Best Woodworking Programs in Virginia (2026)
Virginia cabinetmakers and bench carpenters earn a median of $45,910 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025), and this guide ranks accredited woodworking programs statewide. Compare programs by credential, length, and graduate earnings, then see the licensing steps and apprenticeship pathways below.
Key Facts
- Virginia median wage: $45,910/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
- Pay range (10th-90th pct): $33,280 - $63,800 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
- Projected growth (2024-2034): -1.6%, ~8,100 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
- Virginia employment: 2,170 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.06 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025) Sponsored - request program info
Compare Woodworking Programs in Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology | 67.0 | Contact school for pricing | $57,788 | Not reported | — | 231 mi |
| 2 | SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | 65.4 | $8,772 - $26,944 | $56,927 | 47% | Yes* | 399 mi |
| 3 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 127 mi |
| 4 | Bucks County Community College | 60.0 | $5,683 - $13,963 | $52,637 | 30% | Yes* | 287 mi |
| 5 | Ocean County Vocational-Technical School | 59.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,510 | 68% | — | 307 mi |
| 6 | Greater Altoona Career & Technology Center | 55.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,527 | 72% | — | 224 mi |
| 7 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,009 | 55% | Yes* | 420 mi |
| 8 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 186 mi |
| 9 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 388 mi |
| 10 | Berks Career & Technology Center | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 70% | — | 264 mi |
Schools closest to the main population center in Virginia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Virginia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
| School | Median graduate earnings |
|---|---|
| Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology | $57,788 |
| SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | $56,927 |
| Bucks County Community College | $52,637 |
| Central Piedmont Community College | $48,441 |
| Southern Crescent Technical College | $47,009 |
| Hocking College | $44,764 |
| Percentile | Annual wage |
|---|---|
| 10th | $35,650 |
| 25th | $38,830 |
| 50th (median) | $46,680 |
| 75th | $55,760 |
| 90th | $63,720 |
| Year | Employment |
|---|---|
| 2024 | 86,000 |
| 2034 projected | 84,700 |
| Percent change | -1.6% |
| Metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| State median annual wage | $45,910 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| Pay range (10th to 90th percentile) | $33,280 to $63,800 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| State employment | 2,170 workers | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| State location quotient | 1.06 | BLS OEWS, May 2025 |
| National job outlook (2024-2034) | -1.6% growth, ~8,100 openings/yr | BLS Employment Projections |
How to Become a Woodworker in Virginia
These steps mirror the structured HowTo data on this page. Licensing rules vary, so confirm current requirements with your state board before enrolling.
- Meet the basic requirements. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED and applicants who are at least 18 years old. Check each school’s specific admission requirements.
- Complete an accredited training program. Enroll in a woodworking program or certificate program that covers safety, core skills, hands-on lab work, and any exam preparation. Accreditation should be your first filter.
- Gain supervised on-the-job experience. Many trades require documented work hours, often through a registered apprenticeship that pays you while you train alongside experienced workers.
- Pass any required Virginia exam or earn certification. Where the role is regulated, pass the state or industry exam to earn the credential. Confirm current exam topics, fees, and hour totals with the licensing board before you apply.
- Apply for jobs and keep your credential current. Build a portfolio of completed work, apply with local employers, and renew your license or certification on the schedule your state requires.
Apprenticeships and Training Pathways
Many woodworkers in Virginia train through a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid on-the-job hours with related classroom instruction, typically over several years. Others start with a short certificate or an associate degree and then complete supervised hours on the job. Reported hour totals vary by program and credential, so confirm the exact requirements with the program and your state board.
What You Study
Woodworking Programs generally combine classroom theory with hands-on lab work. Expect coursework in workplace safety, applicable codes and standards, core technical skills for the trade, the use of industry tools and equipment, and preparation for any required certification or licensing exam. Programs that lead to a recognized credential and offer real lab time tend to prepare you best for entry-level work.
Choosing a Woodworker School in Virginia
Start with accreditation: confirm the school holds recognized institutional or programmatic accreditation. Then compare the credential awarded, total program length and schedule, hands-on lab access, and whether the program prepares you for the credential your state requires. Visit if you can, and ask each school about completion outcomes before you enroll. Sponsored - request program info
## Frequently Asked QuestionsHow long does woodworker training take in Virginia?
Most woodworking programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.
How much do woodworkers earn in Virginia?
According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters in Virginia earned a median annual wage of about $45,910. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $33,280 to $63,800 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
Do I need a license or certification in Virginia?
Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.
What is the job outlook for woodworkers?
The BLS projects employment of cabinetmakers and bench carpenters to change about -1.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 8,100 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.
How much do woodworking programs cost in Virginia?
Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.
Related guides
In Virginia
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Virginia
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does woodworker training take in Virginia?
Most woodworking programs offer certificate or diploma programs that take about 6 to 18 months of full-time study, while associate degrees generally run about two years. Many students also enter through a registered apprenticeship that combines paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction. Confirm program length and schedule with each school.
How much do woodworkers earn in Virginia?
According to the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters in Virginia earned a median annual wage of about $45,910. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $33,280 to $63,800 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
Do I need a license or certification in Virginia?
Requirements vary by role and employer. Many entry-level positions value industry certifications and on-the-job training, while regulated trades require a state license earned by completing approved training, logging supervised hours, and passing an exam. Always confirm current rules with your state licensing board before enrolling.
What is the job outlook for woodworkers?
The BLS projects employment of cabinetmakers and bench carpenters to change about -1.6% nationally from 2024 to 2034, with roughly 8,100 openings expected each year on average (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034). Local demand can differ from the national figure.
How much do woodworking programs cost in Virginia?
Tuition varies by school, credential level, and program length. Public community colleges often have lower in-state tuition than private institutes. Always confirm current pricing directly with each school.
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |