Best Medical Transcription Programs in Virginia (2026)

Virginia medical transcriptionists earn a median of $35,130 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited medical transcription programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below. Sponsored - request program info

Compare Medical Transcription Programs in Virginia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Virginia.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
163.8Contact school for pricing$32,88364%Yes*156 mi
257.3Contact school for pricing$48,981Not reportedYes*435 mi
353.6Contact school for pricing$44,49038%Yes*420 mi
451.1$3,186 - $16,866Not reported59%Yes*195 mi
551.0Contact school for pricing$43,83533%Yes*441 mi
646.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*432 mi
742.3$5,156 - $12,132$39,10933%Yes*138 mi
838.3Contact school for pricing$47,35017%Yes*349 mi
935.2$2,320 - $20,529$44,92431%Yes*111 mi
1033.4Contact school for pricing$45,49518%220 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Virginia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Virginia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Medical Transcription Programs in Virginia
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Medical Transcription Programs in Virginia (2026) (College Scorecard)Schoolcraft Community College District $48981; Passaic County Community College $47350; Onondaga Community College $46821; Mountwest Community and Technical College $45495; Guilford Technical Community College $44924; Georgia Northwestern Technical College $44490.Schoolcraft Community Colleg...$48,981Passaic County Community Col...$47,350Onondaga Community College$46,821Mountwest Community and Tech...$45,495Guilford Technical Community...$44,924Georgia Northwestern Technic...$44,490
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Medical Transcription Programs in Virginia (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Schoolcraft Community College District$48,981
Passaic County Community College$47,350
Onondaga Community College$46,821
Mountwest Community and Technical College$45,495
Guilford Technical Community College$44,924
Georgia Northwestern Technical College$44,490
## Medical Transcriptionist Pay and Job Outlook in Virginia Median pay and the projected job outlook for medical transcriptionists are shown below, sourced from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS May 2025; Employment Projections 2024-2034).
Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Medical Transcriptionists
Medical Transcriptionists annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $28250, P25 $34150, P50 $40410, P75 $48000, P90 $55950.10th$28,25025th$34,15050th (median)$40,41075th$48,00090th$55,950
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Medical Transcriptionists annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$28,250
25th$34,150
50th (median)$40,410
75th$48,000
90th$55,950
Projected employment growth, United States, Medical Transcriptionists, 2024-2034
Medical Transcriptionists employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 43900; 2034 projected employment 41800; percent change -4.9%.202443,900 jobs2034 (proj.)41,800 jobsChange: -4.9%
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Medical Transcriptionists employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
202443,900
2034 projected41,800
Percent change-4.9%
### Virginia Quick Facts
MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$35,130BLS OEWS, May 2025
Pay range (10th to 90th percentile)$27,110 to $43,400BLS OEWS, May 2025
National job outlook (2024-2034)-4.9% growth, ~7,400 openings/yrBLS Employment Projections

How to Become a Medical Transcriptionist in Virginia

These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.

  1. Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
  2. Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a medical transcription program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
  3. Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
  4. Pass any required Virginia exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
  5. Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.

Apprenticeships and Training Pathways

Many medical transcriptionists in Virginia train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.

What You Study

Medical Transcription Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.

Choosing a Medical Transcriptionist School in Virginia

Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info

## Frequently Asked Questions

How long does medical transcriptionist training take in Virginia?

Most medical transcription programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Virginia?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), medical transcriptionists in Virginia earned a median annual wage of about $35,130. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $27,110 to $43,400 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Virginia?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists?

The BLS projects employment of medical transcriptionists to change about -4.9% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 7,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do medical transcription programs cost in Virginia?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.

In Virginia

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does medical transcriptionist training take in Virginia?

Most medical transcription programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.

How much do medical transcriptionists earn in Virginia?

According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), medical transcriptionists in Virginia earned a median annual wage of about $35,130. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $27,110 to $43,400 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Do I need a license or certification in Virginia?

Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.

What is the job outlook for medical transcriptionists?

The BLS projects employment of medical transcriptionists to change about -4.9% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 7,400 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.

How much do medical transcription programs cost in Virginia?

Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)