licensed electrician - Log the required hours.
  5. Apply for the licensing exam - Submit proof of training and hours.
  6. Maintain your license - Complete continuing education before renewal.

Choosing the Right Program

When comparing Utah electrician schools, focus on:

  • State approval - Vital for meeting licensing requirements.
  • Schedule flexibility - Day or evening options depending on your work.
  • career support - Especially important if you need help finding an apprenticeship.
  • Industry connections - Schools tied to unions or contractor groups often have better outcomes data.
  • Location - Factor in travel time and costs.

If you already have an employer sponsor, check if they prefer a certain program.

Apprenticeship vs. Classroom-Only Options

Most Utah electricians start through a formal apprenticeship. These give you both pay and experience while you attend classroom training. Some classroom-only programs exist, but you will still need to secure supervised work hours before you can apply for the exam.

For most people, an apprenticeship route through a technical college or the JATC is the fastest way to meet requirements.

Licensing Renewal and Continuing Education

Utah electricians must renew their license and complete continuing education. This usually includes NEC code updates and safety courses. Some trade schools in Utah offer short CEU (continuing education unit) classes, making it easy to maintain your credentials.

Reminder: Failing to renew your license on time can lead to fines and loss of work eligibility.

Final Thoughts

If you’re serious about training as an electrician in Utah, start by picking a state-approved program that fits your schedule and career goals. The sooner you enroll in classroom and hands-on training, the sooner you can meet licensing requirements and start working legally.

Your next step is to contact one or two of the schools listed above, confirm their enrollment dates, and understand their apprenticeship partnerships. Getting into the right program is the key to a fast and smooth start in the electrical trade.


Electrician Wages and Workforce in Utah

In Utah, Electrician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $62,000 per year, and most earn between $39,940 and $89,110 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Utah employs roughly 11,450 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.36 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Utah include Bridgerland Technical College, Weber State University, and Ogden-Weber Technical College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Electrician Training and Licensing in Utah

Licensing for Electrician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Utah licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does electrician training in Utah involve?

Electrician training in Utah is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do electricians earn in Utah?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), electricians in Utah earned a median annual wage of approximately $62,000. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $39,940 to $89,110 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Utah license or certification process for electricians?

Licensing for electricians in Utah is administered by Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)