Best Welding Schools in Virginia (2026)

Compare accredited Welder schools across Virginia below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Welder Schools in Virginia

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 86 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Advanced Technology Institute

Virginia Beach, VA 11.3 miles away BOC Score 63.1
Tuition $14,568 - $23,713
Contact
Key stats
  • Admission rate: 53.5%
  • Graduation rate: 76.0%
  • Programs offered: 14
  • Annual completions: 1098
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,728 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

College of the Albemarle

Elizabeth City, NC 38.9 miles away BOC Score 58.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 37.1% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 33
  • Annual completions: 613
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,693 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Brightpoint Community College

Chester, VA 85.8 miles away BOC Score 54.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 38.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 35
  • Annual completions: 706
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,344 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Rappahannock Community College

Glenns, VA 60.4 miles away BOC Score 50.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 30
  • Annual completions: 474
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,349 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Paul D Camp Community College

Franklin, VA 54.6 miles away BOC Score 46.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 29.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 25
  • Annual completions: 135
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,904 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Eastern Shore Community College

Melfa, VA 55.8 miles away BOC Score 40.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 38.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 23
  • Annual completions: 263
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,773 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Virginia Peninsula Community College

Hampton, VA 28.4 miles away BOC Score 39.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 34.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 38
  • Annual completions: 410
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,856 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Tidewater Tech-Trades

Norfolk, VA 14.2 miles away BOC Score 38.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 72.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 11
  • Annual completions: 1296
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,699 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Tidewater Community College

Norfolk, VA 17.3 miles away BOC Score 36.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 30.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 58
  • Annual completions: 2499
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,786 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Welder Schools in Virginia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Virginia.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
163.1$14,568 - $23,713$47,72876%11 mi
258.8Contact school for pricing$39,69337%Yes*39 mi
354.3Contact school for pricing$50,34439%Yes*86 mi
450.3Contact school for pricing$47,349Not reportedYes*60 mi
546.5Contact school for pricing$48,90430%Yes*55 mi
642.3Contact school for pricingNot reported30%Yes*68 mi
740.2Contact school for pricing$42,77338%56 mi
839.2Contact school for pricing$47,85634%Yes*28 mi
938.1Contact school for pricing$42,69973%14 mi
1036.7Contact school for pricing$48,78631%Yes*17 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Virginia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Virginia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Welder Schools in Virginia
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Welding Schools in Virginia (2026) (College Scorecard)Brightpoint Community College $50344; Paul D Camp Community College $48904; Tidewater Community College $48786; Virginia Peninsula Community College $47856; Advanced Technology Institute $47728; Rappahannock Community College $47349.Brightpoint Community College$50,344Paul D Camp Community College$48,904Tidewater Community College$48,786Virginia Peninsula Community...$47,856Advanced Technology Institute$47,728Rappahannock Community College$47,349
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Welding Schools in Virginia (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Brightpoint Community College$50,344
Paul D Camp Community College$48,904
Tidewater Community College$48,786
Virginia Peninsula Community College$47,856
Advanced Technology Institute$47,728
Rappahannock Community College$47,349

Welder Pay and Job Outlook

Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers annual wage by percentile: $39,240 at the 10th percentile, $53,750 median, $77,530 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers: 457,300 jobs in 2024 to 467,200 in 2034, +2.2% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers
Top-paying states for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers - Alaska leads at $80,840. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers

Virginia Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$59,180BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment10,100 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.92BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.2%BLS LAUS (2024)

Top Cities for Welder Training in Virginia

The cities below have the highest concentration of welder training programs and population centers within Virginia. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become a Welder in Virginia

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam.
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

Apprenticeship Programs in Virginia

In Virginia, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry - Registered Apprenticeship (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About Welding Careers in Virginia

Welders join metal parts using heat, pressure, and filler material in construction, manufacturing, shipbuilding, and pipeline work.

In Virginia, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $59,180, about 10,100 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.92 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

Welder Wages and Workforce in Virginia

In Virginia, Welder programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $59,180 per year, and most earn between $42,520 and $79,630 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Virginia employs roughly 10,100 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.92 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Virginia include Advanced Technology Institute, Northern Virginia Community College, and Germanna Community College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Welder Training and Licensing in Virginia

Licensing for Welder varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Virginia licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does welder training in Virginia involve?

Welder training in Virginia is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do welders earn in Virginia?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), welders in Virginia earned a median annual wage of approximately $59,180. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $42,520 to $79,630 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Virginia license or certification process for welders?

Licensing for welder work is handled at the state level in Virginia. Consult Virginia's licensing board for current training, examination, and renewal requirements before enrolling in a program.


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)